Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Can't log in

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    106

    Default Can't log in

    Company gave me a notebook, whoohoo! Came with Win7, so first thing I did was install 12.1 and configured it just like I wanted it. Worked really great. Then one night I was playing around with setting for power management to make it run cooler when I noticed it was running really hot (from the exhaust). I immediately ran shut down.

    Now, when I boot I get to the login screen but cannot login as UserName. Every time I try to login under my username it fails. I can login as root, so I did that and reset my username password in YAST, but didn't work. Tried setting a different password, didn't work. Can still login as root anytime.

    How do I get it to let me login as Username?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Can't log in

    Odd. Have you tried creating a dummy user via root to test login under a different username? Also, can you login to username from a console (non-X?)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Default Re: Can't log in

    Quote Originally Posted by BobTheBull View Post
    Company gave me a notebook, whoohoo! Came with Win7, so first thing I did was install 12.1 and configured it just like I wanted it. Worked really great. Then one night I was playing around with setting for power management to make it run cooler when I noticed it was running really hot (from the exhaust). I immediately ran shut down.

    Now, when I boot I get to the login screen but cannot login as UserName. Every time I try to login under my username it fails. I can login as root, so I did that and reset my username password in YAST, but didn't work. Tried setting a different password, didn't work. Can still login as root anytime.

    How do I get it to let me login as Username?
    At the login screen, make sure to select/reselect the (kde or gnome) desktop to be loaded before you login. It might have forgot what you used on the previous try.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: Can't log in

    Have not tried dummy user. Whole point is to see if I can get my user back with all it's settings without reinstall. Same thing happens with console login. Selecting desktop makes no difference, either.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,072

    Default Re: Can't log in

    Dummy user is to see if your config files for your normal user are messed up or if something else. It may or may not act as a solution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: Can't log in

    Dummy login gives this message: call to lnusertemp failed (temporary directories full?). Check your installation.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    16,072

    Default Re: Can't log in

    OK sounds like you filled up root directory.

    Boot to terminal - login as root - type cd /tmp then rm -R *

    to clear tmp

    reboot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: Can't log in

    OK, did that, no change in anything.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Can't log in

    Am 18.08.2012 22:26, schrieb BobTheBull:
    >
    > OK, did that, no change in anything.
    >
    >

    That you cannot login as normal user on the console makes makes me
    suspect that your /home is simply not mounted.
    What is the output from
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    df -h
    ?

    --
    PC: oS 12.2 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.8.5 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.1 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Can't log in

    On 2012-08-18 22:26, BobTheBull wrote:
    >
    > OK, did that, no change in anything.



    Code:
    df -h
    and post it here using code tags.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •