Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Cups not allowing root

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Harare Zimbabwe
    Posts
    104

    Default Cups not allowing root

    Hi,

    Have installed suse 12.2 and had my canon printer all setup and working perfect and then just recently, it won't print, so went to cups web app and tried to print test page, and it asks for root access, so put my name and password, but will not accept it, just keeps coming back and asking again. what is going on, anyone else having this problem.

    Then another thing that is happening is that the printer is not listed in thunderbird when i want to print something
    Freedom is power, all i have to do is know how to use it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    Am 27.09.2012 10:26, schrieb firestomper412:
    > so put my
    > name and password, but will not accept it, just keeps coming back and
    > asking again. what is going on, anyone else having this problem.

    Do not put your name into it, but use the name root (password is in a
    default install the same as your user password).

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.1 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.2 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

  3. #3

    Default AW: Re: Cups not allowing root

    same here... root/<userpass> works for adding printers and such things but not when try to print the test page for example.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    Am 27.09.2012 10:56, schrieb Heart1010:
    >
    > same here... root/<userpass> works for adding printers and such things
    > but not when try to print the test page for example.
    >
    >

    Since when do you need a root access to print a test page in cups???
    Wait a moment I have to see on my PC what it does.

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.1 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.2 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    Am 27.09.2012 11:05, schrieb Martin Helm:
    > Am 27.09.2012 10:56, schrieb Heart1010:
    >>
    >> same here... root/<userpass> works for adding printers and such things
    >> but not when try to print the test page for example.
    >>
    >>

    > Since when do you need a root access to print a test page in cups???
    > Wait a moment I have to see on my PC what it does.
    >

    Went to localhost:631 -> printers -> choose test page -> print
    No password or other credentials required it just prints a test page on
    the printer
    that's 12.2 with the standard cups it came with

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.1 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.2 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    Am 27.09.2012 11:08, schrieb Martin Helm:
    > Went to localhost:631 -> printers -> choose test page -> print
    > No password or other credentials required it just prints a test page on
    > the printer
    > that's 12.2 with the standard cups it came with
    >

    Just to add if that matters for this case, my user is member of the
    additional groups: sys lp

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.1 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.2 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,840
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    Same here. No issue with printing a test page as a regular user. For CUPS admin tasks that need root access, (such as modifying a printer), CUPS handles the authentication itself. The policies are set by default in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Harare Zimbabwe
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    have no idea why this has happened, but it was working fine when i first installed 12.2. but now just keeps asking for root access when trying to do even test page. have updated kde to 4.9.1, would that have done anything? don't think so.

    will try add myself to additional groups.
    Freedom is power, all i have to do is know how to use it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Harare Zimbabwe
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    ok have tried adding myself to the lp and sys group , but made absolutely not difference, still asking for root access. Even asks me for root access when trying to resume printer.
    Freedom is power, all i have to do is know how to use it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Cups not allowing root

    Am 02.10.2012 11:46, schrieb firestomper412:
    >
    > ok have tried adding myself to the lp and sys group , but made
    > absolutely not difference, still asking for root access. Even asks me
    > for root access when trying to resume printer.
    >
    >

    Did you logout and login again after you added yourself to the groups
    (if not it simply has no effect until you do that).

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.5 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.9.1 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.2 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •