Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Default Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Hi folks, I have installed cairo-dock via YAST.. It is a wonderful thing but, when I mouseover certain icons, I get a pop-up with info about 'project-id, language translatiion team etc etc,' could someone more expert try this please?
    I have posted to the cairo-dock forum, and I am not the only one, there are screen-shots there:
    Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock - Text blocking the actual applet when coming near it with the mouse

    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  2. #2

    Default AW: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Right click that icon > edit it and set manually a new name for it!?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    No that does not solve the problem.

    I started cairo-dock with debug activated, the offending messages are there, it seems that it gets there only when cairo-dock does "....create_icon_from_desktop". here is an example, the entry for kcalc:
    Code:
    debug   : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/icon-factory/cairo-dock-launcher-factory.c:cairo_dock_load_icon_info_from_desktop_file:67)
      cairo_dock_load_icon_info_from_desktop_file (01gcalctool.desktop)
    debug   : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/gldit/cairo-dock-class-manager.c:cairo_dock_register_class_full:1829)
      + parsing class desktop file /usr/share/applications/kde4/kcalc.desktop...
    debug   : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/gldit/cairo-dock-class-manager.c:cairo_dock_guess_class:1654)
      cairo_dock_guess_class (kcalc -caption "%c", '(null)')
    debug   : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/gldit/cairo-dock-class-manager.c:cairo_dock_guess_class:1768)
       -> 'kcalc'
    debug   : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/gldit/cairo-dock-class-manager.c:cairo_dock_register_class_full:1936)
       -> class 'kcalc'
    debug   : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/gldit/cairo-dock-class-manager.c:cairo_dock_set_data_from_class:1943)
      cairo_dock_set_data_from_class (kcalc)
    message : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/gldit/cairo-dock-launcher-manager.c:cairo_dock_create_icon_from_desktop_file:202)
      + Project-Id-Version: collect-desktop-files 9.0.1
    POT-Creation-Date: 2012-08-03 10:01+0000
    PO-Revision-Date: 2006-10-25 09:45:59+CEST
    Last-Translator: en_GB <i18n@suse.de>
    Language-Team: en_GB <i18n@suse.de>
    Language: 
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
    /kcalc
    message : (/home/abuild/rpmbuild/BUILD/cairo-dock-3.0.2/src/gldit/cairo-dock-class-manager.c:cairo_dock_inhibite_class:335)
      cairo_dock_inhibite_class (kcalc)

    And here is the whole debug file:


    SUSE Paste[/quote]


    It seems to be using this 'collect-desktop-files 9.0.1' but I am out of my depth...... could someone spare a few minutes to try this and suggest solutions?

    Also from the cairo-dock homepage, there is a new version available, I have tried to email the package maintainers, but have had no response, whom do I ask for a eta of the new version in the packman repo?
    This problem seems only to occur with the version I have, from packman openSUSE.

    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,845
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Did you already check here: software.opensuse.org:

    From a past experiment I know that etamPL makes up to date packages. They show up if you click "Show unstable versions"
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Oh! Once more you are my hero Knnurpht! TY TY!

    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    But another failure

    I tried install the .rpm first by dafault (apper) failed dependencies..
    Then zypper in xxxxx.rpm failed dependencies..
    Then added etem.pl repo, installed from repo with zypper
    failed dependencies.
    Then selected workaround options from zypper.. Installed..
    But first run, failed dependencies..


    SUSE Paste


    Problem is here:

    Code:
    zypper in /home/stephen/bin/cairo-dock-3.1.0-4.1.x86_64.rpm 
    Retrieving repository 'KDE SC 4.9 releases (openSUSE_12.2)' metadata ..........................................................[done]
    Building repository 'KDE SC 4.9 releases (openSUSE_12.2)' cache ...............................................................[done]
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...
    Resolving package dependencies...
    
    
    Problem: cairo-dock-plugins-3.0.2-1.10.x86_64 requires cairo-dock = 3.0.2, but this requirement cannot be provided
     Solution 1: Following actions will be done:
      deinstallation of cairo-dock-plugins-3.0.2-1.10.x86_64
      deinstallation of cairo-dock-plugins-kde-integration-3.0.2-1.10.x86_64
     Solution 2: do not install cairo-dock-3.1.0-4.1.x86_64
     Solution 3: break cairo-dock-plugins-3.0.2-1.10.x86_64 by ignoring some of its dependencies

    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  7. #7

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Hi,
    I am using cairo-dock from packman in 12.1 and 12.2 in xfce and seems don't have a dependency issue.
    I have not try it in kde though.

    Edit:
    I recall once I had a dependency problem with the plugin but I forced to install it and worked.
    Desclaimer "your milage may vary"
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,085

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by conram View Post
    Hi,
    I am using cairo-dock from packman in 12.1 and 12.2 in xfce and seems don't have a dependency issue.
    I have not try it in kde though.

    Edit:
    I recall once I had a dependency problem with the plugin but I forced to install it and worked.
    Desclaimer "your milage may vary"

    Thanks Conram, the version in packman repo installs without the dependency issue, but WITH the text over icon problem.

    The dependency issue is with the newer version from the etam.pl repo, suggested by Knurpht in is post above.

    Tumbleweed/KDE/Ati Radeon R9 270/AMD FX-6300/8Gb DDR3

  9. #9

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by wakou View Post
    Thanks Conram, the version in packman repo installs without the dependency issue, but WITH the text over icon problem.

    The dependency issue is with the newer version from the etam.pl repo, suggested by Knurpht in is post above.
    I think you were pointed to the right solution with the text over icon problem.
    To make it more clear, this is what you can do to solve that problem, same as the poster
    who first answer you.
    Code:
    1. Right clock the icon in the dock i.e firefox
    2. Click configure (not configure cairo-dock but the icon, i.e firefox)
    3. As soon as you click the configure, you will be presented by the pop-up gui
        and all the icon in the dock are represented in the left side of the gui.
    4.Click one of the icons in the left side and replace the title in the option on the right side of the gui with it's name
       if still showing plenty of write-up when you hover it replaced the default command to launch the icon (say in the firefox command shows default, replace it with the command firefox)
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    86

    Default Re: Cairo-dock from repo opensuse

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Did you already check here: software.opensuse.org:

    From a past experiment I know that etamPL makes up to date packages. They show up if you click "Show unstable versions"
    Nice to hear that

    As I've written in Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock - Text blocking the actual applet when coming near it with the mouse :
    Please don't treat my packages as official and bug-free. Packages of cairo-dock in Packman repo should be (I know they are not up to date). Packages in my home repo are for my personal usage or testing. I wanted to do some improvements and push it to openSUSE:Factory, but I don't have much time now, so it just waits there for better days.
    Kick Ass! https://web.archive.org/web/20130106180239/http://blog.hennevogel.de/kick-ass/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •