Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Adjustable touchpad?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Adjustable touchpad?


    gnome 3 in 12.1.
    Touchpad, set to disable while typing.

    Problem: it is disabled too long after typing ends.

    How adjust that time?

    --
    Cheers/Saludos
    Carlos E. R. (12.1 test at Minas-Anor)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    gnome 3 in 12.1.
    Touchpad, set to disable while typing.

    Problem: it is disabled too long after typing ends.

    How adjust that time?

    --
    Cheers/Saludos
    Carlos E. R. (12.1 test at Minas-Anor)
    Hi Carlos, have a read of this thread. In particular, post #7. The 'man syndaemon' page has some useful info.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    I just tried it (albeit with KDE 4.8.5), and it seems to work. Hopefully it won't conflict with gnome-settings...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,552
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    Some good info here too it seems...

    https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...d_while_Typing

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    On 2013-01-12 10:46, deano ferrari wrote:

    > Hi Carlos, have a read of this 'thread.'
    > (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=122314) In particular, post
    > #7. The 'man syndaemon' page has some useful info.


    Interesting! :-)

    Grepping the output of ps, I see that the daemon is used like this:

    Code:
    syndaemon -i 2.0 -K -R
    In the thread you point to, the poster first disables the setting in
    gnome, then calls:

    Code:
    syndaemon -d -k -i 0.2s
    and:

    Code:
    -i <idle-time>
    How many seconds to wait after the last key
    press before enabling the touchpad.  (default
    is 2.0s).
    
    -k     Ignore modifier keys when monitoring keyboard activity.
    
    -K     Like -k but also ignore Modifier+Key combos.
    
    -R     Use the XRecord extension for detecting keyboard
    activity instead of polling the keyboard
    state.
    
    -d     Start as a daemon, ie in the background.

    I'm using rigth now

    syndaemon -k -R -i 0.4s

    in a terminal and loving it so far. I'l have to check while I type, then
    set it as a daemon. Where can I start that automatically, I wonder...


    Thanks! :-)


    Ah, I see you mention the synaptics page. However, as I see that gnome
    settings was calling syndaemon directly, I'll do the same with adjusted
    parameters. A shame this is not adjustable directly, and aparently it
    has been reported and ignored by the devs.


    And this might also work in my 11.4 install when I go back to it next
    week...

    --
    Cheers/Saludos
    Carlos E. R. (12.1 test at Minas-Anor)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    On 2013-01-12 11:42, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > I'm using rigth now
    >
    > syndaemon -k -R -i 0.4s
    >
    > in a terminal and loving it so far. I'l have to check while I type, then
    > set it as a daemon. Where can I start that automatically, I wonder...


    Note: It has to be restarted after hibernation, because it doesn't work.

    --
    Cheers/Saludos
    Carlos E. R. (12.1 test at Minas-Anor)

  7. #7

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    Ah, I see you mention the synaptics page. However, as I see that gnome
    settings was calling syndaemon directly, I'll do the same with adjusted
    parameters. A shame this is not adjustable directly, and aparently it
    has been reported and ignored by the devs.
    I doubt GNOME will ever add that level of configurability. But GNOME 3.4.2 onwards the default is "disable for 1s" instead of "disable for 2s" which is much more sane; maybe that will suffice for you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    On 2013-01-12 11:42, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > I'm using rigth now
    >
    > syndaemon -k -R -i 0.4s


    ....

    > And this might also work in my 11.4 install when I go back to it next
    > week...


    Well, it doesn't. There is a conflict and the mouse disappears. I had to
    start gsynaptics-init manually, without mouse. Unfortunately, gsynaptics
    in 11.4 doesn't have an option to disable the mouse while typing, and it
    is a real pain.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,100
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    On Tue 15 Jan 2013 11:54:09 PM CST, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    On 2013-01-12 11:42, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > I'm using rigth now
    >
    > syndaemon -k -R -i 0.4s


    ....

    > And this might also work in my 11.4 install when I go back to it next
    > week...


    Well, it doesn't. There is a conflict and the mouse disappears. I had to
    start gsynaptics-init manually, without mouse. Unfortunately, gsynaptics
    in 11.4 doesn't have an option to disable the mouse while typing, and it
    is a real pain.


    Hi
    You should be able to enable/disable via xinput.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.11-2.16-desktop
    up 1 day 3:59, 4 users, load average: 0.08, 0.06, 0.08
    CPU Intel® i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | GPU Intel® Ironlake Mobile


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Adjustable touchpad?

    On 2013-01-16 02:34, malcolmlewis wrote:
    > Hi
    > You should be able to enable/disable via xinput.


    Enable/disable the touchpad? I want the thing to be automatic, for
    manuals I have a hardware switch on the laptop...

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •