Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Issue with CrossOver Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    268

    Default Issue with CrossOver Linux

    I don't personally have a problem with CrossOver Linux on my openSUSE 12.3 x86_64 machine but it does look like I have some issues with it. When I run the CrossOver diagnostic tool, I get this output:
    Code:
    > /opt/cxoffice/bin/cxdiag
    [MissingLibGphoto2]
    "Level"="Recommend"
    "Title"="Missing 32bit libgphoto2.so.2 library"
    "Description"="Lets Windows applications access digital cameras."
    
    [MissingLibHal]
    "Level"="Suggest"
    "Title"="Missing 32bit libhal.so.1 library"
    "Description"="This may be needed for Windows applications to automatically detect CD-ROM and USB key insertion."
    
    [MissingLibTiff]
    "Level"="Suggest"
    "Title"="Missing 32bit libtiff.so.4 library"
    "Description"="This is needed by some applications that need to manipulate TIFF images in their user interface."
    
    [Properties]
    "display.depth"="24"
    
    [Properties]
    "opengl.vendor"="NVIDIA Corporation"
    
    [Properties]
    "opengl.version"="3.3.0 NVIDIA 310.32"
    
    [Properties]
    "opengl.renderer"="Quadro NVS 135M/PCIe/SSE2"
    What I don't understand is why I am getting the missing libgphoto2 and libtiff. A checked my /usr/libs folder:
    Code:
    /usr/lib> ls libtiff* libgphoto2*
    libgphoto2_port.so.10  libgphoto2_port.so.10.0.0  libgphoto2.so.6  libgphoto2.so.6.0.0  libtiff.so.5  libtiff.so.5.2.0  libtiffxx.so.5  libtiffxx.so.5.2.0
    
    libgphoto2:
    2.5.0.2
    
    libgphoto2_port:
    0.10.0
    Is CrossOver not able to redirect automatically to the from libtiff.so.4 to libtiff.so.5? Should I make a symbolic link?

    What is the best practice for ensuring that this software runs as needed? I also see that CodeWeavers doesn't officially support openSUSE either. I read on a CrossOver forum thread this:
    Unfortunately we no longer support Crossover 12.x on Opensuse 12.x because of all the missing libraries in the distro and other issues like you're seeing. We gave up after Crossover 11.3 because trying to keep Crossover installing and running correctly on OpenSuse was like playing whack-a-mole and as soon as we would fix for one missing library another would disappear, be moved, or renamed.
    More on that here: Support - Forums - General Forums - Crossover in opensuse 12.3 - Discussion of Windows on Mac and Linux

    For me, everything seems to work without any problems, so far as I can tell but the diagnostic output says otherwise.

    Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.
    If I am going to be spontaneous, I have to plan for it.

    www.CubicleNate.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,780
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Issue with CrossOver Linux

    On Mon 18 Mar 2013 10:56:02 PM CDT, futureboy wrote:


    I don't personally have a problem with CrossOver Linux on my openSUSE
    12.3 x86_64 machine but it does look like I have some issues with it.
    When I run the CrossOver diagnostic tool, I get this output:

    <snip>

    For me, everything seems to work without any problems, so far as I can
    tell but the diagnostic output says otherwise.

    Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.


    Hi
    I wouldn't worry about it... Likewise I have no issues with 12.1.2, but
    I only have office pro 2003 installed... and it gets used on occasions.

    When the time comes that your missing a file, then maybe further
    investigation is needed.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.1-desktop
    up 1 day 2:59, 4 users, load average: 0.03, 0.09, 0.13
    CPU Intel® i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | GPU Intel® Ironlake Mobile


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    268

    Default Re: Issue with CrossOver Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    I wouldn't worry about it... Likewise I have no issues with 12.1.2, but
    I only have office pro 2003 installed... and it gets used on occasions.

    When the time comes that your missing a file, then maybe further
    investigation is needed.
    If that is the case, I will leave it be and continually use my CrossOver Linux happily.
    If I am going to be spontaneous, I have to plan for it.

    www.CubicleNate.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,097

    Default Re: Issue with CrossOver Linux

    On Mon, 18 Mar 2013 22:56:02 +0000, futureboy wrote:

    > For me, everything seems to work without any problems, so far as I can
    > tell but the diagnostic output says otherwise.


    If the things you need work, then there's not really a problem to solve
    per se.

    I use Crossover myself, and for what I use it for, it works fine.

    Maybe those of us who use it on openSUSE should make sure Codeweavers
    knows we use it. If anything, the libraries on openSUSE should be pretty
    stable because of the policy of not upgrading versions during a release.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  5. #5

    Default Re: Issue with CrossOver Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by futureboy View Post
    [crossover saying it cannot find: libgphoto2.so.2, libhal.so.1, libtiff.so.4.]

    What I don't understand is why I am getting the missing libgphoto2 and libtiff. A checked my /usr/libs folder:
    Code:
    /usr/lib> ls libtiff* libgphoto2*
    libgphoto2_port.so.10  libgphoto2_port.so.10.0.0  libgphoto2.so.6  libgphoto2.so.6.0.0  libtiff.so.5  libtiff.so.5.2.0  libtiffxx.so.5  libtiffxx.so.5.2.0
    Is CrossOver not able to redirect automatically to the from libtiff.so.4 to libtiff.so.5? Should I make a symbolic link?
    Hell no. so.4 and so.5 are not compatible, which is why they have a different name in the first place. You can't just walk into Mordor with symlinks.
    RPM packages — http://jftp.inai.de/
    ifconfig is obsolete. Using it renders you ineligible for support.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Malaysia +8 GMT
    Posts
    199

    Default Re: Issue with CrossOver Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Mon, 18 Mar 2013 22:56:02 +0000, futureboy wrote:

    > For me, everything seems to work without any problems, so far as I can
    > tell but the diagnostic output says otherwise.


    If the things you need work, then there's not really a problem to solve
    per se.

    I use Crossover myself, and for what I use it for, it works fine.

    Maybe those of us who use it on openSUSE should make sure Codeweavers
    knows we use it. If anything, the libraries on openSUSE should be pretty
    stable because of the policy of not upgrading versions during a release.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at openSUSE Forums FAQ
    Jim, I believe this post belongs to you Support - Forums - General Forums - "Python&#039;s Gtk and/or Glade lib... - Discussion of Windows on Mac and Linux, so you have any idea how to solve the current infamous python-gtk error for openSUSE 12.3?

    Thanks.
    Intel i5 4590 (Haswell), MSI B85M-G43, MSI GTX750Ti, Leap 15.1, Gnome 3.26 on 120GB SSD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,097

    Default Re: Issue with CrossOver Linux

    On Tue, 02 Apr 2013 15:46:01 +0000, powerw00t wrote:

    > Jim, I believe this post belongs to you


    Nope, "Anderson" != "Henderson".

    I'll probably install 12.3 on at least one system later this week
    (current contract is coming to an end and I have a few days downtime for
    tinkering), so if I do, I'll see if I can dupe the issue.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Malaysia +8 GMT
    Posts
    199

    Default Re: Issue with CrossOver Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Tue, 02 Apr 2013 15:46:01 +0000, powerw00t wrote:

    > Jim, I believe this post belongs to you


    Nope, "Anderson" != "Henderson".
    I see, almost strike a jackpot

    I'll probably install 12.3 on at least one system later this week
    (current contract is coming to an end and I have a few days downtime for
    tinkering), so if I do, I'll see if I can dupe the issue.
    Glad to hear and I am appreciate that, thanks.
    Intel i5 4590 (Haswell), MSI B85M-G43, MSI GTX750Ti, Leap 15.1, Gnome 3.26 on 120GB SSD

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •