Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: VMWare Player

  1. #1

    Default VMWare Player

    So on my ultrabook, it's impossible to run Windows and Linux on the same machine (I tried every permutation of dual boot configuration that I can think of). So, I want to emulate Windows using VMWare player.

    My laptop does not have an ethernet port and when I try to install VMWare my installation always fails at 'Virtual ethernet . . . failed'. Is there way I can have VMWare ignore networking during the install?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Quote Originally Posted by mdchaudhari View Post
    So on my ultrabook, it's impossible to run Windows and Linux on the same machine (I tried every permutation of dual boot configuration that I can think of). So, I want to emulate Windows using VMWare player.

    My laptop does not have an ethernet port and when I try to install VMWare my installation always fails at 'Virtual ethernet . . . failed'. Is there way I can have VMWare ignore networking during the install?
    This would be better asked in the virtualization forum. But have you already tried to get your dual boot problem solved in the forums?

  3. #3

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Ok, I wish I could move it over to virtualization instead of creating a new thread there.

    No luck with the dual boot issue. I posted it on the forums, but no response. I've searched all of the web, but nothing helpful has turned up (or maybe I just don't understand it). I even tried other distributions, but still no luck. I've almost given up hope and am planning on sticking to VM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,527
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Quote Originally Posted by mdchaudhari
    Ok, I wish I could move it over to virtualization instead of creating a
    new thread there.

    No luck with the dual boot issue. I posted it on the forums, but no
    response. I've searched all of the web, but nothing helpful has turned
    up (or maybe I just don't understand it). I even tried other
    distributions, but still no luck. I've almost given up hope and am
    planning on sticking to VM.

    Hi
    I would say you don't have the kernel-source, kernel-syms, make and gcc
    installed?

    Please post the exact error within code tags.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.34-0.7-default
    up 8 days 17:06, 2 users, load average: 0.35, 0.40, 0.41
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Am 06.08.2012 22:26, schrieb mdchaudhari:
    > No luck with the dual boot issue. I posted it on the forums, but no
    > response. I've searched all of the web, but nothing helpful has turned
    > up (or maybe I just don't understand it). I even tried other
    > distributions, but still no luck. I've almost given up hope and am
    > planning on sticking to VM.
    >
    >

    I had not seen your previous thread but if all what is stopping you from
    using 12.1 is the 3.1 kernel you can without much problems install
    kernel 3.5 on a 12.1 system (I run it on my ThinkPad).

    I cannot help you with VMware Player on Windows as Host system and can
    only throw in the idea to give VirtualBox on Windows a try if that works
    better for you without an ethernet port, you could quickly find out if
    that works
    https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

    --
    PC: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.8.4 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.1 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Am 06.08.2012 22:39, schrieb Martin Helm:
    > I cannot help you with VMware Player on Windows as Host system and can
    > only throw in the idea to give VirtualBox on Windows a try if that works
    > better for you without an ethernet port, you could quickly find out if
    > that works
    > https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads
    >

    Forget that part, sorry I read it exactly the wrong way, your host is
    linux so follow malcolmlewis advise.

    --
    PC: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.8.4 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.1 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10

  7. #7

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    I would say you don't have the kernel-source, kernel-syms, make and gcc
    installed?

    Please post the exact error within code tags.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.34-0.7-default
    up 8 days 17:06, 2 users, load average: 0.35, 0.40, 0.41
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU
    I do have all the kernel-source, make, gcc, etc installed. I'll post the exact error when I get home tonight.

    As far as 12.1 is concerned, yes bootloader and an old kernel was a big reason why I went ahead and used 12.2. I know I can update to the latest kernel, but I'm 99% sure the installation will still screw up my UEFI setup.

    I also plan on giving virtualbox a try. I think the main issue is that VMWare expects me to have an ethernet port for network setup and I don't have one so it spits out an error. For example, it may be searching for eth0, but since I physically don't have it, installation will always fail. Hopefully there is a mode or setting that I can change to ignore network connectivity. Or maybe virtualbox doesn't require this stuff and it's a lot more easier.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,527
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Quote Originally Posted by mdchaudhari
    malcolmlewis;2478697 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > I would say you don't have the kernel-source, kernel-syms, make and
    > gcc installed?
    >
    > Please post the exact error within code tags.
    >
    > --
    > Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    > SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.34-0.7-default
    > up 8 days 17:06, 2 users, load average: 0.35, 0.40, 0.41
    > CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


    I do have all the kernel-source, make, gcc, etc installed. I'll post
    the exact error when I get home tonight.

    As far as 12.1 is concerned, yes bootloader and an old kernel was a big
    reason why I went ahead and used 12.2. I know I can update to the latest
    kernel, but I'm 99% sure the installation will still screw up my UEFI
    setup.

    I also plan on giving virtualbox a try. I think the main issue is that
    VMWare expects me to have an ethernet port for network setup and I don't
    have one so it spits out an error. For example, it may be searching for
    eth0, but since I physically don't have it, installation will always
    fail. Hopefully there is a mode or setting that I can change to ignore
    network connectivity. Or maybe virtualbox doesn't require this stuff and
    it's a lot more easier.

    Hi
    I'm running UEFI boot here, though I only boot SLE and openSUSE, if
    dual booting windows it will install in /boot/efi (just ensure you
    don't format it).

    On a side note, what cpu is in this system, the reason I ask is it may
    be easier to use kvm if the cpu supports virtualization.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.34-0.7-default
    up 8 days 21:47, 2 users, load average: 0.58, 0.47, 0.44
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


  9. #9

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    I'm running UEFI boot here, though I only boot SLE and openSUSE, if
    dual booting windows it will install in /boot/efi (just ensure you
    don't format it).

    On a side note, what cpu is in this system, the reason I ask is it may
    be easier to use kvm if the cpu supports virtualization.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.34-0.7-default
    up 8 days 21:47, 2 users, load average: 0.58, 0.47, 0.44
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU
    I hope I don't get too sidetracked here, but since you have some UEFI experience, maybe you can help me out. I have a laptop model with iSSD on /dev/sdb. This is a huge problem because it confuses Linux installers into thinking Windows resides there, etc. So, if I install Windows first and Linux after, I think Linux ends up modifying the Windows EFI partition because after adding the right entry into GRUB2, I can't boot into Windows. If I install Linux first, Linux creates an EFI partition (regardless of whether I choose bootloader or not), and Windows says it can't install because something is installed to the MBR. This forces me to wipe Linux.

    Now, as far as virtualization, I am using Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3317U CPU @ 1.70GHz. It's a ULV processor.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,527
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: VMWare Player

    Quote Originally Posted by mdchaudhari
    malcolmlewis;2478735 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > I'm running UEFI boot here, though I only boot SLE and openSUSE, if
    > dual booting windows it will install in /boot/efi (just ensure you
    > don't format it).
    >
    > On a side note, what cpu is in this system, the reason I ask is it may
    > be easier to use kvm if the cpu supports virtualization.
    >


    I hope I don't get too sidetracked here, but since you have some UEFI
    experience, maybe you can help me out. I have a laptop model with iSSD
    on /dev/sdb. This is a huge problem because it confuses Linux installers
    into thinking Windows resides there, etc. So, if I install Windows first
    and Linux after, I think Linux ends up modifying the Windows EFI
    partition because after adding the right entry into GRUB2, I can't boot
    into Windows. If I install Linux first, Linux creates an EFI partition
    (regardless of whether I choose bootloader or not), and Windows says it
    can't install because something is installed to the MBR. This forces me
    to wipe Linux.

    Now, as far as virtualization, I am using Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3317U
    CPU @ 1.70GHz. It's a ULV processor.

    Hi
    That cpu supports VT-x (Check your BIOS to see it's enabled), so you
    could looks at running that as an alternative. By far virtualbox is
    easier these days although I do use vmware player on the desktop as
    it's just a X2 4400+ cpu.

    I would start a new thread on UEFI, forum user please_try_again has
    written an article here;
    http://forums.opensuse.org/content/1...dual-boot.html

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.34-0.7-default
    up 9 days 1:17, 3 users, load average: 0.29, 0.39, 0.46
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •