Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37

Thread: Multiple DE's

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    where I am is where I am
    Posts
    1,164

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    Amarildojr,

    Ever since 11.2 I've had a KDE & XCFE & have had absolutely no problems.


    Vaz,

    That's interesting I'll have to try that. I'm curious when we go from one release to the next do you carry say kdehome & xcfehome over or do you backup each & do a clean install? Then add them in that new install?
    I'm just a curious cat
    My 64 bit: RADEON RX 570 |CPU AMD - Ryzen 5 1600
    MOTHERBOARD B450M D53H GGABYTE
    Opensuse Tumbleweed Plasma 5

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    On 05/03/2013 09:36 PM, amarildojr wrote:
    > Could someone explain which conflicts may occur


    it has been a few years since i had several DE's all available to my
    (one) user, so maybe things are different now....but, as i recall
    changing sound settings in one DE might or might not affect the
    settings in another DE...whether you wanted them to be changed in all
    DEs or only in one--it was impossible to choose.

    i guess there were other little unexpected crossovers causing
    irritations--but truthfully i don't recall any of the others (i've
    not had more than one DE in any single user since 2010, at least.

    --
    dd

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    Quote Originally Posted by Sagemta View Post
    Amarildojr,

    Ever since 11.2 I've had a KDE & XCFE & have had absolutely no problems.


    Vaz,

    That's interesting I'll have to try that. I'm curious when we go from one release to the next do you carry say kdehome & xcfehome over or do you backup each & do a clean install? Then add them in that new install?
    Some times i carry the users and sometimes i don't. I am GNOME user and carry the GNOME "home". The other homes are created when i play around with E17,razor,icewm, etc ...
    When you carry "home", all the "homes" under /home/... get carried
    GNOME Version 3.20.2
    openSUSE Leap 42.3 64-bit

    www.vazhavandan.blogspot.com

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,864
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    I have KDE, GNOME, XFCE, LXDE and RazorQt installed. All operational and functional.
    openSUSE is designed to be able to do this, so if it doesn't work like expected, get the cause and report a bug.

    I can't imagine a situation where multiple homedirs for one and the same user would come in handy. IMHO it would mean that data belonging to one actual user would be spread through multiple homedirs. OK for testing, not for production.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #15

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    I have xfce and kde installed and working.
    I use xfce on an every day basis because it is quicker in rendering 3d illusrations
    but I always keep kde because I am using kde applications also in xfce.
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    327

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    I record my guitar tracks on Audacity and I use Gmixer so I'm able to hear myself. After one day of use, XFCE crashed whenever I tried to open the volume control. I'll try on a Vmachine beforehand.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,642
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    Quote Originally Posted by amarildojr View Post
    Are there any issues when installing multiple DE's? I'd like to install KDE and XFCE. I remember I did that a while ago, XFCE crashed to death after clicking on volume control, but that was when I used to install everything available on the DVD
    I have been installing KDE, XFCE, Gnome and LXDE since opensuse 11.4. I mostly use KDE, but occasionally login to the others just to see what they are up to.

    I have not run into serious problem.

    I think when I login to XFCE, I sometime see two volume control icons.

    When I check the application menu in KDE, it sometimes turns out to be the XFCE menu. To fix that, I have to logout, then remove "/var/tmp/kdecache=$USER" (from a failsafe login). That fixes it for KDE.

    No serious problems, though.

    My current preference is to stick to KDE as my normal user account, and login (to Gnome, for example) as a different user.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    327

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    I think when I login to XFCE, I sometime see two volume control icons.
    That exactly my problem. I guarantee if you click some of them (Click both to make sure) your display manager will crash (or at least I think), only "service xdm restart" to solve it.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    On 05/05/2013 03:16 AM, nrickert wrote:
    > My current preference is to stick to KDE as my normal user account, and
    > login (to Gnome, for example) as a different user.


    same...except my alternative to KDE is LXDE, which i seldom
    use...but, have not once used both DEs as the same user...so, no
    cross-talk..

    --
    dd

  10. #20

    Default Re: Multiple DE's

    I run KDE & Gnome/Cinnamon concurrently, logged in as the same user, with no problems.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •