Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Maybe a virtual question

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: Maybe a virtual question

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    On 04/15/2013 01:56 PM, mike7757 wrote:

    When I select NEW, and choose what the os type, the vm name
    > automatically fills itself in. When I click on the add button I then get
    > that message. I dont see any more options.


    I run the rpm directly from Oracle, not the one from openSUSE, but it should not
    affect the operation.

    When I select a type, the name is left blank. You might try clearing the name
    and writing your own name in that box. If that still fails, go to
    https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads and select the openSUSE entry
    for your architecture. Although it only mentions 11.4/12.1/12.2, it also applies
    to 12.3.

    If that still fails, do a screen capture before you press add, and post that image.
    In order to post an image, i'm guessing i would have to upload it to something like photobucket. But that's just me a guessing.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Maybe a virtual question

    On 04/15/2013 05:06 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >
    > lwfinger;2548031 Wrote:
    >> On 04/15/2013 01:56 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>
    >> When I select NEW, and choose what the os type, the vm name
    >>> automatically fills itself in. When I click on the add button I then

    >> get
    >>> that message. I dont see any more options.

    >>
    >> I run the rpm directly from Oracle, not the one from openSUSE, but it
    >> should not
    >> affect the operation.
    >>
    >> When I select a type, the name is left blank. You might try clearing
    >> the name
    >> and writing your own name in that box. If that still fails, go to
    >> https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads and select the openSUSE
    >> entry
    >> for your architecture. Although it only mentions 11.4/12.1/12.2, it
    >> also applies
    >> to 12.3.
    >>
    >> If that still fails, do a screen capture before you press add, and post
    >> that image.In order to post an image, i'm guessing i would have to upload it to

    > something like photobucket. But that's just me a guessing.


    The openSUSE paste site can handle images.



  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: Maybe a virtual question

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    On 04/15/2013 05:06 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >
    > lwfinger;2548031 Wrote:
    >> On 04/15/2013 01:56 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>
    >> When I select NEW, and choose what the os type, the vm name
    >>> automatically fills itself in. When I click on the add button I then

    >> get
    >>> that message. I dont see any more options.

    >>
    >> I run the rpm directly from Oracle, not the one from openSUSE, but it
    >> should not
    >> affect the operation.
    >>
    >> When I select a type, the name is left blank. You might try clearing
    >> the name
    >> and writing your own name in that box. If that still fails, go to
    >> https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads and select the openSUSE
    >> entry
    >> for your architecture. Although it only mentions 11.4/12.1/12.2, it
    >> also applies
    >> to 12.3.
    >>
    >> If that still fails, do a screen capture before you press add, and post
    >> that image.In order to post an image, i'm guessing i would have to upload it to

    > something like photobucket. But that's just me a guessing.


    The openSUSE paste site can handle images.
    I do not know where that is.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Maybe a virtual question

    On 04/15/2013 06:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >
    > lwfinger;2548077 Wrote:
    >> On 04/15/2013 05:06 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>
    >>> lwfinger;2548031 Wrote:
    >>>> On 04/15/2013 01:56 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>>
    >>>> When I select NEW, and choose what the os type, the vm name
    >>>>> automatically fills itself in. When I click on the add button I

    >> then
    >>>> get
    >>>>> that message. I dont see any more options.
    >>>>
    >>>> I run the rpm directly from Oracle, not the one from openSUSE, but

    >> it
    >>>> should not
    >>>> affect the operation.
    >>>>
    >>>> When I select a type, the name is left blank. You might try clearing
    >>>> the name
    >>>> and writing your own name in that box. If that still fails, go to
    >>>> https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads and select the

    >> openSUSE
    >>>> entry
    >>>> for your architecture. Although it only mentions 11.4/12.1/12.2, it
    >>>> also applies
    >>>> to 12.3.
    >>>>
    >>>> If that still fails, do a screen capture before you press add, and

    >> post
    >>>> that image.In order to post an image, i'm guessing i would have to

    >> upload it to
    >>> something like photobucket. But that's just me a guessing.

    >>
    >> The openSUSE paste site can handle images.I do not know where that is.


    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=opensuse+paste




  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: Maybe a virtual question

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    On 04/15/2013 06:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >
    > lwfinger;2548077 Wrote:
    >> On 04/15/2013 05:06 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>
    >>> lwfinger;2548031 Wrote:
    >>>> On 04/15/2013 01:56 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>>
    >>>> When I select NEW, and choose what the os type, the vm name
    >>>>> automatically fills itself in. When I click on the add button I

    >> then
    >>>> get
    >>>>> that message. I dont see any more options.
    >>>>
    >>>> I run the rpm directly from Oracle, not the one from openSUSE, but

    >> it
    >>>> should not
    >>>> affect the operation.
    >>>>
    >>>> When I select a type, the name is left blank. You might try clearing
    >>>> the name
    >>>> and writing your own name in that box. If that still fails, go to
    >>>> https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads and select the

    >> openSUSE
    >>>> entry
    >>>> for your architecture. Although it only mentions 11.4/12.1/12.2, it
    >>>> also applies
    >>>> to 12.3.
    >>>>
    >>>> If that still fails, do a screen capture before you press add, and

    >> post
    >>>> that image.In order to post an image, i'm guessing i would have to

    >> upload it to
    >>> something like photobucket. But that's just me a guessing.

    >>
    >> The openSUSE paste site can handle images.I do not know where that is.


    Let me google that for you
    I do not understand what i am looking at.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: Maybe a virtual question

    Quote Originally Posted by lwfinger View Post
    On 04/15/2013 06:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >
    > lwfinger;2548077 Wrote:
    >> On 04/15/2013 05:06 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>
    >>> lwfinger;2548031 Wrote:
    >>>> On 04/15/2013 01:56 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>>
    >>>> When I select NEW, and choose what the os type, the vm name
    >>>>> automatically fills itself in. When I click on the add button I

    >> then
    >>>> get
    >>>>> that message. I dont see any more options.
    >>>>
    >>>> I run the rpm directly from Oracle, not the one from openSUSE, but

    >> it
    >>>> should not
    >>>> affect the operation.
    >>>>
    >>>> When I select a type, the name is left blank. You might try clearing
    >>>> the name
    >>>> and writing your own name in that box. If that still fails, go to
    >>>> https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads and select the

    >> openSUSE
    >>>> entry
    >>>> for your architecture. Although it only mentions 11.4/12.1/12.2, it
    >>>> also applies
    >>>> to 12.3.
    >>>>
    >>>> If that still fails, do a screen capture before you press add, and

    >> post
    >>>> that image.In order to post an image, i'm guessing i would have to

    >> upload it to
    >>> something like photobucket. But that's just me a guessing.

    >>
    >> The openSUSE paste site can handle images.I do not know where that is.


    Let me google that for you
    I am looking at a program that runs on Linux, it looks promising.Network based Caller ID Programs
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Maybe a virtual question

    On 04/15/2013 08:36 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >
    > lwfinger;2548104 Wrote:
    >> On 04/15/2013 06:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>
    >>> lwfinger;2548077 Wrote:
    >>>> On 04/15/2013 05:06 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>>>
    >>>>> lwfinger;2548031 Wrote:
    >>>>>> On 04/15/2013 01:56 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    >>>>>>
    >>>>>> When I select NEW, and choose what the os type, the vm name
    >>>>>>> automatically fills itself in. When I click on the add button I
    >>>> then
    >>>>>> get
    >>>>>>> that message. I dont see any more options.
    >>>>>>
    >>>>>> I run the rpm directly from Oracle, not the one from openSUSE, but
    >>>> it
    >>>>>> should not
    >>>>>> affect the operation.
    >>>>>>
    >>>>>> When I select a type, the name is left blank. You might try

    >> clearing
    >>>>>> the name
    >>>>>> and writing your own name in that box. If that still fails, go to
    >>>>>> https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads and select the
    >>>> openSUSE
    >>>>>> entry
    >>>>>> for your architecture. Although it only mentions 11.4/12.1/12.2,

    >> it
    >>>>>> also applies
    >>>>>> to 12.3.
    >>>>>>
    >>>>>> If that still fails, do a screen capture before you press add, and
    >>>> post
    >>>>>> that image.In order to post an image, i'm guessing i would have to
    >>>> upload it to
    >>>>> something like photobucket. But that's just me a guessing.
    >>>>
    >>>> The openSUSE paste site can handle images.I do not know where that

    >> is.
    >>
    >> 'Let me google that for you' (http://lmgtfy.com/?q=opensuse+paste)I do not understand what i am looking at.


    If you Google "opensuse paste", the very first hit is the one you want. That
    link does the search for you.



Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •