Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: pop up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default pop up

    I upgraded to openSuse 12.3 I seem to have a single pop up at every boot. The pop up says something about plasma requires an additional service, and something about a calendar data engine. It gives me an option to continue or cancel.
    Continue option offers no solution, says it can't find whatever it needs.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  2. #2
    dd NNTP User

    Default Re: pop up

    On 03/27/2013 02:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    > The pop up says something about


    please provide exactly what it says..

    --
    dd


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: pop up

    Quote Originally Posted by mike7757 View Post
    I upgraded to openSuse 12.3 I seem to have a single pop up at every boot. The pop up says something about plasma requires an additional service, and something about a calendar data engine. It gives me an option to continue or cancel.
    Continue option offers no solution, says it can't find whatever it needs.
    "exact words" plasma requires an additional service, and calendar data engine
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,266

    Default Re: pop up

    Is this realy at boot? Or is it at login? I ask because plasma is something KDE IIRC and thus belongs to a KDE user login in. Is the user using KDE?
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    dd NNTP User

    Default Re: pop up

    On 03/27/2013 02:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    > I upgraded to openSuse 12.3


    i guess the cause of your troubles lie in how you "upgraded"..

    looking around i see that Carlos pointed you to the (only) three
    correct ways to upgrade from 12.2 to 12.3 in
    http://forums.opensuse.org/english/g...ml#post2540488

    and despite that pointer i suspect you somehow got your system messed
    up during the upgrade process..

    you may eventually figure out how to rescue it, but i could not help
    you fix it from here.....and, i'd _guess_ if i were sitting at your
    keyboard it would still be easier and faster to format and install
    12.3 (assuming your data is safe somewhere else, and can be joined in
    later)..

    --
    dd
    http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: pop up

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Is this realy at boot? Or is it at login? I ask because plasma is something KDE IIRC and thus belongs to a KDE user login in. Is the user using KDE?
    You are correct. It is at Logon. When I click on continue, it cannot find a solution for itself. What if i put install dvd back in tray.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: pop up

    Quote Originally Posted by dd View Post
    On 03/27/2013 02:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    > I upgraded to openSuse 12.3


    i guess the cause of your troubles lie in how you "upgraded"..

    looking around i see that Carlos pointed you to the (only) three
    correct ways to upgrade from 12.2 to 12.3 in
    http://forums.opensuse.org/english/g...ml#post2540488

    and despite that pointer i suspect you somehow got your system messed
    up during the upgrade process..

    you may eventually figure out how to rescue it, but i could not help
    you fix it from here.....and, i'd _guess_ if i were sitting at your
    keyboard it would still be easier and faster to format and install
    12.3 (assuming your data is safe somewhere else, and can be joined in
    later)..

    --
    dd
    DD Caveat
    I downloaded iso from openSuse site. This was an upgrade instead of install. That is the only hiccup that this pc is doing at this time. I must try to fix small problem.
    Mike

    AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 435 Processor, (RAM): 8.0 GiB, openSUSE Leap 42.2, (x86_64)
    KDE: 4.10, ATI Radeon HD Graphics

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: pop up

    On 2013-03-27 20:26, mike7757 wrote:
    >> I downloaded iso from openSuse site. This was an upgrade instead of

    > install. That is the only hiccup that this pc is doing at this time. I
    > must try to fix small problem.


    Precisely.

    Thus, did you follow the instructions for doing upgrades, specially the
    tasks to be done after one, as documented in those links dd mentioned?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.1 x86_64 "Asparagus" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    dd NNTP User

    Default Re: pop up

    On 03/27/2013 02:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    > calendar data engine


    another user has posted a similar find...i have asked that user to
    come to this thread and let the two of you compare: software mix and
    how you got to it, as well as hardware....if the common thread points
    to a bug in software then the two of you should collaborate in filing
    it....but, if the common thread is a particular supported upgrade
    path that was correctly followed, then the words in the upgrade
    wiki/doc needs updating..

    or, if it is just a user error. . .

    that other thread is here:
    http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=485178

    wouldn't it be nice if both threads had in its subject something
    like: KDE 4.10 "calendar data engine"

    --
    dd
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobile" of operating systems!


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    77

    Default Re: pop up

    Quote Originally Posted by dd View Post
    On 03/27/2013 02:46 PM, mike7757 wrote:
    > calendar data engine


    another user has posted a similar find...i have asked that user to
    come to this thread and let the two of you compare: software mix and
    how you got to it, as well as hardware....if the common thread points
    to a bug in software then the two of you should collaborate in filing
    it....but, if the common thread is a particular supported upgrade
    path that was correctly followed, then the words in the upgrade
    wiki/doc needs updating..

    or, if it is just a user error. . .

    that other thread is here:
    Plasma always trying to install additional service for calendar (Opensuse 12.3), unsuccessfully

    wouldn't it be nice if both threads had in its subject something
    like: KDE 4.10 "calendar data engine"

    --
    dd
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobile" of operating systems!
    Well, I'm the other user, with the exact same problem. This one appears to me, the same, at (well, more accurate: AFTER) login.
    I have a fresh install of Opensuse 12.3 (I never use upgrade option -- always backup my data, install as new install, and then recover the needed data from my backup .... did this with every version of Opensuse I have used, since about 8.0...)
    The bad part is I get this on 2 different hardware (desktop PCs in both cases): one at work, the other at home : both with i386 version of 12.3 (both Pentium D, but different variants), both 2GB of RAM...). So I guess there's not a decent chance of this being a hardware issue...
    As far as I can remember, this came up right after first reboot after install, so I wouldn't blame any kind of update to any package, also ...
    I simply blame KDE on something, but .... can't figure out what, exactly.
    As I mentioned on my other post, I just tried to save some of my favorite settings on the calendar widget: activating holiday displaying when I open it --- btw, it's the default KDE's widget for clock/calendar -- the one that usually stays in the lower-right corner of the display); I set my favorite holiday displaying for the countries I prefer, click on Apply, but the next time I re-open the settings for the clock/calendar widget, those settings are gone again..... (and, of course, the calendar doesn't offer the required holidays, even when I select some particular day which should be a holiday, like my own country's national day....)
    So I suppose, this is in some way related to that error after login (with the plasma engine trying to install any sort of additional service for the calendar...)
    I don't know ... if there's something else I could come up with, please ask, in order to figure out what's the problem ...
    Linux user #179833

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •