Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

  1. #1

    Default How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    Greetings! I installed openSuse 12.2 today. I could not find Cinnamon and was wondering what I need to do to install it. Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    612

    Default Re: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    There are third party repositories. Please note I have not tested them personally to recommend one.
    software.opensuse.org:

    Much better link above. ^^

  4. #4

    Default Re: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    Thank you for this link. I tried it and received the message: the package could not be installed.
    It wants to open cinnamon.ymp with YaST 1-Click Install (default), but it tells me the packages could not be installed: cinnamon and cinnamon-menu-editor.

    I am not sure if this affects it, but I deleted all partitions and set up:
    /swap 30 gb
    /home 100 gb
    / remaining gb

    I did not create a boot.

    The main thing I was trying to do was remove other OS and just use OpenSuse 12.2. After deleting the partitions and searching mucho numero mind numbing docs and threads I decided to just go with the partition setup above.
    I think this is what other Linux OS had me set up, so I just copied it into OpenSuse.
    I see now my system wants me to put my disk 1 in the computer when I try to use Yast. Thank you for any input.

    By the way, there was nothing on the computer I wanted to save.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    You need an install version of openSUSE, preferably Gnome
    Fully patched
    The partitions have nothing to do with it.
    It may require some user input of an intelligent nature.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6

    Default Re: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    You need an install version of openSUSE, preferably Gnome
    Fully patched
    The partitions have nothing to do with it.
    It may require some user input of an intelligent nature.
    I got your intelligent nature. I used the 4.7 GB dvd, don't know how much full version you can get.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    On 2013-01-09 16:16, pilgrim64 wrote:

    > I am not sure if this affects it, but I deleted all partitions and set
    > up:
    > /swap 30 gb
    > /home 100 gb
    > / remaining gb
    >
    > I did not create a boot.
    >
    > _-The_main_thing_I_was_trying_to_do_was_remove_other_OS_and_just_use_OpenSuse_12.2._-_
    > After deleting the partitions and searching mucho numero mind numbing
    > docs and threads I decided to just go with the partition setup above.
    > I think this is what other Linux OS had me set up, so I just copied it
    > into OpenSuse.
    > I see now my system wants me to put my disk 1 in the computer when I
    > try to use Yast. Thank you for any input.


    How is all that related to getting Cinnamon, which is the question of
    this thread?


    --
    Cheers/Saludos
    Carlos E. R.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: How to get Cinnamon for OS 12.2?

    The main thing I was trying to do was remove other OS and just use OpenSuse 12.2.
    Follow The option here:https://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/12...gest_Part.jpeg

    Then at this screen choose the first option (or if you have more than one HD the one that selects the entire HD you wish to use) https://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/12...stom_Part.jpeg

    You should select Gnome for the Dektop (Default is KDE)
    Once installed
    Run this twice:
    Code:
    zypper patch
    Reboot

    Now try the cinnamon install by clicking this: http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...2/cinnamon.ymp

    This assume you are using 12.2

    If you encounter any problem with the install, post the details here. There is a 'expert' button in any dependency issues that enable you to save the details to file and then copy the text here.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •