Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    20

    Angry Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    I have been having issuse with viewing any Taleo job listings for example looking at jobs for Windstream or other companies that use Taleo (Search Jobs and Apply). Both Firefox and Chromium display a page that is written in Chinese when I goto open the jobs listing page. It seems to me there is a problem with PHP in those browsers. Konqueror doesn't seem to have these issues. Should I remove and reinstall the browsers or is there other ways. Keep in mind I am a bit of a noob I stupidly never took the time to learn tux in my 12 years of computer/network services.
    You can never know everything, but you can keep trying till you die, because knowledge IS power and great power can bring great prestige.​ - Tyler McCalley Owner/Operator of Primus Technologies

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,076

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    On Sat, 11 May 2013 20:36:02 +0000, mccalleyt wrote:

    > Both Firefox and Chromium display a page that is written in Chinese when
    > I goto open the jobs listing page. It seems to me there is a problem
    > with PHP in those browsers.


    I don't know how you conclude that there's a problem with PHP in those
    browsers - PHP is evaluated at the server, not in the browser. That's
    why you can't look at the PHP code of a page served up via PHP by doing
    "view source".

    Further, though, if we went with the assumption that PHP /was/ rendered
    in the browser, it seems reasonable that if there were a problem with
    that in Chrome and Firefox that it'd be a widespread problem. Yet the
    web is full of websites that are done using PHP and these browsers work
    fine against those sites. The logical conclusion is that there's either
    something wrong in your configuration, or something wrong with the site.

    The page you cited comes up fine here in Chrome. Therefore it is
    probably not the site.

    That leaves your installation as where the issue is. Root cause
    analysis.

    Start by clearing cache/cookies in your browser(s) and see if that
    helps. (I do that when I shut the browsers down - in Firefox that's a
    preference that can be set; in Chrome, I don't recall how I configured
    that)

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    Am 11.05.2013 22:36, schrieb mccalleyt:
    >> (http://www.windstreambusiness.com/co...arch-and-apply)).


    That search seems to work fine here in FF 20 on openSUSE 12.3.
    Unlikely that you have a php problem as Jim already explained php is
    server side scripting.
    Do you have any plugins in Firefox which could lead to an adverse effect.
    Start it without plugins to be sure.
    Code:
    firefox -safe-mode
    from the command line.

    --
    PC: oS 12.3 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.10.2 | GTX 650 Ti
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.3 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.10.3 | HD 3000
    HannsBook: oS 12.3 x86_64 | SU4100@1.3GHz | 2GB | KDE 4.10.2 | GMA4500

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,825
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    I also have to agree with the other 2. Here is a list of server side scripting languages.

    Server-side scripting languages [edit]

    There are a number of server-side scripting languages available, including:



    Server-side scripting - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    What this means is that if one browser works (Konqueror), and the others don't, then something is wrong with the profile in the other browsers.
    Doing firefox --safe-mode is certainly a good idea.
    ______________________________________________________________________________________
    Don't ask "if" something can be done, for it can always be done. Rather instead ask "How" can it be done.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,241

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    Quote Originally Posted by mccalleyt View Post
    I have been having issuse with viewing any Taleo job listings for example looking at jobs for Windstream or other companies that use Taleo (Search Jobs and Apply). Both Firefox and Chromium display a page that is written in Chinese when I goto open the jobs listing page. It seems to me there is a problem with PHP in those browsers. Konqueror doesn't seem to have these issues. Should I remove and reinstall the browsers or is there other ways. Keep in mind I am a bit of a noob I stupidly never took the time to learn tux in my 12 years of computer/network services.
    I am allways the one who plays the angry teacher here As already hinted by Martin, you completely forgot to tell which version of openSUSE you use (needed in almost all question/problems) and in this case also which version of the browsers you name. Thus making it more difficult for potential helpers to recreate your problem at their systems in an environment that comes as near as possible to your environment.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I am allways the one who plays the angry teacher here As already hinted by Martin, you completely forgot to tell which version of openSUSE you use (needed in almost all question/problems) and in this case also which version of the browsers you name. Thus making it more difficult for potential helpers to recreate your problem at their systems in an environment that comes as near as possible to your environment.
    I am very aware of all of those scripts to be server side. I'm am just giving one example of which site does it. I tried using both firefox and chome they brought up a garbled mess. Konqueror was able to open it just fine. I did try clearing the cache I do that any time I have issues. I actually clear my cache automaticlly when exiting the browser for security purposes. I have tried different sites only to find the same problem so the likelyhood that more than one site have the exact smae problem is really rare and not probable. I am runnig openSUSE 12.3.
    You can never know everything, but you can keep trying till you die, because knowledge IS power and great power can bring great prestige.​ - Tyler McCalley Owner/Operator of Primus Technologies

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    Sorry tried to add to the above post but out of time. LOL so I am running Firefox Version 20.0 and Chrome Version 27.0.1425.0 (185065).
    You can never know everything, but you can keep trying till you die, because knowledge IS power and great power can bring great prestige.​ - Tyler McCalley Owner/Operator of Primus Technologies

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    I guess to add to it I found that using any server side scripting host will produce what I had said about in the first post. If I try to go back a page to look at the previous page the error will occur some of the time with firefox and all the time in chrome. I have tried clearing the cache and everything else that has been suggested.
    You can never know everything, but you can keep trying till you die, because knowledge IS power and great power can bring great prestige.​ - Tyler McCalley Owner/Operator of Primus Technologies

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,076

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    On Sun, 12 May 2013 17:56:01 +0000, mccalleyt wrote:

    > I am very aware of all of those scripts to be server side.


    You very specifically said "PHP in those browsers". If you know it's
    handled server-side, you know that that actually doesn't make any sense.

    > I'm am just
    > giving one example of which site does it.


    What browser are you using in the forums here?

    > I tried using both firefox and
    > chome they brought up a garbled mess.


    It might be useful if you took a screenshot and posted it to susepaste.org
    and then referenced that here. Since nobody here has been able to
    reproduce your problem, claiming that it's a "problem in those browsers"
    seems like a stretch. Let's gather some information rather than your
    guesses as to what's going on, and do a proper root cause analysis.

    > Konqueror was able to open it just
    > fine. I did try clearing the cache I do that any time I have issues. I
    > actually clear my cache automaticlly when exiting the browser for
    > security purposes.


    That's good to know; we have no way of knowing that this is your SOP
    unless you tell us.

    > I am runnig openSUSE 12.3.


    Also good to know.

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,076

    Default Re: Browser Issues with Firefox and Google Chrome

    On Mon, 13 May 2013 01:36:04 +0000, mccalleyt wrote:

    > I guess to add to it I found that using any server side scripting host
    > will produce what I had said about in the first post. If I try to go
    > back a page to look at the previous page the error will occur some of
    > the time with firefox and all the time in chrome. I have tried clearing
    > the cache and everything else that has been suggested.


    A screenshot of what you're seeing might help us understand the issue
    better. Use susepaste.org to host it, then link to it from here.

    As you are probably aware, server side scripting hosts generate HTML code/
    javascript that is rendered by the browser. It's odd that you are the
    only one reporting this issue, so let's see what the issue is and
    identify what's different about your setup. What type of NIC is in the
    system, and what kind of 'net connection are you using?

    Are you familiar with using tools like WireShark to do network analysis?

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •