Weird stuff with Java and Sun JDK 7

Hi, I’m a Java developer and new (almost 100% satisfied) OpenSuse user.

I’m using the latest version of Eclipse Indigo (Indigo Service Release 2) and the latest Sun JDK 7 (u3). Everything works perfectly except when I try to run my java projects : it takes more than one minute to launch the app when I takes only 3 seconds to launch to same apps on Windows under the same conditions (same Eclipse IDE and JDK).

I didn’t post this thread in the Programming forum because it doesn’t seem to be an Eclipse specific issue. First of all, because it happens when I try to run other applications like JDownloader with openJDK 6 or Sun JDK 7. Secondly, if I do a use update-alternatives --config java to set the default JVM to Sun JDK 7 and then try to run my .jar with the console, I have the same problem.

It is very weird issue : all the java applications (my apps and third party applications) seems to freeze two times during 30 seconds in a specific section or the code. They seem to be all related to the interface. For instance, setting the look and feel, setting the font of a tabbed pane or selecting and index in a comboBox. BUT, if you deactivate the section of the code that seems to slow the apps, it will freeze again 30 seconds in another part of a code !!! You can do that several times but it will always take 60 seconds to launch the program !!!

I really drives me crazy :Plol!:’(. As I said, these apps run perfectly well on Windows under the same conditions (IDE, JDK). I’m starting to think that I’m doomed to use Windows as dual-boot during all my life just because of trivial problems.

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Disclaimer: You’re undoubtedly better at Java than I am, so if I ask
something stupid please forgive me.

Have you tried a ‘Hello World’ Java app, something that is just using
System.out.println() essentially? Maybe then a GUI/X11 version of the