Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Can I use a debian package?

  1. #1

    Default Can I use a debian package?

    I want to use Leia DS on openSUSE 11.2. Unfortunately this is available only as a debian package or as a .tar.gz file. How can I install this please?
    Budgie2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Can I use a debian package?

    I want to use Leia DS on openSUSE 11.2. Unfortunately this is available only as a debian package or as a .tar.gz file. How can I install this please?
    Budgie2
    Budgie2, as I understand it, we can get a file from a supported repository or from an RPM file or compile from source. The latter option can be more difficult that you might know, but it never hurts to give it a try. I was unable to find a file called "Leia DS" using an RPM search or looking in the openSUSE 1-Click service so installing from source may be your only option. So the problem in such a case is satisfying the required dependencies. Most applications are not stand alone and require the support of other application functions to work. For instance, I might write an application that works with KDE, My KillerApp may use and require common KDE Desktop functions in order to work and would not work if KDE were not installed. However, a KDE application intended for a Debian system might compile on a different system like openSUSE if such a combination existed. Don't forget you often must install the development packages for the general type of application. For instance, again for KDE, there are KDE development packages that can be installed to help compile KDE apps.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,205
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    Hi
    Do you have a link to the web site with the tar.gz file? If it's not using non-oss items to build I can use OBS to build for you.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,079

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    On Sat, 19 Feb 2011 00:06:02 +0000, Budgie2 wrote:

    > I want to use Leia DS on openSUSE 11.2. Unfortunately this is available
    > only as a debian package or as a .tar.gz file. How can I install this
    > please?


    If it's not available as an RPM, then you'll need to install from the tgz
    or use something like alien to convert it to an RPM.

    But it's not likely to be easy, since there would be no dependency
    information, so getting the proper libraries installed will take more
    work.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  5. #5

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    Hi Malcolm,
    Thanks for the offer. If you google "leia ds" you get the author's website which has a good deal of info and this link to the download directory:- Directory listing
    I would like to install initially on my laptop so the i386 version should be correct.
    Of course I would also like to learn how to build the rpm myself but have no idea how long it would take. Perhaps if you have time to help?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Do you have a link to the web site with the tar.gz file? If it's not using non-oss items to build I can use OBS to build for you.
    Malcolm,
    Further to my last post I think I may be off with Kinsky Desktop. This also is available in .deb package or tar.gz but it is no longer in beta whereas leia ds is still beta.
    I suspect the build process is similar and the download is available from linn.co.uk.
    They say I will need mono installed which is available but exactly which of the many mono packages I have no idea. Perhaps you will know.
    Regards,
    Budgie2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,205
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    Hi
    I won't be back home until tomorrow, but have looked at the svn and it shouldn't be too hard to build.

    Will look at after the weekend for you.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    I won't be back home until tomorrow, but have looked at the svn and it shouldn't be too hard to build.

    Will look at after the weekend for you.
    Hi Malcolm and many thanks. If you are able to help, please could you look at the Kinsy desktop first.
    Regards,
    Budgie2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,205
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    Hi
    Am looking today, little sidetracked on some other issues
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,205
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Can I use a debian package?

    Hi
    Making progress, just waiting for the build service to rebuild my nsis package (Factory builds going on, so it's slow at the moment), then hopefully get a build of KinskyDesktop3.3.x_Maintenance from the svn branch.

    I tried from the latest svn main, but there are some issues with it that I can't seem to get around.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •