Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,768

    Default LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    Any one else see this? I can see the weather stats for any European location but none for US from wetter source. Sometime but infrequently I can see noaa sources sometimes and they do seem to work but drop out and are near impossible to reacquire. All I see normally are wetter sources and sometime bbckmet sources. There is one bbckmet entry for a near city Charleston WV but the info shown is totally wrong temp etc not even close.

    Any one know how to set where the data comes from seems to be titled totally to wetter. looked but can't figure where the setup is for this applet

    This applet has always been a problem but I got it to work pretty well in 11.4.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    If the data in this page(Yahoo! Weather - Charleston, WV) is correct then open the rss widget and add this url to the rss widget
    If you need Fahrenheit use this url http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?w=2378317&u=f
    GNOME Version 3.20.2
    openSUSE Leap 42.3 64-bit

    www.vazhavandan.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,768

    Default Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    That works just not as pretty as LCD weather. oh well.
    I find it odd that I can't connect reliably to noaa like I could in 11.3. we need a better weather widget.

  4. #4

    Default Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    Personally I use YAWP for my weather needs.
    I always had issues with LCD weather

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,869
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Any one else see this?
    Yes, I had trouble with that.

    With opensuse 12.2, I checked the box for "Weather Forecast" in KDE system tray settings. It worked very well with an NOAA source, but I could never get it to respond if I configured a wetter source.

    This stopped working with 12.3. So I cleaned out ".kde4" and got a fresh start. It still does not work. I can enable the forecast tray icon, and it work for a while but then stops updating.

    I then tried the LCD weather widget. And it has similar failures to the forecast tray item.

    I suppose I should have reported it as a bug. However, a weather widget is not all that important to me, so I just turned it off.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Space Colony Lagrange Point 22° à, 77° Ƅ, 56° ɤ, 99° ɜ
    Posts
    3,166

    Default Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    Install weather-wallpaper. It will change your wallpaper according to the time of the day and also who your temperature
    GNOME Version 3.20.2
    openSUSE Leap 42.3 64-bit

    www.vazhavandan.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Balogna Capitol, Lebanon PA
    Posts
    104

    Exclamation Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    Any one else see this? I can see the weather stats for any European location but none for US from wetter source. Sometime but infrequently I can see noaa sources sometimes and they do seem to work but drop out and are near impossible to reacquire. All I see normally are wetter sources and sometime bbckmet sources. There is one bbckmet entry for a near city Charleston WV but the info shown is totally wrong temp etc not even close.

    Any one know how to set where the data comes from seems to be titled totally to wetter. looked but can't figure where the setup is for this applet

    This applet has always been a problem but I got it to work pretty well in 11.4.
    Thanks you for making this post, as I've been experiencing this problem off and on with the gadget. I only started using it since v12.0/1 or there about. Usually a fresh search would pull the noaa links back. However I noticed with this release that it initially worked when I first installed the release, however in the past week, a patch was pushed through which broke it to the point of no noaa links.

    I really have no interest in looking for an alternative, I feel it should either be fixed or pulled from the package.

    Any suggestion on an escalation path would and what the developers might want to know would be helpful.

    tia,

    WilNix

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Balogna Capitol, Lebanon PA
    Posts
    104

    Cool Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    Removing the widget and re-applying it seems to have resolved the problem for the time being. Just seems a bit odd, almost like a M$ fix. Maybe just a matter of flushing some settings in the process.
    .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kissimmee, FL
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: LCD weather station applet does not work for any US site in 12.3

    Quote Originally Posted by MadmanRB View Post
    Personally I use YAWP for my weather needs.
    I always had issues with LCD weather
    Thanks for this suggestion. I'd never heard of YAWP before. Got it installed now and love it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •