Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 90

Thread: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    11,998
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    Post comments and experience reports in this thread.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    11,998
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    The network is messed up.

    My first install was on my desktop, and that went reasonably well.

    My second install was on an older laptop that I use for testing 32 bit installs.

    The network tests failed.
    The network did not start after reboot.

    The logs showed "dhcpcd" errors. But "dhcpcd" is supposed to only be used with "ifup" mode, and the Yast configuration showed that the network was supposed to be in NetworkManager mode.

    NetworkManager was never run, as best I can tell.

    It looks as if the system runs in "ifup" mode, no matter how it is configured.

    I eventually had to go to Yast network settings, change to "ifup" mode, disable ethernet, code in the WiFi parameters to be able to use the network. Presumably, connecting an ethernet cable would have worked, too. Without disabling ethernet, it was routing Internet connections through the ethernet interface (which was not connected), instead of through the wireless interface.

    I'll post a bug report tomorrow. It's getting too late now.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    Install from the Gnome Live CD was almost flawless.
    Only issue I noticed during setup, (this was with a active wireless connection). The screen 'Clock and Time Zone' where you see the world map.
    It correctly identified me in UK
    But the Red dot marker was by Hudson Bay Canada.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    GRUB2 Radeon graphics disasters persist
    (https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=803026)

    This was not much of a problem when only GRUB2 was hit but now it
    affects the whole session.


    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks.
    openSUSE 12.3-RC2 (64-bit); KDE 4.10.00; AMD Phenom II X2 550 Processor;
    Video: nVidia GeForce 210 (using nouveau driver);
    Sound: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA); Wireless: BCM4306

  5. #5

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    The network is messed up.

    My first install was on my desktop, and that went reasonably well.

    My second install was on an older laptop that I use for testing 32 bit installs.

    The network tests failed.
    The network did not start after reboot.

    The logs showed "dhcpcd" errors. But "dhcpcd" is supposed to only be used with "ifup" mode, and the Yast configuration showed that the network was supposed to be in NetworkManager mode.

    NetworkManager was never run, as best I can tell.

    It looks as if the system runs in "ifup" mode, no matter how it is configured.

    I eventually had to go to Yast network settings, change to "ifup" mode, disable ethernet, code in the WiFi parameters to be able to use the network. Presumably, connecting an ethernet cable would have worked, too. Without disabling ethernet, it was routing Internet connections through the ethernet interface (which was not connected), instead of through the wireless interface.

    I'll post a bug report tomorrow. It's getting too late now.
    notice the same here no network manager and ifup doesn't seem to connect to anything

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    Folks
    It's helpful if you state what media version (DVD Live CD) and if using CD is it (gnome or kde)
    If DVD what desktop you loaded and is it the latest revision of the DVD?
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    On Fri, 01 Mar 2013 13:06:01 GMT
    kc1di-qrp <kc1di-qrp@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > nrickert;2530964 Wrote:
    > > The network is messed up.
    > >
    > > My first install was on my desktop, and that went reasonably well.
    > >
    > > My second install was on an older laptop that I use for testing 32
    > > bit installs.
    > >
    > > The network tests failed.
    > > The network did not start after reboot.
    > >
    > > The logs showed "dhcpcd" errors. But "dhcpcd" is supposed to only
    > > be used with "ifup" mode, and the Yast configuration showed that the
    > > network was supposed to be in NetworkManager mode.
    > >
    > > NetworkManager was never run, as best I can tell.
    > >
    > > It looks as if the system runs in "ifup" mode, no matter how it is
    > > configured.
    > >
    > > I eventually had to go to Yast network settings, change to "ifup"
    > > mode, disable ethernet, code in the WiFi parameters to be able to
    > > use the network. Presumably, connecting an ethernet cable would
    > > have worked, too. Without disabling ethernet, it was routing
    > > Internet connections through the ethernet interface (which was not
    > > connected), instead of through the wireless interface.
    > >
    > > I'll post a bug report tomorrow. It's getting too late now.

    >
    > notice the same here no network manager and ifup doesn't seem to
    > connect to anything
    >
    >


    Ditto. What's really annoying me is that I recall finding a way to get
    Network Manager started in RC1 but now I can't remember what it was.

    Also, Network Management -launched from the icon in the Systray - isn't
    a lot of help; just says "Network Manager isn't running. Please start
    it! How??? Same nonsense in Yast; says to check whether knetworkmanager
    is running and to start it if it isn't. Again: HOW! As I heard someone
    say years ago about some software, "about as user-friendly as a cornered
    rat!"


    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks.
    openSUSE 12.3-RC2 (64-bit); KDE 4.10.00; AMD Phenom II X2 550 Processor;
    Video: nVidia GeForce 210 (using nouveau driver);
    Sound: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA); Wireless: BCM4306

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    11,998
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    Quote Originally Posted by nrickert View Post
    The network is messed up.
    More on this.

    I installed using the 32 bit DVD image. I did not use "automatic configuration" though that is probably not related.

    The DVD image was used from a USB. The iso was "openSUSE-12.3-DVD-Build0095-i586.iso"
    I'm using KDE, but that seems unrelated to the problem.

    Bug report submitted:

    Bug 806993 System is configured for NetworkManager, but behaves as "ifup"

    More details can be found in the bug report. This is likely a systemd problem. I see it as a show stopper. However, it is possible that it has a very simple fix.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    On 03/01/2013 02:06 PM, kc1di-qrp wrote:
    > notice the same here no network manager and ifup doesn't seem to
    > connect to anything


    Same here.

    Plus: xfce can not login as user, only as root. That is solved by an
    update, but with no network it was impossible.

    Yast said that network manager was enabled, but that was false, there
    was no applet in the taskbar. I had to change to ifup traditional
    method, and my configuration was there, written up from install time.
    But it failed to setup the default route, neither via dhcp or the manual
    tab. It wanted to install smpppd, but that failed, no network.

    After several trials, I found out that a "rcnetwork restart" worked.
    Then yast network setup succeded, installed updates, xfce as user works
    again.

    Restored .thunderbird directory from backup, and here I am

    --
    Cheers/Saludos
    Carlos E. R. (12.3 Dartmouth test at Minas-Anor)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    612

    Default Re: Comment thread - 12.3 RC2

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    Plus: xfce can not login as user, only as root. That is solved by an
    update, but with no network it was impossible.
    The problem was listed in most annoying bugs and the update works for me. Though exactly it was impossible without a net connection. Though luckily I had access to ethernet and just setup a normal ifup/dhclient deal. For some reason ifup works for me but the source of the network manager problem evades me. Mine has something to do with the name server.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Mos..._bugs_12.3_dev

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •