Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ./ configure doesnt work!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    42

    Default ./ configure doesnt work!

    Hi

    When I type ./configure into the shell its not recognised. Same for the make command. Why is that?

    Im trying to install a program I unzipped it fine. I realised since theres already a makefile I dont need to ./configure but surely it should exist as a command as well as make.

    Whats the problem?

    Im running 12.1 with xfce.


    xxxx/src/c2ctl> ./configure
    bash: ./configure: No such file or directory
    xxxx/src/c2ctl> make
    If 'make' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
    cnf make

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    On 2012-04-29 00:16, lkzp wrote:

    > Im trying to install a program I unzipped it fine. I realised since
    > theres already a makefile I dont need to ./configure but surely it
    > should exist as a command


    No, it should not. If the zip you downloaded did not create it, then it
    does not exist.

    > as well as make.


    Have you installed make?

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    Quote Originally Posted by lkzp View Post
    Hi

    When I type ./configure into the shell its not recognised. Same for the make command. Why is that?

    Im trying to install a program I unzipped it fine. I realised since theres already a makefile I dont need to ./configure but surely it should exist as a command as well as make.

    Whats the problem?

    Im running 12.1 with xfce.


    xxxx/src/c2ctl> ./configure
    bash: ./configure: No such file or directory
    xxxx/src/c2ctl> make
    If 'make' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
    cnf make

    Cheers.
    "./" is a reference to the current directory. If there is no configure file in that directory, bash will return the error you see.

    Do you have the base development packages installed? make is included in these.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,713
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    When I type ./configure into the shell its not recognised. Same for the make command. Why is that?
    You must be in the directory where the 'configure' script is located. For the make command to be available, you need the 'make' package installed first. In fact, you may need other development packages installed as well before being able to compile software.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,079

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    On Sat, 28 Apr 2012 22:16:02 +0000, lkzp wrote:

    > Hi
    >
    > When I type ./configure into the shell its not recognised. Same for the
    > make command. Why is that?


    In addition to the other comments, I note in the subject you wrote "./
    configure" - there should /not/ be a space in this.

    Jim





    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  6. #6

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    Those, always have readme file that will tell you how to compile
    Or did the appropriate apps/packages to run the compiler were installed?
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,079

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    On Sat, 28 Apr 2012 23:56:02 +0000, conram wrote:

    > Or did the appropriate apps to run configure were installed?


    When you download source code to compile, you have to install the
    prerequisites yourself.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    ok cheers for the replies I have now installed the make command.

    How do I use it?


    ~/src/c2ctl> make
    make: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    /src/c2ctl> make makefile
    make: *** No rule to make target `makefile'. Stop.
    ~/src/c2ctl>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,239
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: ./ configure doesnt work!

    Quote Originally Posted by lkzp
    ok cheers for the replies I have now installed the make command.

    How do I use it?


    ~/src/c2ctl> make
    make: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    /src/c2ctl> make makefile
    make: *** No rule to make target `makefile'. Stop.
    ~/src/c2ctl>

    Hi
    Is this what you downloaded?
    http://www.ztex.de/misc/c2ctl.tar.bz2

    There is already a static binary built you need to be root user;
    Code:
    # ./c2ctl 0
    CPU0
    Current  Target    Min.    Max.
    FID:        0       0       0       0
    VID:       11       9       0       0
    ESIT_ENABLE = TRUE    ESIT_LOCK = FALSE
    The only thing that needs to be run is make install, but I would just
    copy the file into /usr/sbin

    You need fpc from devel:languagesascal if your wanting to compile....
    See the readme.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.10-1.9-desktop
    up 11:26, 4 users, load average: 0.03, 0.04, 0.05
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •