Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    openSuse 21.1 64 bit, using KDE, firefox 12.0 ATI video card.

    I installed the latest Flash player using Yast online update and began problems.

    Using Yast, I uninstalled flash player, and the kde and gnome plugins and then installed version 11.2.202.233-15.1
    From that point on, Firefox would not recognize the plugin as being available. I've tried different versions and none will be recognized, even the latest version. Under Tools->Add-ons->Plugins, I can see the plugin listed but, if I go to a page with flash content, I get a message stating the plugin is missing.

    I tried using the button in firefox, on the top of a web page that states there are missing plugins and it wants to install a quite old version and will not find the plugins. Seems to be using some 1-click script that is way out of date.

    Using Yast, I did an update of firefox without correcting my problem.

    I can't seem to find a configuration file where, I'm guessing, an entry would point to the plugins. I don't know, I'm shooting in the dark here.

    I've seen threads where others have reverted the version and no followup about it not working. I suppose I should not have removed the old versions, only downgraded.

    How can I get firefox to re-configure the plugins? According to Yast, I now have to latest versions 11.2.202.235-21.1 installed.

    If I can get firefox to recognize the plugin, I'll try shutting off hardware acceleration. If that doesn't work I'll downgrade one version. I hope.... I'll try....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    montana suse user wrote:

    > I now have to latest versions 11.2.202.235-21.1 installed.
    >


    Good

    Does it show in
    aboutlugins

    The HWAccel issue is not related

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    montana suse user wrote:

    > I now have to latest versions 11.2.202.235-21.1 installed.
    >


    Good

    Does it show in
    aboutlugins

    The HWAccel issue is not related
    Yes, although it is shown as 11.2 r202 I thought it might be wrong, so I removed flash using Yast and it was no longer there. When I again installed flash, it was back. Firefox will still not recognize it though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    montana suse user wrote:

    >
    > caf4926;2466167 Wrote:
    >> montana suse user wrote:
    >>
    >> > I now have to latest versions 11.2.202.235-21.1 installed.
    >> >

    >>
    >> Good
    >>
    >> Does it show in
    >> aboutlugins
    >>
    >> The HWAccel issue is not related

    >
    > Yes, although it is shown as 11.2 r202 I thought it might be wrong, so
    > I removed flash using Yast and it was no longer there. When I again
    > installed flash, it was back. Firefox will still not recognize it
    > though.
    > --
    >
    >
    > --
    > montana_suse_user
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > montana_suse_user's Profile:
    > http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=17730 View this thread:
    > http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=475696


    You can actually drop a copy of libflashplayer.so in to
    ..mozilla/plugins/
    Which will work

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    You can actually drop a copy of libflashplayer.so in to
    ..mozilla/plugins/
    Which will work
    I found libflashplayer.so in /usr/lib64/browser-plugins/
    There is a .mozilla directory in ~ but there was no plugins directory. So I created one and placed a copy of libflashplayer.so in it.
    Firefox still says I don't have the correct plugins available.

    The web site I'm using as a test is Fun Day at the Boat Launch

    This site has a Youtube file there that will not play in Firefox although it will play in Konqueror and it will play in Opera.

    Did I misinterpret your post? The .. before mozilla I assumed was meant to be ~/.mozilla.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    montana suse user wrote:

    > Did I misinterpret your post? The .. before mozilla I assumed was
    > meant to be ~/.mozilla.


    You are correct
    That is the hidden folder in your user /home
    That file plays for me

    Rename .mozilla to .mozilla-backup

    Start firefox again and try
    Later you can restore the backup folder if it still doesn't work.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    So now it works! Thank you!

    There are a TON of files in the old .mozilla directory. I probably should not try to move them one by one. I'll let firefox rebuild itself as it needs to.

    I have though, lost my rather extensive list of bookmarks. I think the best way to get them back would be to rename the .mozilla directorieS and do a backup to somewhere, then change the directory names again and import the backups.

    I also lost the add-ons. I think I would be better foo making a list of them and adding them from the firefox website, right?

    I use Ghostry or Do-Not-Track (can't decide which I like better.) and of course Ad-Block. Do you know of any conflicts with any of these?

    Thanks again!

    Oh. Is there a way for me to change the thread title to show SOLVED?

    Bart

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized (SOLVED)

    I'm back up and working correctly. Thanks much for your efforts.

    Bart

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    montana suse user wrote:

    > lost my rather extensive list of bookmarks


    Go back to the old .mozilla
    Open firefox and > Bookmarks > All Bookmarks > Import and Backup > Backup

    Save the .json file

    Start a new .mozilla
    Import the .json

    All will be good but without all your crud

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Flash plugin for firefox not recognized

    On 2012-06-01 13:09, caf4926 wrote:
    > montana suse user wrote:
    >
    >> lost my rather extensive list of bookmarks

    >
    > Go back to the old .mozilla
    > Open firefox and > Bookmarks > All Bookmarks > Import and Backup > Backup
    >
    > Save the .json file
    >
    > Start a new .mozilla
    > Import the .json


    Interesting.


    Just in case, it is possible to have two mozilla profiles for the same
    user, and choose which one to start with.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •