Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida,USA
    Posts
    80

    Default compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    Hello !

    I'm trying to compile HAL from source, as apparently it isn't packed in the repos, in order to have the Amazon Instant video work in my Suse box. Apparently it is needed for the "correct playback of DRM protected content through flash" (When are we going to finally get rid of that aberration)

    I can install HAL-info without problems, but with HAL, I get the following error.
    Code:
    suser@linux-59h5:/opt/hal> sudo ./autogen.sh
    **Warning**: I am going to run `configure' with no arguments.
    If you wish to pass any to it, please specify them on the
    `./autogen.sh' command line.
    
    configure.in:1052: warning: AC_LANG_CONFTEST: no AC_LANG_SOURCE call detected in body
    ../../lib/autoconf/lang.m4:193: AC_LANG_CONFTEST is expanded from...
    ../../lib/autoconf/general.m4:2590: _AC_COMPILE_IFELSE is expanded from...
    ../../lib/autoconf/general.m4:2606: AC_COMPILE_IFELSE is expanded from...
    configure.in:1052: the top level
    configure.in:1052: warning: AC_LANG_CONFTEST: no AC_LANG_SOURCE call detected in body
    ../../lib/autoconf/lang.m4:193: AC_LANG_CONFTEST is expanded from...
    ../../lib/autoconf/general.m4:2590: _AC_COMPILE_IFELSE is expanded from...
    ../../lib/autoconf/general.m4:2606: AC_COMPILE_IFELSE is expanded from...
    configure.in:1052: the top level
    configure.in:1052: warning: AC_LANG_CONFTEST: no AC_LANG_SOURCE call detected in body
    ../../lib/autoconf/lang.m4:193: AC_LANG_CONFTEST is expanded from...
    ../../lib/autoconf/general.m4:2590: _AC_COMPILE_IFELSE is expanded from...
    ../../lib/autoconf/general.m4:2606: AC_COMPILE_IFELSE is expanded from...
    configure.in:1052: the top level
    configure.in:37: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_PROG_LIBTOOL
          If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
          See the Autoconf documentation.
    autoreconf: /usr/bin/autoconf failed with exit status: 1
    I use sudo because I'm working in /opt.
    I have all the dependencies installed, according to: freedesktop.org - Software/hal I didn't have glib, but I have glibc. Not an exact match but I believe it is the same library.

    Can you guys please offer some advice ?

    Thanks !!

    PS: I installed the HAL version provided in the KDE3 repo and it didn't work. Amazon Instant Video, that is.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    You can get it from OBS
    http://software.opensuse.org/package/hal

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.5 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.2 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 11.4 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | lamp server

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    On 2012-11-02 13:36, Hanzdersion wrote:
    >
    > Hello !
    >
    > I'm trying to compile HAL from source, as apparently it isn't packed
    > in the repos,


    But it is. KDE3 uses it, IIRC

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,972

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanzdersion View Post
    I use sudo because I'm working in /opt.
    Never build/compile any software as root.

    I didn't have glib, but I have glibc. Not an exact match but I believe it is the same library.
    That is completely different library.

    Apparently it is needed for the "correct playback of DRM protected content through flash"
    I remember that long ago some programs (not sure whether it was Flash or Acroread) indeed had dependencies on HAL. But I cannot imagine what HAL has to do with DRM. Right now I am using flash player in 12.2 without HAL installed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    On 2012-11-02 14:06, arvidjaar wrote:

    > I remember that long ago some programs (not sure whether it was Flash
    > or Acroread) indeed had dependencies on HAL. But I cannot imagine what
    > HAL has to do with DRM.


    I have seen it before.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    Am 02.11.2012 14:06, schrieb arvidjaar:
    > But I cannot imagine what
    > HAL has to do with DRM.

    It uses hal to get an hardware identifier for the machine.
    That you use flash without hal does simply mean you do not use flash for
    DRM protected media.

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.5 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.2 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 11.4 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | lamp server

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida,USA
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    Thanks for the link.
    I had already tried installing the package from the KDE3 repo, without success. This time I installed the package from the "vodoo" repo and the result was the same; the installation goes fine but when trying to play a video, the plugin crashes. This happened in firefox and opera. I tried uninstallling/reinstalling the flash plugin both through zypper and manually. Same result.
    After finding this: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=133626 and browsing through my list of running processes, not finding HAL, I'm convinced the crashes are occurring because HAL is not running.

    How can I start HAL, if it is not in /etc/rc.d ??

    Thank you.


    PS: using "find" I found a binary called "hald" in /usr/sbin/ however running it doesn't seem to work either.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    yast -> system -> runlevel -> haldaemon and start it.
    or from the command line
    Code:
    su -
    insserv haldaemon #to enable automatic start on boot
    rchal start #to start it now
    rchal status #to check if it is running
    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.5 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.2 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 11.4 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | lamp server

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4,972

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hanzdersion View Post
    it doesn't seem to work either.
    It is rather vague. HAL does not start? It starts but your application does not work? HAL is started by running hald, but to access it one needs additional D-Bus configuration, this could be your problem.

    hald(8): HAL daemon - Linux man page Try running it with --daemon=no --verbose; this will at least show whether it starts. Then it is possible to investigate further.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida,USA
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: compiling HAL form source (needed for Amazon Instant Video)

    OK guys, thanks for your prompt help. Hers what I got:

    after running "rchal start":
    Code:
    linux-59h5:/ # rchal status
    redirecting to systemctl
    haldaemon.service - LSB: HAL is a daemon for managing information about the hardware on the system
              Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/haldaemon)
              Active: active (exited) since Sun, 04 Nov 2012 12:20:44 -0500; 8s ago
             Process: 5218 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/haldaemon start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
              CGroup: name=systemd:/system/haldaemon.service
    Process 5218 doesn't show up. Kill 5218 confirms process 5218 doesn't exist.

    after running "hald --daemon=no --verbose=yes" I get:
    Code:
    hald --daemon=no --verbose=yes
    12:28:26.276 [I] hald.c:673: hal 0.5.14
    12:28:26.276 [I] hald.c:674: using child timeout 250s
    12:28:26.276 [I] hald.c:739: Will not daemonize
    12:28:26.276 [I] hald_dbus.c:5444: local server is listening at unix:abstract=/var/run/hald/dbus-UwBpFLGIDt,guid=523ed775f998adf58872231b00004507
    12:28:26.278 [I] ck-tracker.c:396: got seat '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Seat1'
    12:28:26.278 [I] ck-tracker.c:323: got session '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Session1' for seat '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Seat1'
    12:28:26.280 [I] ck-tracker.c:274: Got active state (ACTIVE) and uid 1000 on session '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Session1'
    12:28:26.280 [I] ck-tracker.c:344: Got all sessions on seat '/org/freedesktop/ConsoleKit/Seat1'
    12:28:26.280 [I] ck-tracker.c:423: Got seats
    12:28:26.280 [I] ck-tracker.c:824: Got seats and sessions
    12:28:26.280 [I] hald_runner.c:304: Runner has pid 5402
    Runner started - allowed paths are '/usr/lib/hal:/usr/lib/hal/scripts:/usr/bin'
    12:28:26.281 [I] hald_runner.c:184: runner connection is 0x1b0fe10
    
    ** (process:5401): WARNING **: Failed to add monitor on '/etc/hal/fdi/preprobe': No such file or directory
    
    ** (process:5401): WARNING **: Failed to add monitor on '/etc/hal/fdi/information': No such file or directory
    
    ** (process:5401): WARNING **: Failed to add monitor on '/etc/hal/fdi/policy': No such file or directory
    12:28:26.283 [I] mmap_cache.c:126: Regenerating fdi cache..
    Run started hald-generate-fdi-cache (60000) (0) 
    !  full path is '/usr/lib/hal/hald-generate-fdi-cache', program_dir is '/usr/lib/hal'
    12:28:26.285 [E] create_cache.c:551: Cannot scan '/etc/hal/fdi/preprobe': No such file or directory
    12:28:26.285 [E] create_cache.c:709: Error generating fdi cache
    pid 5404: rc=1 signaled=0: /usr/lib/hal/hald-generate-fdi-cache
    12:28:26.285 [I] mmap_cache.c:104: In regen_cache_cb exit_type=0, return_code=1
    12:28:26.285 [E] mmap_cache.c:153: fdi cache regeneration failed!
    12:28:26.285 [I] mmap_cache.c:156: fdi cache generation done
    12:28:26.285 [I] mmap_cache.c:278: cache mtime is 1352035697
    *** [DIE] mmap_cache.c:di_rules_init():70 : Unable to open cache /var/cache/hald/fdi-cache
    After which I verified and its not running either. I think arvidjaar, you probably are correct. Hal might need additional configuration.

    I Hope this logs prove more meaningful to you guys than they are for me.
    OpenSuse 12.2 x64 KDE 4.8.5
    Kernel 3.4.11-2.16-desktop
    Intel core i3 2120
    4GB DDR3 1333MHZ
    Nvidia gtx 560

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •