Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    N.E. Illinois
    Posts
    13

    Default How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    I have upgraded three systems to OpenSUSE 12.2 and the first two went pretty smoothly so I was confident enough to proceed with a 3rd system -- my primary system for 99% of my work. I saw no errors during the installation but post-install I found that I do not have the ability to emulate MB3 by chording MB1 and MB2. That means I now have to go through 4-5 mouse clicks to cut and paste text in most applications where, previously, it was possible to merely select text and use MB3 to paste it into another location/window. Cutting and pasting in a terminal window or between windows is a major pain now. "xman" is a major pain to use now since you are completely unable to do the "smooth scrolling" that MB3 allowed. The first two systems I upgraded do not have this problem. MB3 emulation used to work on 11.x and, heck, all flavors of Linux that I've used since the mid-90s. I've reinstalled on my primary system twice since first discovering this on the chance that the hardware detection was at fault or that instlalaing using images (or not) might be causing the installation to screw up when selecting what software to use for the mouse. "hwinfo" does find the correct mouse (Kensington trackball) so I'm fairly convinced that the problem is not the result of some odd failure occurring during the hardware detection phase of the install. Of course, if anyone has something that'll convince me otherwise, I'm all ears. There's nothing in the desktop configuraton, YaST, or anything else that seems to address this. This is a serious workflow problem. Hopefully there's a simple solution.

    Any ideas?

    TIA...

    --
    Rick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,037

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    On Thu, 28 Feb 2013 22:56:03 +0000, rnturner wrote:

    > Any ideas?


    Which desktop are you using?

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    N.E. Illinois
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    Which desktop are you using?
    Sorry 'bout that... KDE 4.8.5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,718

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    For those who are as innocent as I am: MB seems to mean "mouse button".
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    10,793
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    Well,
    Before there was a third mouse button people who have 2 hands do this which is pretty darn fast...
    Right hand - Operate Mouse, using left clicks only to set "the focus"
    Left hand - Execute keyboard shortcuts for copy, paste, cut.

    Copy - Ctl-C
    Paste - Ctl-V
    Cut - Ctl-X

    Select all between previous Cursor position and current Cursor position - Ctl-shift-Click

    For the <real> traditionals, they don't even use the mouse. Using the right hand to press the arrow buttons, plus using the tab key to shift between windows and functions, they do it all with the keyboard (I prefer not to, but is sometimes necessary operating a remote terminal).

    As for you missing third mouse button functionality, maybe something here might help
    xorg - Configuring mouse for right+left button simulating middle click (for copy/paste) - Unix and Linux

    HTH,
    TSU

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,718

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    Real traditionals never heard of Ctrl-V and consorts. They copied/pasted using left en middle mouse button even before Windows was created.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    On 02/28/2013 11:56 PM, rnturner wrote:
    > Any ideas?


    I'm testing 12.3 with XFCE, and traditional X copy paste works. I use
    third mouse button emulation via clicking both buttons simultaneously
    (it is a laptop touchpad).

    --
    Cheers/Saludos
    Carlos E. R. (12.3 Dartmouth test at Minas-Anor9

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    N.E. Illinois
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    I'm testing 12.3 with XFCE, and traditional X copy paste works. I use
    third mouse button emulation via clicking both buttons simultaneously
    (it is a laptop touchpad).
    I have no problem with chording the mouse buttons on my Dell Inspiron. It's my primary desktop that is misbehaving.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    N.E. Illinois
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Real traditionals never heard of Ctrl-V and consorts. They copied/pasted using left en middle mouse button even before Windows was created.
    Bingo! Oh, I've /heard/ of those shortcuts alright. But the way my mouse is working now reminds me of Windows and I can't tell how painful it is to watch Windows users jump through all the hoops that their UI forces upon them to cut and paste in terminal windows. And you're right... even back in the days of DOS, my trusty Logitech bus mouse had a working paste function with the middle button.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    N.E. Illinois
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: How do I get MB1/MB2 = MB3 operation to work?

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    As for you missing third mouse button functionality, maybe something here might help
    xorg - Configuring mouse for right+left button simulating middle click (for copy/paste) - Unix and Linux
    I'll take a look at the Xorg suggestion. I haven't looked at that link yet but I'm assuming it will involve using xmodmap to tweak the button assignments. (It been so long since I've messed around with that utility that I can't remember why I needed to though I /am/ sure it wasn't on a Linux system and I'm pretty sure it wasn't mouse-related.)

    I'll post my results.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •