12.3: What is root login and password?

How to I find the root login and password. I am new to linux and openSUSE 12.3.

tried “su” login from terminal command prompt and my login from my installation, which was rejected. “root” for login was recognized.

Thanks,

On 2013-04-21 00:26, ry2dssrt wrote:
>
> How to I find the root login and password. I am new to linux and
> openSUSE 12.3.

Well, install it again and this time write down the password :slight_smile:

Cheers / Saludos,

Carlos E. R.
(from 12.1 x86_64 “Asparagus” at Telcontar)

Hi ry2dssrt,

root is the user name of the “Administrator”. The OS installer will ask you to enter a root-password.
In case you have forgotten that password, you may be in trouble. I don’t know of any way to retrieve it.
su is a command used in a terminal to become root - which means you have to be logged in as some user.

You should have been asked to set up a user, too. As far as I understood you have?
Your user name + password should enable you to log in, either in text or graphic mode.

If you are not sure which user you are, you may enter

whoami

in a console or terminal. It is not recommended to work as root unless root permissions are required.

cu

kasi

robin_listas On 2013-04-21 00:26, ry2dssrt wrote:
>
> How to I find the root login and password. I am new to linux and
> openSUSE 12.3.

Well, install it again and this time write down the password :slight_smile:

Well, that was the trouble I meant.

…typing too slowly, …

On 4/20/2013 6:06 PM, kasi042 wrote:
>
> Hi ry2dssrt,
>
> -root- is the user name of the “Administrator”. The OS installer will
> ask you to enter a root-password.
<snip>

In a default install, root’s password is the same as that of the user you create in the installation. There is a box to uncheck
if you desire a separate password for root.

P.V.
“We’re all in this together, I’m pulling for you” Red Green

Do you run 12.3 from a live CD / live DVD ?

hmmm, new to linux …