Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

  1. #1

    Default Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    I am running 12.2, using the XFCE desktop environment.

    I have added the Google Chrome repository. When I try to install Chrome I get the following:

    The following NEW packages are going to be installed:
    glibc-i18ndata google-chrome-stable kdelibs3-default-style lsb qt3
    xorg-x11-libs

    The following recommended package was automatically selected:
    kdelibs3-default-style

    Anyone know why are the KDE related packages required?
    Rick71

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    On Tue, 05 Mar 2013 22:26:01 +0000, rick71 wrote:

    > Anyone know why are the KDE related packages required?


    Must be something to do with xfce, as on my 12.2 systems running GNOME/
    KDE4, kdelibs3-default-style is not installed.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    I'm fairly sure XFCE is gtk based. I am not sure why it would need kde3libs. While looking again, it appears that kde3libs ins being pulled in by LSB, which doesn't mske sense to me, either.
    Rick71

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    612

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    It makes sense. Qt3 is part of the LSB unless I am very much mistaken. It must just be a recommended package to have the kde3 styles along with it. You can choose to installed without recommends by running:
    Code:
    zypper in --no-recommends nameofpackage

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    On Wed, 06 Mar 2013 02:46:01 +0000, rick71 wrote:

    > I'm fairly sure XFCE is gtk based. I am not sure why it would need
    > kde3libs. While looking again, it appears that kde3libs ins being pulled
    > in by LSB, which doesn't mske sense to me, either.


    Nor me, because as I said, I've got Chrome running on 12.2 here and that
    kde3libs package isn't installed here.

    Which repository did you add, and how are you installing Chrome? (I
    downloaded the RPM and installed it and let it add the repo on its own).

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Wed, 06 Mar 2013 02:46:01 +0000, rick71 wrote:


    Nor me, because as I said, I've got Chrome running on 12.2 here and that
    kde3libs package isn't installed here.

    Which repository did you add, and how are you installing Chrome? (I
    downloaded the RPM and installed it and let it add the repo on its own).
    That's my way too. Is there any other way to add Chrome?

    The kde3 stuff gets pulled in here too

    All I can say is......So
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Wed, 06 Mar 2013 02:46:01 +0000, rick71 wrote:

    > I'm fairly sure XFCE is gtk based. I am not sure why it would need
    > kde3libs. While looking again, it appears that kde3libs ins being pulled
    > in by LSB, which doesn't mske sense to me, either.


    Nor me, because as I said, I've got Chrome running on 12.2 here and that
    kde3libs package isn't installed here.

    Which repository did you add, and how are you installing Chrome? (I
    downloaded the RPM and installed it and let it add the repo on its own).
    URL: http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/i386

    I search for Chrome and select google-chrome-stable, and kdelins3-default-style, lsb, qt3, glibc-i18ndata and xorg-x11-libs are all select as dependencies.
    Rick71

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,644
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Tue, 05 Mar 2013 22:26:01 +0000, rick71 wrote:

    > Anyone know why are the KDE related packages required?


    Must be something to do with xfce, as on my 12.2 systems running GNOME/
    KDE4, kdelibs3-default-style is not installed.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at openSUSE Forums FAQ
    @Jim: you're probably running Chromium. GoogleEarth pulls in exactly the same libs.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    On Wed, 06 Mar 2013 21:16:02 +0000, Knurpht wrote:

    > @Jim: you're probably running Chromium. GoogleEarth pulls in exactly the
    > same libs.


    Only if Chromium is what's downloaded from dl.google.com.

    Jim
    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,043

    Default Re: Why are kde packages needed to instal Chrome?

    On Wed, 06 Mar 2013 20:36:02 +0000, rick71 wrote:

    > hendersj;2532366 Wrote:
    >> On Wed, 06 Mar 2013 02:46:01 +0000, rick71 wrote:
    >>
    >> > I'm fairly sure XFCE is gtk based. I am not sure why it would need
    >> > kde3libs. While looking again, it appears that kde3libs ins being

    >> pulled
    >> > in by LSB, which doesn't mske sense to me, either.

    >>
    >> Nor me, because as I said, I've got Chrome running on 12.2 here and
    >> that kde3libs package isn't installed here.
    >>
    >> Which repository did you add, and how are you installing Chrome? (I
    >> downloaded the RPM and installed it and let it add the repo on its
    >> own).
    >>
    >>

    > URL: http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/i386
    >
    > I search for Chrome and select google-chrome-stable, and
    > kdelins3-default-style, lsb, qt3, glibc-i18ndata and xorg-x11-libs are
    > all select as dependencies.


    I would be inclined to download the RPM and install it manually, then let
    it add the repository.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •