Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    I have so far had no success with LXDE, I've done ok with KDE and gnome.
    I have tried instructions here, and just about every thing else I can think of, I want a light DE or WM that people find easy to use, it does not need to be LXDE.
    I'm attempting to use SUSE Studio to create yet another recovery disk for my own use and that of friends, (I know, there are already plenty to choose from, but I would just like to do it).
    If anyone has advice I'm happy to give it a go.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    Not sure I quite understand what you want us to say....

    As you seem to have already tried LXDE and clearly found something not to your liking? What exactly was it that meant you 'had no success'?

    It doesn't work for me either, well, it works but the main issue I have is I would only want to use it on a machine with limitations... such as my eeepc, which would be fine, except that LXDE suspend and resume creates a blank space to the panel each time you suspend and resume. As I leave my machine in this state most of the time, probably go back and forth to it 20+ times a day, the result is very messy... (All distros LXDE behave the same) So I have Mint Mate on my eeepc and it's even better IMO. Just telling it how it is.
    But there are plans for a openSUSE Mate install .iso I think. (Though I don't like the 2 Panel layout they went with or the Menu)

    You could look at Razor-qt
    IMO, this should become a install Pattern for the DVD
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    What exactly was it that meant you 'had no success'?
    Your right, I was not clear, I meant I had no success installing LXDE as the DE in the SUSE Studio 'distro' I am attempting to create.
    For a recovery disk I believe LXDE would work well, and I have seen it do so.
    You could look at Razor-qt
    Happy to give it a go, I hadn't heard of it until recently.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,723
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    So it's a little clearer now.
    Actually installing LXDE from the standard DVD is not a problem of course.
    You issue is with your own creation of a LXDE based media in SUSE Studio? Which isn't something I work with much. Lets see if you get some more educated responses :-)
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    So it's a little clearer now.
    Actually installing LXDE from the standard DVD is not a problem of course.
    You issue is with your own creation of a LXDE based media in SUSE Studio? Which isn't something I work with much. Lets see if you get some more educated responses :-)
    Yep, I'm having difficulties installing any lite DE or WM with SUSE Studio that I have tried so far, I expect I am making the same mistakes continuously.
    Perhaps there are some docs that I have neglected to put the needed effort into finding?

    thanks for your replies on this to this point.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    It appears to be a permissions issue, I am unsure how to edit the files in SUSE Studio.
    An example of the error message follows (NOTE, this is copied with pen to paper, so expect some errors).
    Code:
    tux@linux-bash"> startx
    hostname: Name or Server not known
    xauth: file/home/tux.serverauth.8743 does not exist
    
    Fatal server error:
    Cannot open log file "/var/log/Xorg.1.log"
    Please consult the X.org Foundation support at http://wiki.x.org
    
    xinit: giving up
    xinit: unable to connect to X server Connection refused
    xinit: server error
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    xinit failed. /usr/bin/Xorg is not setuid, maybe thats the reason?
    If so either use a display manager (strongly recommended) or adjust /etc/ permitions.local

  7. #7
    malcolmlewis NNTP User

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    On Sat 15 Dec 2012 11:56:02 AM CST, dvhenry wrote:


    caf4926;2510956 Wrote:
    > So it's a little clearer now.
    > Actually installing LXDE from the standard DVD is not a problem of
    > course.
    > You issue is with your own creation of a LXDE based media in SUSE
    > Studio? Which isn't something I work with much. Lets see if you get
    > some more educated responses :-)

    Yep, I'm having difficulties installing any lite DE or WM with SUSE
    Studio that I have tried so far, I expect I am making the same mistakes
    continuously.
    Perhaps there are some docs that I have neglected to put the needed
    effort into finding?

    thanks for your replies on this to this point.


    Hi
    So what overlay files have you included, modified the displaymanager
    and windowmanager files?

    For an example here is my bloackbox overlay;
    http://paste.opensuse.org/89773976

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.11-2.16-desktop
    up 3 days 12:14, 3 users, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.05
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    Hi
    So what overlay files have you included, modified the displaymanager
    and windowmanager files?

    For an example here is my bloackbox overlay;
    SUSE Paste
    I have run many builds.
    I have not concentrated on modifying the displaymanager and windowmanager files, should I?
    As mentioned earlier, I think I am making a basic error on each build attempt, I just don't know what error it is I'm making !.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    I'm happy to concentrate on one attempt, which would give a better indication of what I'm doing wrong.
    Any suggestions on how I should go about that attempt?

  10. #10
    malcolmlewis NNTP User

    Default Re: Any advice on installing LXDE as the main DE ?

    On Sat 15 Dec 2012 02:16:02 PM CST, dvhenry wrote:


    > Hi
    > So what overlay files have you included, modified the displaymanager
    > and windowmanager files?
    >
    > For an example here is my bloackbox overlay;
    > 'SUSE Paste' (http://paste.opensuse.org/89773976)


    I have run many builds.
    I have not concentrated on modifying the displaymanager and
    windowmanager files, should I?


    Hi
    Well AFAIK you would need to modify them to start your window manager
    eg startlxde or what ever is required. The displaymanager I changed for
    the username to autologin and login manager to use (lxdm).

    BTW, startx doesn't work anymore, unless as indicated you change the
    permissions. Again those changed files need to be added to the overlay
    file list, correct permissions etc.

    Do you need a GUI for a rescue type system, esp if the problem is gpu
    related? I use a console based one (called twin) and gpm for the mouse.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.11-2.16-desktop
    up 3 days 13:04, 3 users, load average: 0.01, 0.05, 0.06
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •