Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Alsaequal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Alsaequal

    Has anybody used this? I've installed it but get no equalizer.

    I used this repo and Yast:

    http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_12.2/


    OpenSUSE 12.2 64 bit Kde 4.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_Swinyard View Post
    Has anybody used this? I've installed it but get no equalizer.

    I used this repo and Yast:

    Index of /repositories/home:/Akoellh/openSUSE_12.2


    OpenSUSE 12.2 64 bit Kde 4.
    looks like you need to alter some config files to use it.

    Have a read through the usage section here

    the digital machine

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    I did that but it seems that it only works with Alsamixer and Alsamixer-gui so I installed those, gave the proper command and it comes up with and equalizer. The problem now is that even though the sliders move it doesn't affect anything.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    have you tried pulseaudio-equalizer instead?
    It's in packman and works out-of-the-box for me.

    Or have you disabled pulse audio?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    343

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    I have the Pulse Audio equalizer yes and it does work. It's just that some programs (games) I have don't work with Pulse Audio. Legends for instance. There are a couple of commands that I don't remember as I type this that are supposed to make it work but unfortunately they did not work for me so I was thinking of shutting off pulse entirely and using alsa.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    PulseAudio doesn't sound as good as ALSA in my experience.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    Quote Originally Posted by bananaosx View Post
    PulseAudio doesn't sound as good as ALSA in my experience.
    I'd check your ears (or computer).
    Pulse Audio should have no bearing on the quality of audio that you are listening to (unless something is wrong).

  8. #8

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    I'd check your ears (or computer).
    Pulse Audio should have no bearing on the quality of audio that you are listening to (unless something is wrong).
    Barmy, what a display of sheer ineloquence.

    Care to elaborate on advantages/uses of Pulse Audio server over any other?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Alsaequal

    Quote Originally Posted by bananaosx View Post
    Barmy, what a display of sheer ineloquence.

    Care to elaborate on advantages/uses of Pulse Audio server over any other?
    I wasn't suggesting pulse was superior to alsa or vice versa in my post.
    What I was suggesting is that there should be no discernible difference in audio quality between the two. If there is then you most likely have a configuration problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •