Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

  1. #1

    Default Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    I have Firefox installed manually (instead of using the repo one) and just updated to version 21. Now it can't find Flash. I have the plugin installed in:

    Code:
    /usr/lib64/browser-plugins/libflashplayer.so
    and created a simlink to that in the "firefox/plugins" folder. This has been working in all previous versions of firefox but is not working now. Did they change how they find installed plugins?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    I found the answer but I'm not sure why this wasn't needed before. You need to create a symlink that points to the libflashplayer.so in this new folder (which needs to be created):

    Code:
    /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
    This was never required in previous versions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,499

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    FWIW

    no problems found here, updated :-

    < MozillaFirefox-20.0-2.1.x86_64 > MozillaFirefox-21.0-2.1.x86_64
    < MozillaFirefox-branding-openSUSE-6.1-3.1.x86_64 > MozillaFirefox-branding-openSUSE-21-2.1.x86_64

    last flash update :-

    < flash-player-11.2.202.275-2.12.1.x86_64 > flash-player-11.2.202.280-2.16.1.x86_64

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    On 05/14/2013 08:46 PM, 6tr6tr wrote:
    > Did they change how they find installed plugins?


    why ask us if 'they' changed something?

    wouldn't asking 'them' directly be a lot faster, and much more
    authoritative?

    --
    dd

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    Quote Originally Posted by 6tr6tr View Post
    I have Firefox installed manually (instead of using the repo one) and just updated to version 21. Now it can't find Flash. I have the plugin installed in:

    Code:
    /usr/lib64/browser-plugins/libflashplayer.so
    and created a simlink to that in the "firefox/plugins" folder. This has been working in all previous versions of firefox but is not working now. Did they change how they find installed plugins?
    No problems here with my manually installed 64-bit Firefox's, or the distribution version. The 64-bit Flash plugin appears in all four versions.

    I have a plugins folder in my .mozilla folder with a symbolic link to the file in the location you specify in the quoted post.

    In case anyone is wondering what four versions.

    Distro release, manually installed release, beta, and nightly.
    Desktop: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3 Ghz | 4 GB RAM | GeForce GT 630

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rural Australia
    Posts
    289

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    Might problem be with type: *.f4v or/and Adobe Flash Access DRM (Digital Rights Management) modules ?



    Was also trying sort out problem with a YouTube video (purchased copy of "True Grit") then was advised



    In order to watch YouTube movies and TV shows on computers running Linux OS you must install a HAL module. Please follow the instructions provided in the link below to install the necessary module:

    Problems playing protected video content | Ubuntu Linux, Flash Player 11


    If you have any questions or concerns, please write back and I'll be happy to help out.

    Puzzled, self and other users, long term viewers of YouTube videos rarely with problems.



    The HAL module is the Hardware Abstraction Layer

    Note:
    If the Hardware Abstraction Layer module is missing, Flash Player still functions. However, it cannot play protected content that requires the Adobe Flash Access DRM (Digital Rights Management) module.

    Was first video purchased in ages, and it either with problem, or depends on an app which does NOT work !


    Work through YouTube advice...



    openSuse and other Linux versions


    Some Linux distributions have their own way of managing packages, notably openSUSE. openSUSE uses RPM as its native package format. However, it has its own high-level tool to manage system software installation.
    .rpm installs on openSuse (32 bit and 64 bit) are temperamental. They sometimes throw the generic error " Message did not receive a reply (timeout by message bus)".


    In these cases, download the .tar.gz archive instead and place Flash Player (libflashplayer.so) in this location:


    /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/libflashplayer.so

    OK can see is there.

    Code:
     linux-bnn6:~ # zypper ps
    No processes using deleted files found.
    linux-bnn6:~ # l /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/libflashplayer.so
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 19233136 Jul  6 13:58 /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/libflashplayer.so
    linux-bnn6:~ # l /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/
    total 18808
    drwxr-xr-x  2 root root     4096 Jul  6 13:58 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 97 root root    20480 Jul  6 14:14 ../
    -rw-r--r--  1 root root 19233136 Jul  6 13:58 libflashplayer.so
    linux-bnn6:~ #


    Try the recommended test :



    Test protected video content playback using the demo player


    First, launch the Adobe demo video player container: http://drmtest2.adobe.com:8080/SVP/S...Player_FP.html


    Note the Adobe Flash Player version in the lower left of the demo video shell. Make sure that indicate 11.2 or higher

    Play sample protected content.


    Enter the following URL in the field "Input the video URL: (case-sensitive)
    http://drmtest2.adobe.com:8080/Content/anonymous.f4v

    Press the [Play] button at the bottom of the video container.


    The anonymous.f4v protected content should play. (This video is called the Getty "train" video.)

    The demo video loader opens

    However it stalls saying "Downloading the Flash Access library"

    Left it running to see how long it may take, (watched other video) with no change closed the TAB page.


    Also subscribed and keep up to date: fluendo-codecs-complete-bundle


    Tried view some other .f4v with similar problems.


    Is the problem be with type: *.f4v or/and Adobe Flash Access DRM (Digital Rights Management) module ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    405

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    Quote Originally Posted by paulparker View Post
    Might problem be with type: *.f4v or/and Adobe Flash Access DRM (Digital Rights Management) modules ?
    Well the problem was Flash in Firefox, not a disc won't play.

    Appears to me that somehow the OP installed a 32-bit version of Firefox, since the path he supplied in his solution points to the 32-bit flash plugin, where before it pointed to the 64-bit plugin.
    Desktop: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3 Ghz | 4 GB RAM | GeForce GT 630

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    On 07/06/2013 05:56 PM, rafter22 wrote:
    > Well the problem was Flash in Firefox, not a disc won't play.


    how do you know that? did you two PM the details?

    --
    dd


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Updated Firefox to 21, now says Flash not installed

    On 2013-07-06 18:11, dd wrote:
    > On 07/06/2013 05:56 PM, rafter22 wrote:
    >> Well the problem was Flash in Firefox, not a disc won't play.

    >
    > how do you know that? did you two PM the details?


    The path he posted is the 32 bit path.

    First post said:

    Code:
    /usr/lib64/browser-plugins/libflashplayer.so
    second post said:

    Code:
    /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
    The difference is obviously that the second one IS the 32 bit path. The
    reasonable explanation is that 6tr6tr installed the 32 bit mozilla by
    mistake :-)

    I did not notice till rafter22 said it :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.3 x86_64 "Dartmouth" at Telcontar)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •