Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

  1. #1

    Question Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    I started off with openSUSE GNOME 12.3 then I installed KDE's base pattern as a side DE. Apper got installed as well. Ever since then, whenever I need to install an .rpm file, be it on GNOME or KDE, a QT applet handles the installation instead of the default GTK one. How can I make the GTK applet handle installing .rpm again?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    Quote Originally Posted by Vagrant232 View Post
    I started off with openSUSE GNOME 12.3 then I installed KDE's base pattern as a side DE. Apper got installed as well. Ever since then, whenever I need to install an .rpm file, be it on GNOME or KDE, a QT applet handles the installation instead of the default GTK one. How can I make the GTK applet handle installing .rpm again?
    Straight from the book of openSUSE:

    [Tip] Changing the Toolkit Flavor

    By default, YaST is started with the toolkit matching your desktop (GTK+ under GNOME, Qt under KDE). To alter this default setting system-wide, change the variable WANTED_GUI in /etc/sysconfig/yast2 to either qt or gtk.

    If you do not want to change the system-wide settings, you can nevertheless start YaST in the desired flavor from command line by using the --gtk or --qt parameter, respectively. For example: yast2 --gtk.
    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3

    Default Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    That's what I did 3 days ago and it didn't work. Yast now uses a GTK UI on KDE but the rpm installation applet is still a qt based one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    Quote Originally Posted by Vagrant232 View Post
    I started off with openSUSE GNOME 12.3 then I installed KDE's base pattern as a side DE. Apper got installed as well. Ever since then, whenever I need to install an .rpm file, be it on GNOME or KDE, a QT applet handles the installation instead of the default GTK one. How can I make the GTK applet handle installing .rpm again?
    Code:
    su-
    zypper in <fullpath>/abc*.rpm
    Best way to do it and it give you proper errors. only repos based upgrades can be safely left to packagekit
    GNOME Version 3.20.2
    openSUSE Leap 42.3 64-bit

    www.vazhavandan.blogspot.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    On 2013-03-26 02:56, Vagrant232 wrote:
    >
    > That's what I did 3 days ago and it didn't work. Yast now uses a GTK UI
    > on KDE but the rpm installation applet is still a qt based one.


    Yes, the WANTED_GUI setting affects yast, not apper.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.1 x86_64 "Asparagus" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    Quote Originally Posted by Vagrant232 View Post
    That's what I did 3 days ago and it didn't work. Yast now uses a GTK UI on KDE but the rpm installation applet is still a qt based one.
    This is what it looks like in QT/KDE:



    This is working for me. Have a look again.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Question Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    OK, now I see you speak of Apper, which I do not use myself and is intended to work with KDE as far as I know. Sorry for the confusion: https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Apper_troubleshooting

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    Quote Originally Posted by jdmcdaniel3 View Post
    OK, now I see you speak of Apper,
    I would like the DEs(KDE,GNOME) to stop "managing packages" and leave it to distros like openSUSE,Fedroa etc who are obviously doing a better job(personal belief) than them.
    GNOME Version 3.20.2
    openSUSE Leap 42.3 64-bit

    www.vazhavandan.blogspot.com

  9. #9

    Default Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    Disabling Apper from KDE's system system settings didn't work. Here's a screenie just in case I still have you confused:

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Qt RPM installation applet being used instead of GTK

    Quote Originally Posted by Vagrant232 View Post
    Disabling Apper from KDE's system system settings didn't work. Here's a screenie just in case I still have you confused:
    The screen capture did not show up. Why not save it as a file and post it in SuSE Paste here: SUSE Paste, select image over code (top right), set delete after to never,keep image under 512 meg, Gwenview is great is resizing images when needed. Post a link to the image in your next message.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •