Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

  1. #1

    Default Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    Dear openSUSE users,

    I am a relatively new openSUSE user and have been enjoying the KDE desktop in openSUSE 12.3.
    With the release of Gnome 3.8, I decided to check it out and see if I could stomach running in Gnome, so I followed the instructions listed here:

    GNOME 3.8 for openSUSE 12.3 – GO GET IT @ Dominique a.k.a. DimStar (Dim*)

    specifically:

    Code:
    zypper ar -f obs://GNOME:STABLE:3.8/openSUSE_12.3 GS38
    zypper dup --from GS38
    But I was not greeted with the Gnome desktop nor was I able to select it from the list at the login screen when I next rebooted.

    Have I missed something fundamental here?

    Thanks,
    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by cristobalgriffin View Post
    Dear openSUSE users,

    I am a relatively new openSUSE user and have been enjoying the KDE desktop in openSUSE 12.3.
    With the release of Gnome 3.8, I decided to check it out and see if I could stomach running in Gnome, so I followed the instructions listed here:

    GNOME 3.8 for openSUSE 12.3 – GO GET IT @ Dominique a.k.a. DimStar (Dim*)

    specifically:

    Code:
    zypper ar -f obs://GNOME:STABLE:3.8/openSUSE_12.3 GS38
    zypper dup --from GS38
    But I was not greeted with the Gnome desktop nor was I able to select it from the list at the login screen when I next rebooted.

    Have I missed something fundamental here?

    Thanks,
    Chris
    So, I have not tried this and from the openSUSE forum prospective, I am not sure anyone here says this works. I do wonder about the reposotory URL as being wrong. I found the right one here (leave out the quotes):

    Code:
    "http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/GNOME:/STABLE:/3.8/openSUSE_12.3/"
    I request you open up a terminal session and type in this command and post the result here:

    Code:
    zypper repos -u
    As for the commands, if you did this (less quotes):

    Code:
    "zypper ar -f http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/GNOME:/STABLE:/3.8/openSUSE_12.3/ GNOME38"
    And then issued an:

    Code:
    zypper dup --from GNOME38
    It might all work. I keep putting the URL link in a CODE # tag with quotes to keep it from being converted name wise, which may have happened here, where a valid link gets converted into a name, with the actual URL hidden, which does not copy well, but not sure except the URL does not seem right at all to me.

    For much more help in using Zypper, have a look here: Z.A.P.I.T. - Zypper Automation Package Information Tool - Version 1.0.0 - Blogs - openSUSE Forums

    The "zypper ar -f " add the repository, based on a valid URL and sets it to auto refresh while the "zypper dup" is a distribution upgrade, in this case, from a valid GNOME 3.8 repository. There is something wrong with that story where you got the URL for some reason.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,488
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    On Wed 29 May 2013 01:06:05 AM CDT, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:


    cristobalgriffin;2560918 Wrote:
    > Dear openSUSE users,
    >
    > I am a relatively new openSUSE user and have been enjoying the KDE
    > desktop in openSUSE 12.3.
    > With the release of Gnome 3.8, I decided to check it out and see if I
    > could stomach running in Gnome, so I followed the instructions listed
    > here:
    >
    > 'GNOME 3.8 for openSUSE 12.3 – GO GET IT @ Dominique a.k.a. DimStar
    > (Dim*)' (http://tinyurl.com/cmxgytv)
    >
    > specifically:
    >
    > >

    Code:
    --------------------
    > > zypper ar -f obs://GNOME:STABLE:3.8/openSUSE_12.3 GS38

    > zypper dup --from GS38

    --------------------
    > >

    >
    > But I was not greeted with the Gnome desktop nor was I able to select
    > it from the list at the login screen when I next rebooted.
    >
    > Have I missed something fundamental here?
    >
    > Thanks,
    > Chris


    So, I have not tried this and from the openSUSE forum prospective, I am
    not sure anyone here says this works. I do wonder about the reposotory
    URL as being wrong. I found the right one here (leave out the quotes):


    Code:
    --------------------
    "http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/GNOME:/STABLE:/3.8/openSUSE_12.3/"
    --------------------


    I request you open up a terminal session and type in this command and
    post the result here:


    Code:
    --------------------
    zypper repos -u
    --------------------


    As for the commands, if you did this (less quotes):


    Code:
    --------------------
    "zypper ar -f
    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_12.3/
    GNOME38" --------------------


    And then issue an:


    Code:
    --------------------
    zypper dup --from GNOME38
    --------------------


    It might all work. I keep putting the URL link in a CODE # tag with
    quotes to keep it from being converted name wise, which may have
    happened here, where a valid link gets converted into a name, with the
    actual URL hidden, which does not copy well, but not sure except the URL
    does not seem right at all to me.

    For much more help in using Zypper, have a look here: 'Z.A.P.I.T. -
    Zypper Automation Package Information Tool - Version 1.0.0 - Blogs -
    openSUSE Forums' (http://tinyurl.com/jwmjjzv)

    The "zypper ar -f " add the repository, based on a valid URL and sets
    it to auto refresh while the "zypper dup" is a distribution upgrade, in
    this case, from a valid GNOME 3.8 repository. There is something wrong
    with that story where you got the URL for some reason.

    Thank You,


    Hi
    There are a couple of items missed;

    Code:
    screen
    su -
    zypper patch
    Then then rest of the commands, screen helps if something goes
    wrong.... but not in my experience.


    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.4-desktop
    up 8:28, 3 users, load average: 0.20, 0.14, 0.19
    CPU AMD Athlon(tm) II P360@2.30GHz | GPU Mobility Radeon HD 4200


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    There are a couple of items missed;

    Code:
    screen
    su -
    zypper patch
    Then then rest of the commands, screen helps if something goes
    wrong.... but not in my experience.


    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.4-desktop
    up 8:28, 3 users, load average: 0.20, 0.14, 0.19
    CPU AMD Athlon(tm) II P360@2.30GHz | GPU Mobility Radeon HD 4200
    Which besides the bad URL, makes you wonder what the real count of successful updates have been not to mention you must install repositories and update files with root authority.

    So the procedure for this is in terminal would be ..

    Code:
    su -
    password:
    zypper ar -f correct_url repo_name
    zypper dup --from repo_name
    zypper patch
    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,488
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    On Wed 29 May 2013 01:36:02 AM CDT, jdmcdaniel3 wrote:


    malcolmlewis;2560945 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > There are a couple of items missed;
    >
    > >

    Code:
    --------------------
    > >

    > screen
    > su -
    > zypper patch
    >

    --------------------
    > >

    > Then then rest of the commands, screen helps if something goes
    > wrong.... but not in my experience.
    >
    >
    > --
    > Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    > openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.4-desktop
    > up 8:28, 3 users, load average: 0.20, 0.14, 0.19
    > CPU AMD Athlon(tm) II P360@2.30GHz | GPU Mobility Radeon HD 4200


    Which besides the bad URL, makes you wonder what the real count of
    successful updates have been not to mention you must install
    repositories and update files with root authority.

    So the procedure for this is in terminal would be ..


    Code:
    --------------------
    su -
    password:
    zypper ar -f correct_url repo_name
    zypper dup --from repo_name
    zypper patch

    --------------------


    Thank You,


    Hi
    Well obs is valid url for me, but since I have an obs account and use
    osc it works, just like searching for packages using osc....

    zypper patch needs to be run before the update to 3.8.x

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.4-desktop
    up 9:11, 3 users, load average: 0.34, 0.19, 0.14
    CPU AMD Athlon(tm) II P360@2.30GHz | GPU Mobility Radeon HD 4200


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    On 05/29/2013 12:26 AM, cristobalgriffin wrote:
    > so I followed the instructions listed
    > here:
    >
    > 'GNOME 3.8 for openSUSE 12.3 – GO GET IT @ Dominique a.k.a.
    > DimStar (Dim*)' (http://tinyurl.com/cmxgytv)


    you are, of course, free to follow any and all blogs on the net! no
    matter who they are from or how wonderful (or disastrous) they might be!

    but when you do, if you have problems you really should contact the
    blog writer for resolution...(i mean, as well as getting pats on the
    back for a job well done they _should_ also be fixing every user's
    mess they contribute to!! [at least then they get to see the
    potential flaws in their how-to, and might either fix the problems or
    remove the info from public view!])

    and, wellllll....when i read the comments (scroll down below the
    how-to) from the people who tried to use those instructions, i would
    think that maybe they will not work for everyone!! and, i would
    probably have avoided those instructions...but, you may try them if
    you wish.

    imHo it is better to follow instructions known to be from inside the
    openSUSE universe....i do this by restricting my google searches
    using their magic "site specifier" switch, meaning i would have tried
    to learn how to get a working gnome 3.8 upgrade from among these hits:

    https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Aopensuse.org+install+gnome+"3.8"

    ymmv!!

    --
    dd
    http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat

  7. #7

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by cristobalgriffin View Post
    But I was not greeted with the Gnome desktop nor was I able to select it from the list at the login screen when I next rebooted.
    On the standard KDE Login screen (KDM) there is a "gear" symbol below the user list. Did you click on this and chose GNOME?
    If it doesn't show up there, you may be missing the package "gnome-session". Please install that.

    If you want to get the GNOME login screen, you have to edit /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager. Change the line DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm" to DISPLAYMANAGER="gdm". Of course you must have installed gdm for this to work! Please check that first.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,644
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    Aren't the instructions meant for those already running GNOME3? I'm beginning to wonder whether GNOME3 is installed at all...
    Please post output of
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep patterns | grep gnome
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    On 05/29/2013 12:26 AM, cristobalgriffin wrote:
    > so I followed the instructions listed
    > here:
    >
    > 'GNOME 3.8 for openSUSE 12.3 – GO GET IT @ Dominique a.k.a.
    > DimStar (Dim*)' (GNOME 3.8 for openSUSE 12.3 – GO GET IT @ Dominique a.k.a. DimStar (Dim*))


    you are, of course, free to follow any and all blogs on the net! no
    matter who they are from or how wonderful (or disastrous) they might be!

    but when you do, if you have problems you really should contact the
    blog writer for resolution...(i mean, as well as getting pats on the
    back for a job well done they _should_ also be fixing every user's
    mess they contribute to!! [at least then they get to see the
    potential flaws in their how-to, and might either fix the problems or
    remove the info from public view!])

    and, wellllll....when i read the comments (scroll down below the
    how-to) from the people who tried to use those instructions, i would
    think that maybe they will not work for everyone!! and, i would
    probably have avoided those instructions...but, you may try them if
    you wish.

    imHo it is better to follow instructions known to be from inside the
    openSUSE universe....i do this by restricting my google searches
    using their magic "site specifier" switch, meaning i would have tried
    to learn how to get a working gnome 3.8 upgrade from among these hits:

    https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Aopensuse.org+install+gnome+"3.8"

    ymmv!!

    --
    dd
    http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat
    Thank you, a good tip.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,488
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Changing desktop environment in openSUSE 12.3 / KDE

    On Wed 29 May 2013 06:55:33 AM CDT, dd wrote:

    On 05/29/2013 12:26 AM, cristobalgriffin wrote:
    > so I followed the instructions listed
    > here:
    >
    > 'GNOME 3.8 for openSUSE 12.3 – GO GET IT @ Dominique a.k.a.
    > DimStar (Dim*)' (http://tinyurl.com/cmxgytv)


    you are, of course, free to follow any and all blogs on the net! no
    matter who they are from or how wonderful (or disastrous) they might be!

    but when you do, if you have problems you really should contact the
    blog writer for resolution...(i mean, as well as getting pats on the
    back for a job well done they _should_ also be fixing every user's
    mess they contribute to!! [at least then they get to see the
    potential flaws in their how-to, and might either fix the problems or
    remove the info from public view!])

    and, wellllll....when i read the comments (scroll down below the
    how-to) from the people who tried to use those instructions, i would
    think that maybe they will not work for everyone!! and, i would
    probably have avoided those instructions...but, you may try them if
    you wish.

    imHo it is better to follow instructions known to be from inside the
    openSUSE universe....i do this by restricting my google searches
    using their magic "site specifier" switch, meaning i would have tried
    to learn how to get a working gnome 3.8 upgrade from among these hits:

    https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Aopensuse.org+install+gnome+"3.8"

    ymmv!!

    Hi
    You do realize who DimStar is?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) Kernel 3.7.10-1.11-desktop
    up 0:02, 3 users, load average: 0.36, 0.30, 0.13
    CPU AMD Athlon(tm) II P360@2.30GHz | GPU Mobility Radeon HD 4200


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •