Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Photoshop cs5 and 6

  1. #1

    Default Photoshop cs5 and 6

    Kinda new to the suse world, but we're moving our windows servers and workstations over to linux but there's namely 1 app that we need to use and it's Photoshop(please don't reply if you're going to recommend gimp) we recently purchased CS6 and we know some of the brush strokes aren't perfect but we don't use the brushes that often and are okay with some bugs.

    I've seen videos on youtube with suse and cs6 so I know it can be installed on suse problem is it was probably the 32bit version and our systems are 64bit.

    specs:
    Intel Xeon E5 2470 hexacore
    24gb ddr3 ram
    nvidia geforce gtx 680

    any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,864

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    You forgot in your specs which openSUSE version you use. And it may also be of interest which desktop.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    dd@home.dk NNTP User

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    On 07/03/2012 11:16 AM, Rukiri wrote:
    > (please don't reply if you're going to recommend gimp)


    what operating system and version are you using?

    SUSE Linux Enterprise Server or openSUSE

    and, by the way: GIMP!

    --
    dd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    On 2012-07-03 11:16, Rukiri wrote:

    > I've seen videos on youtube with suse and cs6 so I know it can be
    > installed on suse problem is it was probably the 32bit version and our
    > systems are 64bit.


    There are only two methods to run a Windows application in Linux: wine
    (Wine Is Not an Emulator), or virtualization. You choose your poison :-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    Am 03.07.2012 13:38, schrieb Carlos E. R.:
    > There are only two methods to run a Windows application in Linux: wine
    > (Wine Is Not an Emulator), or virtualization. You choose your poison :-)
    >

    Virtualbox has this nice feature that you can run it in seamless mode so
    that the windows application behaves almost as if it is really running
    on the linux desktop. I used that for some time when I had to use
    outlook (which simply does not work with wine) for exchange calendar and
    exchange tasks.

    --
    PC: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.8.4 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.1 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10



  6. #6

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    Rukiri wrote:
    > I've seen videos on youtube with suse and cs6 so I know it can be
    > installed on suse problem is it was probably the 32bit version and our
    > systems are 64bit.


    That's not a problem. 64-bit systems run 32-bit applications perfectly well.

    Carlos wrote:
    > There are only two methods to run a Windows application in Linux: wine
    > (Wine Is Not an Emulator)


    Details on installing and configuring wine are at
    http://en.opensuse.org/Wine

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    On 2012-07-03 14:25, Martin Helm wrote:

    > Virtualbox has this nice feature that you can run it in seamless mode so
    > that the windows application behaves almost as if it is really running
    > on the linux desktop. I used that for some time when I had to use
    > outlook (which simply does not work with wine) for exchange calendar and
    > exchange tasks.


    vmware has it too. I have not tried.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    Am 03.07.2012 14:38, schrieb Carlos E. R.:
    > vmware has it too. I have not tried.
    >

    I have not found it in vmware player (the gratis version), probably it
    is only in the payed versions (vmware workstation)?

    --
    PC: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.8.4 | GeForce GT 420
    ThinkPad E320: oS 12.1 x86_64 | i3@2.30GHz | 8GB | KDE 4.8.4 | HD 3000
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.1 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    On 2012-07-03 15:08, Martin Helm wrote:
    > Am 03.07.2012 14:38, schrieb Carlos E. R.:
    >> vmware has it too. I have not tried.
    >>

    > I have not found it in vmware player (the gratis version), probably it
    > is only in the payed versions (vmware workstation)?


    No no, player version. I can not try it now and tell the exact name because
    it would taint the kernel and I'm running some tests.


    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,513
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Photoshop cs5 and 6

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Howorth
    Rukiri wrote:
    > I've seen videos on youtube with suse and cs6 so I know it can be
    > installed on suse problem is it was probably the 32bit version and our
    > systems are 64bit.


    That's not a problem. 64-bit systems run 32-bit applications perfectly
    well.

    Carlos wrote:
    > There are only two methods to run a Windows application in Linux: wine
    > (Wine Is Not an Emulator)


    Details on installing and configuring wine are at
    http://en.opensuse.org/Wine
    Hi
    You could also try the trial version of crossover office as it may have
    better support.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.34-0.7-default
    up 1 day 21:03, 3 users, load average: 0.07, 0.28, 0.36
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •