Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Trouble running apps from command line

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    33

    Default Trouble running apps from command line

    Hi there,

    I've recently installed openSUSE 12.2 x64. I did a fresh install rather than upgrade existing openSUSE 12.1, but kept my /home folder and let the installer fix the perms on that. Everything seems to run pretty good, but some games and benchmarks installed and carried over from my home folder no longer start from command line.. an example I just downloaded is Unigine Valley benchmark - when I run the script I get the following...

    chris@blobspawn:~/Downloads/Unigine_Valley-1.0> ./valley
    bash: ./valley: Permission denied
    I thought the exec bit needed setting, but on looking at the perms for that script they are...

    chris@blobspawn:~/Downloads/Unigine_Valley-1.0> ls -l valley
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 chris users 278 Feb 15 03:00 valley
    The script itself is quite simple, and just determines if its 32 or 64 bit binaries to run...

    #!/bin/bash

    cd ./bin
    ARCH=$(uname -m)
    if [ "$ARCH" == x86_64 ]; then
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=./x64:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    ./browser_x64 -config ../data/launcher/launcher.xml
    else
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=./x86:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    ./browser_x86 -config ../data/launcher/launcher.xml
    fi
    Every software I have installed in my /home is not running, giving the same error.

    Any clues from anyone to help me to get these softwares working on 12.2?

    Best regards,

    Chris Wilkinson, New Zealand.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,193
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    Try:
    Code:
    ldd valley
    (while in the appropriate directory). That will tell you which dynamic libraries are needed. The chances are that some are missing.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    On 2013-03-08 23:56, Chrisblob wrote:
    > Every software I have installed in my /home is not running, giving the
    > same error.


    Is the /home partition mounted "noexec"?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2013-03-08 23:56, Chrisblob wrote:
    > Every software I have installed in my /home is not running, giving the
    > same error.


    Is the /home partition mounted "noexec"?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))
    Yes, that was it - is it a default behavior of the installer to set noexec on the partition? I don't recall ever having that trouble on previous updates from one version of openSUSE to another...

    Cheers,

    Chris W.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,732

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    Quote Originally Posted by Chrisblob View Post
    Yes, that was it - is it a default behavior of the installer to set noexec on the partition? I don't recall ever having that trouble on previous updates from one version of openSUSE to another...

    Cheers,

    Chris W.
    Please, next time, do not use QUOTE tags, but CODE tags around your computer copy/paste text. It is the # button in the toolbar.

    And that setting of noexec isn't normal. What is the fs type of that file system?
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    Hello Henk,

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Please, next time, do not use QUOTE tags, but CODE tags around your computer copy/paste text. It is the # button in the toolbar.

    And that setting of noexec isn't normal. What is the fs type of that file system?
    It is ext4. From memory I did what I always do when installing a new openSUSE, and that is to create the same user as previously (chris), and let the installer take over the existing /home/chris directory, since I have collected so much stuff in that folder.

    Cheers,

    Chris W.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    On 2013-03-09 10:46, hcvv wrote:
    > And that setting of noexec isn't normal. What is the fs type of that
    > file system?


    Yes, it is normal and intentional. Some dev wrote about that or I got it
    on some bugzilla. Have a read of man mount, there are some settings that
    imply noexec, too.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    On 2013-03-09 05:56, Chrisblob wrote:
    > Yes, that was it - is it a default behavior of the installer to set
    > noexec on the partition? I don't recall ever having that trouble on
    > previous updates from one version of openSUSE to another...


    Yes, it is a default setting since some time ago.
    _upgrades_ are not affected, but you are not doing upgrades, are you?

    Online upgrade
    method

    [URL="http://en.opensuse.org/SDBffline_upgrade"] Offline upgrade
    method[/UR

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Trouble running apps from command line

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2013-03-09 05:56, Chrisblob wrote:
    > Yes, that was it - is it a default behavior of the installer to set
    > noexec on the partition? I don't recall ever having that trouble on
    > previous updates from one version of openSUSE to another...


    Yes, it is a default setting since some time ago.
    _upgrades_ are not affected, but you are not doing upgrades, are you?

    Online upgrade
    method

    [URL="http://en.opensuse.org/SDBffline_upgrade"] Offline upgrade
    method[/UR

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))
    Yes this time was a fresh install, not an upgrade, as I had modified partitioning on the hard disk containing the system to free up disk space before installing 12.2. The hard disk with /home was untouched.

    Cheers,

    Chris W, NZ.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •