Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Scanning into Libre Office fails

  1. #1

    Default Scanning into Libre Office fails

    OS 12.2, LibreOffice 3.5:build-403 Build ID: 350m1(Build:403), HP Deskjet F2179 All in One Printer, Copier, Scanner.

    Scanning documents into fails with OpenSuse version of LibreOffice Word. Debian Mint, Sabayon, Windows XP (same hardware) works fine.

    Tested new installs in VirtualBox with OS 12.2 Gnome 3, Xfde, KDE, fails.

    Test:
    New install OS 12.3.
    Start LibreOffice Word, then Insert -> Picture -> Scan -> Select Source.
    Change from default scan mode to Line Art, 300DPI. Scan a document.
    Then change scan mode to Grey and 200DPI. Scan next document.

    Result: ERROR Scan Failed or similar.

    Scanning with 'Simple Scan' application and HP scanner test work fine.

    Tested the same same with Debian Mint and Sabayon Mate Desktops.
    Result: Works perfectly.

    Hans

  2. #2

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans_Linux View Post
    OS 12.2, LibreOffice 3.5:build-403 Build ID: 350m1(Build:403), HP Deskjet F2179 All in One Printer, Copier, Scanner.

    Scanning documents into fails with OpenSuse version of LibreOffice Word. Debian Mint, Sabayon, Windows XP (same hardware) works fine.

    Tested new installs in VirtualBox with OS 12.2 Gnome 3, Xfde, KDE, fails.

    Test:
    New install OS 12.3. (TYPO) Shord be OS 12.2
    Start LibreOffice Word, then Insert -> Picture -> Scan -> Select Source.
    Change from default scan mode to Line Art, 300DPI. Scan a document.
    Then change scan mode to Grey and 200DPI. Scan next document.

    Result: ERROR Scan Failed or similar.

    Scanning with 'Simple Scan' application and HP scanner test work fine.

    Tested the same same with Debian Mint and Sabayon Mate Desktops.
    Result: Works perfectly.

    Hans

    Test:
    New install OS 12.3. (TYPO) Should read OS 12.2

    Hans

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans_Linux View Post
    OS 12.2, LibreOffice 3.5:build-403 Build ID: 350m1(Build:403), HP Deskjet F2179 All in One Printer, Copier, Scanner.

    Scanning documents into fails with OpenSuse version of LibreOffice Word. Debian Mint, Sabayon, Windows XP (same hardware) works fine.

    Tested new installs in VirtualBox with OS 12.2 Gnome 3, Xfde, KDE, fails.

    Test:
    New install OS 12.3.
    Start LibreOffice Word, then Insert -> Picture -> Scan -> Select Source.
    Change from default scan mode to Line Art, 300DPI. Scan a document.
    Then change scan mode to Grey and 200DPI. Scan next document.

    Result: ERROR Scan Failed or similar.

    Scanning with 'Simple Scan' application and HP scanner test work fine.

    Tested the same same with Debian Mint and Sabayon Mate Desktops.
    Result: Works perfectly.

    Hans
    all steps described work fine for me

    using openSUSE 12.2 64
    KDE 4.9.xx
    Libreoffice 3.5 build 403
    HP all in one 3070A
    HPLIP 3.12.11-61

    Try updating your hplip to see if that helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,395
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans_Linux View Post
    OS 12.2, LibreOffice 3.5:build-403 Build ID: 350m1(Build:403), HP Deskjet F2179 All in One Printer, Copier, Scanner.

    Scanning documents into fails with OpenSuse version of LibreOffice Word. Debian Mint, Sabayon, Windows XP (same hardware) works fine.

    Tested new installs in VirtualBox with OS 12.2 Gnome 3, Xfde, KDE, fails.

    Test:
    New install OS 12.3.
    Start LibreOffice Word, then Insert -> Picture -> Scan -> Select Source.
    Change from default scan mode to Line Art, 300DPI. Scan a document.
    Then change scan mode to Grey and 200DPI. Scan next document.

    Result: ERROR Scan Failed or similar.

    Scanning with 'Simple Scan' application and HP scanner test work fine.

    Tested the same same with Debian Mint and Sabayon Mate Desktops.
    Result: Works perfectly.

    Hans
    So, if I understand you correctly, you can successfull scan via the app with 'line art, 300DPI', but not 'grey, 200DPI', is that correct? Repeat this with the 'xsane' application. I suspect this will fail too. Some of the scanning apps don't seem to parse the scanning parameters correctly. A bug report may be needed, but I'm not convinced it is with Libre Office.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    Quote Originally Posted by deano_ferrari View Post
    So, if I understand you correctly, you can successful scan via the app with 'line art, 300DPI', but not 'grey, 200DPI', is that correct? Repeat this with the 'xsane' application. I suspect this will fail too. Some of the scanning apps don't seem to parse the scanning parameters correctly. A bug report may be needed, but I'm not convinced it is with Libre Office.
    I did 3 new installs of OS 12.2 in 3 VirtualBox maschines, Gnome 3, KDE and XFCE and one new install with Gnome 3 on a laptop. all with all the latest updates. 'xsane' and 'simplescan' work fine on all 3 VM's and on the laptop.

    Scanning with OpenSuse version of 'LibreOffice', it only works if I don't change resolution and scan type from the default (75DPI, color). After changing, it never works again.

    I tried 'LibereOffice' on a laptop from a OS 12.2 Live DVD. No go!

    I also have a laptop with OS 11.4, with the last updates. No go!

    Printer/Scanners tested with are 'HP Deskjet F2179' and 'HP PSC 1410'.

    I tried unsuccessfully to file a bug report. Was to just to complicated. I will try again when I have time.

    Hans

  6. #6

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    Quote Originally Posted by farcusnz View Post
    all steps described work fine for me

    using openSUSE 12.2 64
    KDE 4.9.xx
    Libreoffice 3.5 build 403
    HP all in one 3070A
    HPLIP 3.12.11-61

    Try updating your hplip to see if that helps.
    Using the latest hplip 3.12.4-3.1.2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,395
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    I usually scan directly using one of the scanning apps, but scanning via LibreOffice works for me (using my Brother DCP-7055). However, if you feel the problem is with LO itself, I'd consider reporting the bug here:

    https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/BugReport

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mangfall, Germany
    Posts
    1,500

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    @Hans_Linux

    Its not LO per se

    Just inserted pictures directly into LO from scanner at both 300dpi and 600dpi
    without problem (600dpi is the maximum for the scanner)

    PC installs as follows,

    Kernel: 3.7.1-1-desktop x86_64
    Desktop KDE 4.9.4
    Distro: openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64)
    LO Version 3.6.4.3 (Build ID: 2ef5aff)
    Samsung SCX-4200 Series, URI: mfp:/dev/mfp4

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    On 2012-12-27 08:56, Hans Linux wrote:

    > I tried unsuccessfully to file a bug report. Was to just to
    > complicated. I will try again when I have time.


    I think that you should report in our bugzilla, as you tried Mint and
    the problem is not there: it is not a generalized LO problem, just in
    openSUSE. You have more than enough info to for a good report.

    openSUSE:Submitting bug
    reports



    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Re: Scanning into Libre Office fails

    Quote Originally Posted by Hans_Linux View Post
    Using the latest hplip 3.12.4-3.1.2
    that version of HPLIP from the OSS repository is quite old now and is known to have some problems.

    You could try a newer version of HPLIP by adding the Opensuse Printing Repository and see if it makes any difference

    Index of /repositories/Printing

    I'm using a newer HPLIP and cannot reproduce the behaviour you see.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •