Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    Posts
    272

    Question openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    Hi,

    in all former versions of openSUSE I had a sysinfo in Konqueror (sometimes also on the desktop as "my computer" icon). Sysinfo showed the disk usage, cpu type, graphic card type...
    Now, I'am not able to start "sysinfo:/" in Konqueror or able directly starting sysinfo. I found also sysinfo in the repositories and installed it, but this was not the solution.
    Does somebody know, how I can get back the sysinfo function in Konqueror?

    Best wishes

    Michael

  2. #2

    Default Re: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    Quote Originally Posted by michaelhust View Post
    Hi,

    in all former versions of openSUSE I had a sysinfo in Konqueror (sometimes also on the desktop as "my computer" icon). Sysinfo showed the disk usage, cpu type, graphic card type...
    Now, I'am not able to start "sysinfo:/" in Konqueror or able directly starting sysinfo. I found also sysinfo in the repositories and installed it, but this was not the solution.
    Does somebody know, how I can get back the sysinfo function in Konqueror?

    Best wishes

    Michael
    Hello Michael!
    I just wanted to make the same post here, i cant even use opensuse 12.3 anymore thanks to this change. Im forced to go back to 12.2 and i cant even downgrade so i have to re-install my whole system.
    I already tryed to re-install "sysinfo" from yast but it wont show after installation anywhere on my 12.3 system. Im pretty much a noob with linux, but i use opensuse since 10.x version, and all i needet was sysinfo & some tools.
    Im really shocked that they removed this so important, easy to use interface, does anyone know how to re-install the sysinfo to 12.3? Otherwise i cant use this and have to go back to 12.2 but i really dont want to. 12.3 solved a lot of problems i had
    with my switchbox and monitor on linux :/

    I need sysinfo, please help! KInoCenter is so confusing and needs so much more "clicks" just to see my external harddiscs, not even showing the empty space or let me mount usb drives from it, horrible to work with.
    And my Opensuse manages about 18 harddiscs for my network, please help! Everything stands still at moment, this wont work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    254

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    Posts
    272

    Default Re: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    Thanks for the links!

    I installed kio_sysinfo and kio_sysinfo-branding-opensuse from this repository. It works !

    Michael

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moses Lake, WA. USA
    Posts
    474

    Default Re: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    michaelhust wrote:

    >
    > Hi,
    >
    > in all former versions of openSUSE I had a sysinfo in Konqueror
    > (sometimes also on the desktop as "my computer" icon). Sysinfo showed
    > the disk usage, cpu type, graphic card type...
    > Now, I'am not able to start "sysinfo:/" in Konqueror or able directly
    > starting sysinfo. I found also sysinfo in the repositories and
    > installed it, but this was not the solution.
    > Does somebody know, how I can get back the sysinfo function in
    > Konqueror?
    >
    > Best wishes
    >
    > Michael
    >
    >

    It my understanding sysinfo is no longer provided with 12.3 because it
    is not maintained and hasn't been for some time. I also say a tread that
    provided a link to a version (not supported) but do not remember on
    which list. Do a search.

    12.3 has a new program which provides most of the functions of sysinfo.
    Can't remember name and I an not logged into my 12.3 system.

    Not sure this will help your problem but at least you will know why its
    not there.

    Russ
    --
    openSUSE 12.2(Linux 3.4.33-2.24-desktop x86_64)|KDE 4.10.1
    "release 552"|Intel core2duo 2.5 MHZ,|8GB DDR3|GeForce
    8400GS(NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-310.32)


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,595
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    kio-sysinfo will be deprecated, and kinfocenter has taken it's place.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7

    Default Re: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    kio-sysinfo will be deprecated, and kinfocenter has taken it's place.
    But KInfoCenter is 10x worse then good old sysinfo, how can they decide something so bad?

    Sysinfo had instant mount, all harddsics on scree, all ram usage, system version... on "one" screen, how would you even mount a external harddisc on KInfoCenter? /sysinfo you just clicked the "icon" beside the harddisc and it was mounted.
    This is really confusing change to make things more difficult then easy.

  8. #8

    Thumbs down Alternative to Sysinfo?

    is there an alternative to good old sysinfo from before OpenSUSE 12.3?

    I never needet sysinfo for hardware specifications, more for used RAM on one screen,
    and most important mountin & unmountin harddisc drives with just one click.
    Sysinfo even showed free space with different colors depending on how much space is left.
    It was a EVERYDAY tool because i manage a lot of harddiscs on USB hubs.



    Is there any alternative to it? Dont say KInfoCenter, its a great Hardware Specifics tool but
    not very useful in everyday work, just to see how much ram is used you need to click a second time.
    It wont show free harddiscspace, or let you mount harddiscs etc. it doesn’t need to its just a InfoCenter.
    Its great, but not why "My Computer" (old Sysinfo) providet and did. Im sure KInfoCenter does more accurate
    stuff, but i need something to manage with one click the harddiscs and see all the ram used.

    I tryed already WIDGETS, there is the RAM Widget (works great), the Available Devices Widget (for mount & unmount)
    and the Disk Space Widget to show how much spac eis left. That 3 things would solve everything but...
    The Disk Space Widget has a min. of 1 Minute "refresh" time until it updates, wtf? I mount a harddisc, and i have to wait
    1 minute till i see how much space is left o_O Also every time you disconnect harddiscs from USB you have to edit the settings
    of the widget so it includes this usb harddisc to, this is so frustrating to work, especially because old Sysinfo did everything
    so fast and without any problems.

    You mounted a harddisc, and it instant showed empty space, so i could instant unmount if its full.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    254

    Default AW: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    This package works for x86_64:

    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...9.1.x86_64.rpm

    Start it with Konqueror and adress sysinfo:/

    Desktop file:
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Icon=mycomp
    Name=My Computer
    Type=Link
    URL=sysinfo:/
    OnlyShowIn=KDE;
    zypp it...

  10. #10

    Thumbs up Re: AW: openSUSE 12.3 sysinfo

    Quote Originally Posted by zerum View Post
    This package works for x86_64:

    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...9.1.x86_64.rpm

    Start it with Konqueror and adress sysinfo:/

    Desktop file:
    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Icon=mycomp
    Name=My Computer
    Type=Link
    URL=sysinfo:/
    OnlyShowIn=KDE;

    Thank you so much, you saved my weekend, i don’t need to reinstall 12.2, im so happy! I cant thank you enough just tested and works perfect ^___^
    I hope they solve this problem on next opensuse release, this old sysinfo:/ is still best way to mount / un-mount hard discs and see space left, love you!
    You are a great guy!


    By the way for the Widgets they dont even work correctly, the Disk Space Widget wont even update even after 10 minutes Thanks again sysinfo:/ is best!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •