Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: VMware community stated that their products don't work on your OS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    258

    Default VMware community stated that their products don't work on your OS

    Sir I am guilty to say that VMware community stated that their products don't work on your operating system. I have posted a thread similar to thread posted by me previously regarding installation of vmplayer and workstation. They reported as below.

    It is actually unsupported config. opensuse is not supported as a host on Workstation 9 or player 4,5

    However, you can try the following. It might work.
    1. Stop the dbus servive.
    /etc/init.d/dbus stop
    2. Start vmware
    3. Strat dbus service
    /etc/init.d/dbus start

    If this doesn't work, try below. Not sure which command is used by openSuse
    #/etc/rc.d/hal start
    or
    #/etc/rc.d/hald start
    or
    /etc/init.d/haldaemon start
    Start vmware
    If this works, activate/enable the hal daemon from Yast (9. Administrator Settings (YaST) - Introduction to the YaST Setup Tool)

    I have followed above instructions but not succeeded.

    Then I have posted that there is no file named vmware-config.pl in /usr/bin directory then their response is shown below.

    vmware-config.pl cannot be used since Workstation 6.5. It does not exist anymore in recent versions.

    For Workstation 7.x and later you need to use the command below to reconfigure the software. Run the command from root
    vmware-modconfig --console --install-all

    I have followed above step even not succeeded.

    Also, I would recommend you to try a supported Host OS on the physical machine. Even if you succeed to make it to work on openSuse 12, you will still see abonormal behavior during using Workstation. That might included intermittent crashes, features not working, etc.

    You can verify the compatibility from the VMware Compatibility guide

    VMware Compatibility Guide: Guest/Host Search

    Sir actually I love your operating system a lot than any other linux distro. Now the only solution ie., VMware player or workstation to make work is install another distro like fedora which I do not like.

    So kindly help me to successfully run either vmplayer or VMware workstation on your OS by testing the above products yourself.

    Regards,
    Rupesh.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,445

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on your OS

    I run Workstation without issue. Have since version 4.
    Currently running 9.1 on OpenSuSE 12.2. I haven't had
    to do anything special to make it run, just download
    the installer, su to root, chmod 777 on the .bin file,
    execute it and let it run.

    Make sure you have kernel source installed for your running
    kernel before you run the installer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,109

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on yourOS

    On Thu, 31 Jan 2013 15:16:03 +0000, rupeshforu3 wrote:

    > So kindly help me to successfully run either vmplayer or VMware
    > workstation on your OS by testing the above products yourself.


    Note that this forum is staffed by volunteers - indeed, the openSUSE
    project is a project of volunteers.

    It's a community effort.

    That said, I have run VMware products on openSUSE since 2003. Generally
    speaking, they work just fine (there have been occasions where compiling
    the necessary drivers has been more difficult, but in general, recent
    releases have run very smoothly).

    If you're looking for a virtualization solution, you might also look at
    VirtualBox. I left my previous job in 2011, and my VMware license was
    allocated to my former employer and I was unable to afford my own
    license, so I switched.

    In general, VirtualBox works as well as VMware and provides most of the
    same functionality for free (in particular, multiple snapshots and linked
    clones, something VMware's free player application doesn't do).

    If your goal is to virtualize something, I would suggest looking at your
    end goal rather than needing to use a particular product for it.

    You will find a number of threads here about how to get VMware running -
    you might start with those. If those don't help, then provide the output
    and specific error messages you get (don't just say "it doesn't work" -
    there are lots of ways that software can "not work", and we don't want to
    play "20 questions" to find out which particular way your attempt failed).

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on yourOS

    On 2013-01-31 16:16, rupeshforu3 wrote:
    >
    > Sir I am guilty to say that VMware community stated that their products
    > don't work on your operating system. I have posted a thread similar to
    > thread posted by me previously regarding installation of vmplayer and
    > workstation. They reported as below.


    First, please notice that in this forum we are just users (volunteers)
    helping other users, so please no "sir". This is not an official support
    channel, there is no such thing.

    Then, VMware as a commercial product probably only supports other
    commercial products - like SUSE Linux Enterprise Server, or SLES for short.

    However, that said, their products work fine with openSUSE, both as host
    or as guest. For example, I run vmplayer version 5 just fine.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.1 x86_64 "Asparagus" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    where I am is where I am
    Posts
    1,164

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on your OS

    You might be missing some things that VMware player needs become root then try this:
    Code:
    # zypper in cmake kernel-source kernel-devel kernel-syms gcc gcc-c++ linux-glibc-devel binutils gcc47 libgcc47 libgcc47-32bit libgcj47 libvmtools0 open-vm-tools open-vm-tools-gui vmware-guest-kmp-desktop
    I'm just a curious cat
    My 64 bit: RADEON RX 570 |CPU AMD - Ryzen 5 1600
    MOTHERBOARD B450M D53H GGABYTE
    Opensuse Tumbleweed Plasma 5

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on your OS

    I have requested help from you several times. I have posted the output produced by installation
    command and also I have podted the log file produced during the installation of vmplayer. Please suggest a solution on examining my previous post regarding to vmware installation.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on yourOS

    On 2013-02-02 08:56, rupeshforu3 wrote:
    >
    > I have requested help from you several times. I have posted the output
    > produced by installation
    > command and also I have podted the log file produced during the
    > installation of vmplayer. Please suggest a solution on examining my
    > previous post regarding to vmware installation.


    And I answered with questions to which you have not replied. Do you
    really want help?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.1 x86_64 "Asparagus" at Telcontar)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,109

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on yourOS

    On Sat, 02 Feb 2013 07:56:02 +0000, rupeshforu3 wrote:

    > I have requested help from you several times. I have posted the output
    > produced by installation command and also I have podted the log file
    > produced during the installation of vmplayer. Please suggest a solution
    > on examining my previous post regarding to vmware installation.


    This is the problem with reposting the same question multiple times
    rather than asking in the first place you started the discussion.

    Please stick to ONE thread for this problem so all the information is in
    one place and those trying to help you don't have to search all over the
    place for the various bits and pieces of the puzzle.

    This is why I asked you both in the forum and via PM to keep to a single
    thread.

    Thanks,

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on yourOS

    Went to Virtualbox when VMWare Workstation was up for renewal/upgrade and never looked back.

    What I want to add: If you have a spare workstation, try VMWare's ESXi. It is free and these days it supports a lot of standard computer hardware.

    Uwe


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,109

    Default Re: VMware community stated that their products don't work on yourOS

    On Sat, 02 Feb 2013 16:36:25 +0000, Uwe Buckesfeld wrote:

    > Went to Virtualbox when VMWare Workstation was up for renewal/upgrade
    > and never looked back.
    >
    > What I want to add: If you have a spare workstation, try VMWare's ESXi.
    > It is free and these days it supports a lot of standard computer
    > hardware.


    ESXi is a good option, but I think while they've expanded the hardware
    support, it's still got some limitations. But at least it's not a
    handful of specific enterprise-class SCSI controllers and that's it for
    storage these days.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •