Dual Boot / Multiple OS

Just finished downloading OpenSuSE DVD installer on the site itself. Now my question is on how to do dual-boot or have multiple OS in my computer?

I am definitely new on doing this. And I don’t want my computer be messed up.

I have searched for a guide on internet regarding this and I landed on this site. Would anyone please confirm the validity of the guide posted on the site? I am not a computer pro so I really need your help.

Thank you very much! :slight_smile:

Welcome here.

In order to make it easier for anybody (not necessarily me)
to answer your questions, a bit more of information is needed.

Which one, openSUSE 12.2 64 bit (x86_64) ?

I saw that you referred to a page describing multiboot with windows.
But which windows do you have? XP, Vista, 7, 8 ?

How old is it: new, more than 3 years old?
Is it a desktop PC or a laptop?
What’s the size of your hard disk?
Do you have a graphics card or use onboard graphics?
etc.

(edit: added last question)

Tell us about your computer. If it’s new, it may complicate things some if it has UEFI BIOS.

You can test openSUSE and most Linux releases with the Live CD version. The OS boots and runs from the CD without any installing. So you can see how it performs (it will be a little laggy as it has to read everything from the CD)

From a live session you can open a terminal and type:

su -
fdisk -l

The result we need to see, so post it here. It will tell us about your partitions.

Check the Articles section of the forum for tips too
https://forums.opensuse.org/content/

Hi guuwey,

quite a lot of questions, you may think.

Be sure, we’re no spies here !! :wink:

But the times havn’t got easier for multiboot systems since the increase of the size of hard disks and the introduction of UEFI boot, etc.

I even forgot a further question (perhaps someone should take the time to make a list of such questions,
perhaps named ‘compatibility issues’, to be published on opensuse.org …).

This question is: