Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Massive load on pc?

  1. #1

    Default Massive load on pc?

    Hi
    Me just running normal services on 3.1.10-1.9-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Apr 5 18:48:38 UTC 2012 (4a97ec8) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

    if start amarok load goes to 5+. When just run normal httpd,dhcpd etc load usually near to 0. Pc i7 running@3400. too slow to handle music? 16gb ram


    Anyone have any ideas? Temperatures on mobo/cpu quite high. Do I need faster pc or some other app to use for music?

    -antsu

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,050

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    On Tue, 15 May 2012 03:16:02 +0000, antsu1 wrote:

    > Hi Me just running normal services on 3.1.10-1.9-desktop #1 SMP PREEMPT
    > Thu Apr 5 18:48:38 UTC 2012 (4a97ec8) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    >
    > if start amarok load goes to 5+. When just run normal httpd,dhcpd etc
    > load usually near to 0. Pc i7 running@3400. too slow to handle music?
    > 16gb ram
    >
    >
    > Anyone have any ideas? Temperatures on mobo/cpu quite high. Do I need
    > faster pc or some other app to use for music?


    Try running htop (you may need to install it) to see what's sucking on
    the CPU - if the temp is up, then the CPU is probably being driven hard.

    But load ties more to I/O than CPU speed/performance, so tell us a little
    bit about the disk channel in the system.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    close amarok
    I'd try deleting all the amarok config files:

    .kde4/share/config/amarok-appletsrc
    .kde4/share/config/amarok_homerc
    .kde4/share/config/amarokrc

    folder: .kde4/share/apps/amarok/

    start amarok
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,789
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    close amarok
    I'd try deleting all the amarok config files:

    .kde4/share/config/amarok-appletsrc
    .kde4/share/config/amarok_homerc
    .kde4/share/config/amarokrc

    folder: .kde4/share/apps/amarok/

    start amarok
    That would be my suggestion too. In one terminal command (after completely closing amarok, i.e. also from system tray):
    Code:
    rm ~/.kde4/share/config/amarok* && rm -rf ~/.kde4/share/apps/amarok/
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  5. #5

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    tnx all

    Now all seems back to normal.

    top - 03:28:02 up 1 day, 23:12, 3 users, load average: 0.34, 0.36, 0.31
    Tasks: 224 total, 2 running, 221 sleeping, 0 stopped, 1 zombie
    Cpu(s): 2.4%us, 0.9%sy, 0.0%ni, 96.8%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 16057M total, 10628M used, 5428M free, 409M buffers
    Swap: 6156M total, 1M used, 6155M free, 8124M cached


    -antsu

  6. #6

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    Just wondering as I run my raid-5 pack via 3ware pcix controller on pci. Could that be one reason? I do know its kinda slowish on normal pci, but. I rebuilt also whole raid and took almost 24 hrs. I have OS on ssd for reason. Data on raid.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    I can't really say. As I don't use it and couldn't see any reason to in a normal home office situation.
    You'd have to have a pretty unique situation to warrant such a setup.
    RAID does seem to cause issues though, more typically at install and with grub setup.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    On Wed, 16 May 2012 11:16:02 +0530, caf4926
    <caf4926@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > I can't really say. As I don't use it and couldn't see any reason to in
    > a normal home office situation.
    > You'd have to have a pretty unique situation to warrant such a setup.
    > RAID does seem to cause issues though, more typically at install and
    > with grub setup.
    >


    when i had a question about using RAID, i asked at the mailing list
    (opensuse@opensuse.org) and a very intersting and enlightening discussion
    ensued. several of the members there have extensive experience with RAID,
    LVM, and other complicated setups. perhaps you should ask there?

    --
    phani.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    On 2012-05-16 06:56, antsu1 wrote:
    >
    > Just wondering as I run my raid-5 pack via 3ware pcix controller on pci.
    > Could that be one reason? I do know its kinda slowish on normal pci,
    > but. I rebuilt also whole raid and took almost 24 hrs. I have OS on ssd
    > for reason. Data on raid.


    I thought that you said your load problem had subsided. :-?

    Amarok is known to cause high load for some users. In my machine it pushes
    one core to 100% (unending) after a while.

    Rebuilding a raid might push the load up if the hardware raid is not really
    hardware raid, but some type of fake raid, as is common in motherboards.

    If you experience high load you have to use tools like top or htop to see
    what process is using more the cpu.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,050

    Default Re: Massive load on pc?

    On Wed, 16 May 2012 11:03:07 +0000, Carlos E. R. wrote:

    > Rebuilding a raid might push the load up if the hardware raid is not
    > really hardware raid, but some type of fake raid, as is common in
    > motherboards.


    Well, and even if it's completely in hardware, rebuilding the parity will
    take some of the disk channel, which will affect await and bandwidth/
    throughput on the entire array's channel.

    Jim

    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •