Thread: opensuse suddenly not booting

Default opensuse suddenly not booting

Hi---Opensuse 11.4 on an hp laptop. Suddenly when I turn the thing on all I get is a flashing _ no boot or anything. At first I thought it was a hard drive failure but I did a diagnostic test on the hard drive and it seems to be working fine.

So what should I do from here? I have a really nice photo archive on that laptop that I would like to keep.

I burned an ISO of the latest opensuse 12.1. The DVD booted up no problem...I selected the "Rescue" option...at first I wasn't sure what to do there but eventually typed admin and got to a bash prompt but I have no idea what to do there.

Any assistance would be welcome. I'm a definite linux noob.

Should I just install opensuse 12.1 over the 11.4? Will it keep all my photo archive/users etc?

Thank you in advance!

Blog Entries

Default Re: opensuse suddenly not booting

I would boot the live cd and backup your files first.

You could install 12.1 and keep /home unformatted (assuming you have /home and / on separate partitions)
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Better first try to find out what is wrong all of a sudden before going for something.

When you turn the "thing" on, all you get is flashing. When I do turn my HP desktop on, what I get is an HP splash screen with possibilities to go to the BIOS, or to rescue, etc. Do I understand correct that you do not get that? Then how do you get into booting a CD/DVD?
    Henk van Velden

you are correct-- when the thing is turned on I get the flash screen with options for bios etc. forgot to mention that. that stuff happens first before the flashing _

I did not put /home and / on spearate partitions. Is it possible when installing 12.1 that I could keep the /home on teh one partition and then put 12.1 on a new partition? I'm assuming when you say / that means the OS?

Blog Entries