Thread: Suse 12.2: KDE black screen on loading

Default Suse 12.2: KDE black screen on loading

Hi all, need advice what to do.

I'm not an expert on linux, so if possible give step-by-step hints.

Just made a new install of Suse 12.2 with KDE 4.8.5. The installation went smooth as usual, loaded the kde nicely.
    BUT after reboot the problem started: the OS loads, comes to the user selection screen without problems; after the KDE splash screen is displayed with 5 icons on green background - and that's it (nothing more). If I then click anywhere it does to BLACK screen with mouse pointer. No desktop.

I've tried loading under root, it worked also ONLY for the first time. After that it behaves the same way (black screen with mouse pointer in the middle).

What I've tried so far:
    1) booting with "nomodeset", failsafe - same result
    2) installed nVidia repo - from it latest drivers - run nvidia-xconfig - same result

at this stage Google became useless for advice ((

Looking forward for any hints/advice.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Suse 12.2: KDE black screen on loading

Don't login as root

Try again as normal user and as you login and the desktop loads
    Try pressing:

ALT+SHIFT+F12
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Don't login as root

Try again as normal user and as you login and the desktop loads
    Try pressing:

ALT+SHIFT+F12
    Thanks for reply, this did not help.

So far it seems the problem is following:
    I've made a new clean install - everything works.
    If a make any changes to the "desktop settings" then on the next login I'm getting the same story (green background+5 icons) after a while I gets to black screen with a mouse pointer.
    The only way around, is to log in as root - delete user with "home" directory, and then to create new one. Only then it it will get to KDE (but only with default settings)