Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Switching from Gnome to KDE

  1. #1

    Default Switching from Gnome to KDE

    Hey Everyone,

    Sorry if this question has already been covered, did a quick search of the forum and couldn't find anything. Anyways, I'm completely new to linux. Just got rid of Windows and have played around with a few distros and decided to stick with openSUSE 12.2. I installed openSUSE 12.2 with the Gnome desktop but I want to switch to KDE. Is there a simple way to do this without downloading the whole OS again and doing a fresh install?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Thessaloniki, Greece
    Posts
    114

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    Go to YaST > Software Management. Click on the view button and select Patterns. Then click on KDE4 Desktop Environment and KDE4 Base System. Finally click accept.

    Once everything is complete, log out and choose KDE plasma for the session

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Thessaloniki, Greece
    Posts
    114

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    You should also note that this will install all of KDE's programs along side Gnome's. So, you'll have both Amarok and Banshee, Dolphin and Nautilus. For a more 'genuine' KDE experience you could try running the KDE live CD (just running, not installing) but keep in mind that it will be slightly slower if you don't install, so don't be quick about getting frustrated with the responsiveness of your system.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    On 09/24/12 14:06, streetpredator pecked at the keyboard and wrote:
    > Hey Everyone,
    >
    > Sorry if this question has already been covered, did a quick search of
    > the forum and couldn't find anything. Anyways, I'm completely new to
    > linux. Just got rid of Windows and have played around with a few distros
    > and decided to stick with openSUSE 12.2. I installed openSUSE 12.2 with
    > the Gnome desktop but I want to switch to KDE. Is there a simple way to
    > do this without downloading the whole OS again and doing a fresh
    > install?
    >
    >

    Absolutely, and welcome to the wonderful world of linux.

    Open up YaST and select Software Management. From there select Patterns
    and select both KDE selections. You will then need to logout and at the
    login screen select KDE as your choice of desktop. You can then learn
    all of nitty gritty of the KDE desktop (I've been using it for over
    eight years).

  5. #5

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    Thanks for the help! So then if I decide I just want kde4 as my only desktop environment is it as easy as unchecking the 2 gnome selections and clicking apply?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    On 2012-09-24 21:06, streetpredator wrote:
    >
    > Thanks for the help! So then if I decide I just want kde4 as my only
    > desktop environment is it as easy as unchecking the 2 gnome selections
    > and clicking apply?


    Notice that the advices given here are for downloading and installing kde without deleting
    gnome. Typically in Linux you can have as many desktops installed as you like. Uninstalling one
    is not that simple, though.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.1 x86_64 "Asparagus" at Telcontar)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    307

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    In other words if you want just kde it would be better to reinstall perhaps from the live kde cd which is a smaller download than the full version. This will mean you have a leaner system without gnome apps you don't need; although you can still install the ones you like (perhaps Gimp). Also you don't have to format your home partition so, for example, your firefox settings and files will be still available. But remember to backup before doing this.... just in case

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,607
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by streetpredator View Post
    Thanks for the help! So then if I decide I just want kde4 as my only desktop environment is it as easy as unchecking the 2 gnome selections and clicking apply?
    Unless you are really tight on disk space, just leave gnome there. It does no harm. When running KDE, you will be running KDE. The worst that will happen, is that maybe tracker will still run in the background, and you will have a few additional choices on your menus.

    Oh, yes, you are probably seeing a login to the GDM screen. Once you have installed KDE, you can easily switch that to the KDM login screen. Ask here when you are ready, or use Yast, "/etc/sysconfig" settings and follow your nose.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;
    testing Leap 15.2Alpha

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    On 2012-09-25 01:46, Penguinclaw wrote:
    >
    > In other words if you want *just* kde it would be better to reinstall
    > perhaps from the live kde cd which is a smaller download than the full
    > version. This will mean you have a leaner system without gnome apps you
    > don't need; although you can still install the ones you like (perhaps
    > Gimp). Also you don't have to format your home partition so, for
    > example, your firefox settings and files will be still available. But
    > remember to backup before doing this.... just in case


    Gimp is not a gnome app (the "g" stands for "gnu") :-)

    Having only gnome or kde doesn't make for a faster system: it just uses less disk space.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.1 x86_64 "Asparagus" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    307

    Default Re: Switching from Gnome to KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2012-09-25 01:46, Penguinclaw wrote:
    >
    > In other words if you want *just* kde it would be better to reinstall
    > perhaps from the live kde cd which is a smaller download than the full
    > version. This will mean you have a leaner system without gnome apps you
    > don't need; although you can still install the ones you like (perhaps
    > Gimp). Also you don't have to format your home partition so, for
    > example, your firefox settings and files will be still available. But
    > remember to backup before doing this.... just in case


    Gimp is not a gnome app (the "g" stands for "gnu") :-)

    Having only gnome or kde doesn't make for a faster system: it just uses less disk space.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 12.1 x86_64 "Asparagus" at Telcontar)
    Yes you're right, momentry lapse of concentration there... Thanks for pointing that out

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •