Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

  1. #1

    Default Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Hello! I am new user of suse and i've just got to face this strange problem. I cant access my windows drive from suse. However i didn't have any problems accessing it from ubuntu (before i trashed it and migrated to suse).
    cat /etc/fstab gives me this output:

    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST980813AS_5NH05X4K-part5 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST980813AS_5NH05X4K-part6 / ext4 acl,user_xattr 1 1
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
    usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0

    Either i am blind or it only shows swap and ext4 partition that suse uses. Can anyone help me access my windows partition please?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,729

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Hello strangeblob,

    First, welcome here.

    Also a request. When you post computer text here in a post (as you did already) please do so by copying/pasteing from the terminal emulator the prompt, the command, the output (of course ) and the next prompt in between CODE tags. You get the CODE tags by clicking on the # button in the toolbar above the post editor. Then there is no need to tell the story of "cat /etc/fstab gives me this output:" because tthe command is there to be seen by all. And these CODE tags will also preserve the original lay-out of the output.

    Then, because most of us have no crystal balls, we like you to mention what you have there. Which version of openSUSE? When you use a desktoop, please, which one.

    As you may have allready seen, there is no entry in fstab for any other partitions then your swap and root prtition. Thus nothing more is used/mounted at boot then those two. It is a biy stragne because when you have a Windows installation also on the disk (as you say) then during installation, the installer normaly offers to add them. But we can llawys vure that. For that we need to know what the partitions you want mount are. Please post the output of
    Code:
    su -c 'fdisk -l'
    and when you know what the partitions there are probably used for, tell us.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Hello, thanks for your answer. I use open suse 12.2 on laptop Dell Latitude D630. Biggest partition should be windows one and i guess that's SDA1

    Code:
    irandael@linux-6dpq:~> su -c 'fdisk -l'
    Heslo: 
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 80,0 GB, 80 026 361 856 bajtů
    hlav: 255, sektorů na stopu: 63, cylindrů: 9 729, celkem 156 301 488 sektorů
    Jednotky = sektorů po 1 * 512 = 512 bajtech
    Velikost sektoru (logického/fyzického): 512 bajtů / 512 bajtů
    Velikost I/O (minimální/optimální): 512 bajtů / 512 bajtů
    Identifikátor disku: 0xcc52cc52
    
    Zařízení Zavádět   Začátek       Konec    Bloky    Id  Systém
    /dev/sda1              63   117232484    58616211    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2   *   117233662   156301311    19533825    5  Rozšířený
    /dev/sda5       150444032   156301311     2928640   82  Linux swap/Solaris
    /dev/sda6       117233664   150444031    16605184   83  Linux
    
    Diskové oddíly jsou chybně seřazeny
    irandael@linux-6dpq:~>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,729

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Thanks for the information.

    Yes, sda1 (not SDA1) will be your Windows system.

    I think the easiest for you is to start YaST > System > Partitioining (and click Yes on the warning). Right-click on sda1 in the list at right and choose Edit (or what it is called in your language).
    There check (and recheck!) that it is on NOT formatting!
    At the right choose a mount-point (when you do not know for a better place, /mnt/A is a good default and finish this.
    When everyting is OK, it is now mounted and will also be in your fstab.

    When you are in doubt what to do, please ask first here before you make severe mistakes.

    PS, it is easily possible to show output like the fdisk -l listing in English for showing on the forums (but we did understand the above ), by doing
    Code:
    su -c 'LANG=C fdisk -l'
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,587
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Don't know if it's still like that, but in the past windows partitions used to be mounted on /windows/C, /windows/D and so on. I've always liked this, because the mountpoint tells what windu "driveletter" is being accessed by entering the directory.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Thanks once again! I can finally access my files.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,729

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Quote Originally Posted by strangeblob View Post
    Thanks once again! I can finally access my files.
    You are welcome.

    But as Knurpht says, this is normaly done by default during the installation. I do not know why this did not happen in your case.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,587
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    You are welcome.

    But as Knurpht says, this is normaly done by default during the installation. I do not know why this did not happen in your case.
    It was like that. I don't see too many openSUSE/windu machines, but I haven't seen any 12.2 installs where windu partitions were assigned mountpoints in /windows.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,729

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    It was like that. I don't see too many openSUSE/windu machines, but I haven't seen any 12.2 installs where windu partitions were assigned mountpoints in /windows.
    Maybe not 12.2. But I have seen this in earlier versions. Or maybe it is one of those things where a DVD differs from a Live CD install.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,587
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Can't access my windows drive from suse.

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Or maybe it is one of those things where a DVD differs from a Live CD install.
    Finding out before Launch Party this time
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •