Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: My experience with RC1 to date

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    where I am is where I am
    Posts
    1,160

    Default My experience with RC1 to date

    Well I finally put RC1 on my 64bit PC & here's how things went for me:
    1. Install had no problems whatsoever even used used images for both runs. This was so whether it was an install with /home left on the HDD or with a cleaned HDD.
    2. I installed my printer at the automatic configuration both ways no problems, only had to open Yast to make it Default after install.
    3. KDE 4.8.4 was much the same the ~/.kde4 profile from my /home all scripts in all the config files fine. Resetting them up in the clean install no problems there.
    4.For both ways I just c&p my Fx profile no probs. In the install with my/home Tb had a little problem with incompatibility of an addon from my 12.1 which had Tb14. In 12.2 it came with Tb13. By the time I did the clean one an update had been done to Tb 14 no addon incompatibility problems there or any other sort.
    5. Using Nvidia I found that nomodeset is unnecessary the only problem here was that the screen that comes up after the Grub screen but before the login screen, you know the one with Geeko & the circles(can somebody please tell what the name for that screen is?) for me anyway had lines allover it. I found that for the time I used the nouveau driver it did well, I just couldn’t set my screen res with it. Installation of the Nvidia drivers, thanks to James' LNVHW bash script quick & easy. That screen has Geeko & her circles after Nvidia driver installation. Once the drivers are in the only problem I have is no Track Mouse or Wobbly Windows, I'll live.
    6. Mulitmedia & restricted formats I got from Carl's list for 12.1 in the Multi-media and Restricted Format Insatllation How to. To install them I did this the long way using Yast with the Packman 12.2 repos you can get them from here:
    Index of /suse/12.2/
    It was necessary to mod his list a bit to install both the 52 & 54 versions of libavcodecs,libavformat, & libavdevice. Some Packman apps have problems if both aren't there. Some have problems even with both for those that do under 12.2 contact Packman they want to know.
    I have had no problems with VLC, smplayer(packman's) amarok, kaffeine(Suse).
    All in all unless there's any severe regressions 12.2 is IMO good to go but do keep testing we gotta make sure those bugs is stomped!
    We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts.
    With our thoughts we make the world.

    My 64 bit: Gateway 5670 UPDATED | RADEON RX 570 |CPU AMD - Ryzen 5 1600
    Opensuse Tumbleweed Plasma 5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago suburbs
    Posts
    12,006
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    Quote Originally Posted by Sagemta View Post
    All in all unless there's any severe regressions 12.2 is IMO good to go but do keep testing we gotta make sure those bugs is stomped!
    Yes, I have had a similar impression. RC1 has been doing very well here.
    openSUSE Leap 15.1; KDE Plasma 5;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,252

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    5. Using Nvidia I found that nomodeset is unnecessary the only problem here was that the screen that comes up after the Grub screen but before the login screen, you know the one with Geeko & the circles(can somebody please tell what the name for that screen is?) for me anyway had lines allover it. I found that for the time I used the nouveau driver it did well, I just couldn’t set my screen res with it. Installation of the Nvidia drivers, thanks to James' LNVHW bash script quick & easy. That screen has Geeko & her circles after Nvidia driver installation. Once the drivers are in the only problem I have is no Track Mouse or Wobbly Windows, I'll live.
    By default the compositing type is set to XRender

    How to enable OpenGL Effects

    Navigate to Configure Desktop -->Desktop Effects-->Advanced tab-->Compositing type. Click on the up/down arrow to the right of "XRender" and select "OpenGL".
    Click on the Apply button and select "Accept Configuration".
    My Linux Box
    OS:
    openSUSE 42.3 - Plasma 5.8.7
    OS:
    Tumbleweed Plasma 5.15.4
    ASUS P5Q | Intel Quad 6600 @3.02 GHz | 8GB G.SKILL RAM | Nvidia GeForce 750 Ti

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    I would like to add that on top of all that was said, it seems like openSUSE 12.2 starts up faster into KDE than does openSUSE 12.1. I am not sure if its a better setup with systemd, newer mesa or openGL or newer xorg. I do use the nVIDIA driver as always, but the startup is just much faster and it would be nice to emulate that in 12.1, but I am not sure what to emulate. One must be careful doing any updates with xorg in openSUSE 12.1 as you are liable to end up with files loaded for Intel graphic hardware you do not have. Don't ask me how I know that but upside down and backwards images on your monitor are hard to overcome, even with a mirror.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    488

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    @Sagemta,

    Sounds good. Our experiences with it have also been good ... except for the time. Do -or- did, you have an offset in the time shown in the TaskBar??? IF you are showing the time. It seems that there is an error in the setup IF you pick Local Time instead of UTC Time. Just curious cause of your great success otherwise. We too believe that this is ready to go. (We think that there is a fix for it already.)

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    where I am is where I am
    Posts
    1,160

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    @ Romanator,
    Thanks for the How to as well as the why is. I got my wobbly windows & most importantly my mouse tracker!

    @chucktr,
    I haven't had any problems with the Time since 11.4 here's what I’ve done for the time since since then
    1. Open Yast go to Date and Time
    2. When the screen with the map comes up I leave the UTC box checked
    3.I then click the Change button at the lower right
    4.When the next screen comes up you'll have a choice between Manually & Synchronize with NTP Server Pick the Synchronize
    5.Select yourself a time server from the drop down menu ( in my case I picked ntp2.usno.navy.mil ) then click Configure
    6. On that screen you'll see Synchronize without Daemon if it's checked fine if not check it
    7. In the Synchronization Type you'll see Undisciplined clock or something like that select it click Delete confirm it click OK then click Accept on the next screen
    Done!
    I've done this after every new install since 11.4
    As said I've had no problems with time on my PC since.
    We are what we think.
    All that we are arises with our thoughts.
    With our thoughts we make the world.

    My 64 bit: Gateway 5670 UPDATED | RADEON RX 570 |CPU AMD - Ryzen 5 1600
    Opensuse Tumbleweed Plasma 5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    488

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    @Sagemta,

    Hmmmmm... seems like a lot to go thru to setup the clock... -but- we thin you missed what we said. We are using LOCAL Time. Our problem was/is that the /etc/adjtime was NOT changing. It is the default of UTC, which is what you selected, but we wanted Local and selected that during the install. This is a new file in 12.2 and something in the setup got missed. We just edited the file and changed UTC to LOCAL and our time is working fine. Just thought that since you had installed after us, you might have gotten a newer version and the problem was fixed. -But- you are not using Local time ... so the point is mute.

    Thanks and have a good day,
    Chuck
    Box: Intel Core i7-4790 3.6Ghz | AMD Radeon R7 240 | 32GB RAM | openSuSE Leap 15/ KDE Plasma 5.12.6

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,252

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    It looks like openSUSE is going to have the Desktop Effects set to XRender by default for the nouveau driver.
    My Linux Box
    OS:
    openSUSE 42.3 - Plasma 5.8.7
    OS:
    Tumbleweed Plasma 5.15.4
    ASUS P5Q | Intel Quad 6600 @3.02 GHz | 8GB G.SKILL RAM | Nvidia GeForce 750 Ti

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    Quote Originally Posted by Romanator View Post
    It looks like openSUSE is going to have the Desktop Effects set to XRender by default for the nouveau driver.
    So I did notice that the nouveau driver was working better than before, but I did not realize that the Desktop Effects was set to XRender which I supposed was the reason that it seemed to work better and even with 3D support active. Screen blanking though was odd anytime it occurred with lots of artifacts on the screen for some reason. In the end though, I just went the direction of the proprietary nVIDIA video driver which does work fine with XRender, but I have since switched to using openGL. Interestingly, however, my openGL screen savers were not working until I switched desktop effects to openGL, but not sure of the connection there.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: My experience with RC1 to date

    On 2012-07-30 18:46, chucktr wrote:
    >
    > @Sagemta,
    >
    > Hmmmmm... seems like a lot to go thru to setup the clock... -but- we
    > thin you missed what we said. We are using *LOCAL* Time. Our problem
    > was/is that the */etc/adjtime* was NOT changing. It is the default of
    > *UTC*, which is what you selected, but we wanted Local and selected that
    > during the install. This is a new file in 12.2 and something in the
    > setup got missed. We just edited the file and changed UTC to LOCAL and
    > our time is working fine.


    That's Bug 764690

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •