Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, must reboot. 12.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    211

    Angry Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, must reboot. 12.1

    Suspending or hibernating makes my wifi totally unavailable without rebooting. Tried a couple tricks that don't work. Otherwise it works beautifully. Kind of a big issue on a laptop though. I posted this issue on the 11.4 32 bit install, but decided to move up to 12.1 with Gnome 3.

    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:8189 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187B Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps Network Adapter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, mustreboot. 12.1

    On 04/03/2012 11:06 PM, Shadowolf7 wrote:
    >
    > Suspending or hibernating makes my wifi totally unavailable without
    > rebooting. Tried a couple tricks that don't work. Otherwise it works
    > beautifully. Kind of a big issue on a laptop though. I posted this issue
    > on the 11.4 32 bit install, but decided to move up to 12.1 with Gnome
    > 3.
    >
    > Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:8189 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8187B
    > Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps Network Adapter


    As root, you need to create a file named /etc/pm/sleep.d/66_rtl8187 that
    contains the following:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    case $1 in
    hibernate)
    echo "Suspending to disk!"
    /sbin/modprobe -r rtl8187
    ;;
    suspend)
    echo "Suspending to RAM!"
    /sbin/modprobe -r rtl8187
    ;;
    thaw)
    echo "Resuming from disk..."
    /sbin/modprobe rtl8187
    ;;
    resume)
    echo "Resuming from RAM..."
    /sbin/modprobe rtl8187
    ;;
    *)  echo "somebody is calling me totally wrong."
    ;;
    esac
    After the file has been created, then 'chmod a+x /etc/pm/sleep.d/66_rtl8187'.

    Once the procedure has been tested, you could remove the echo statements that
    precede the modprobe lines if you want to make it quieter.

    I cannot guarantee that this will fix your suspend/resume problems, but it will
    remove rtl8187 from the equation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    211

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, mustreboot. 12.1

    Ok. I have done it and will try suspending.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    211

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, must reboot. 12.1

    You rock! That worked perfectly! YAY!

    Though we fixed it, from what I gather it shouldn't be acting that way. Should I file a bug report?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, mustreboot. 12.1

    On 04/05/2012 01:06 PM, Shadowolf7 wrote:
    >
    > You rock! That worked perfectly! YAY!
    >
    > Though we fixed it, from what I gather it shouldn't be acting that way.
    > Should I file a bug report?


    You may if you wish; however, I will not be able to fix it as my system will not
    suspend.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    211

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, mustreboot. 12.1

    Well, I don't even really understand this issue but want to make sure somebody can work on it. Any suggestions?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, mustreboot. 12.1

    On 04/05/2012 10:46 PM, Shadowolf7 wrote:
    >
    > Well, I don't even really understand this issue but want to make sure
    > somebody can work on it. Any suggestions?


    The command 'modinfo rtl8187' shows 5 authors for this driver. Of those, I am
    the only one still active, thus I would probably be the one to fix such problems.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, Ca.
    Posts
    211

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, mustreboot. 12.1

    O! I would never have guessed. I'd be happy to work with you as I can to debug it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Realtek Wireless RTL8187B is unavailable after suspending, mustreboot. 12.1

    On 04/06/2012 08:06 PM, Shadowolf7 wrote:
    >
    > O! I would never have guessed. I'd be happy to work with you as I can to
    > debug it.


    Unfortunately, my experiences with this kind of remote debugging have never been
    very successful. I guess I need to fix whatever is wrong so that my box can
    suspend, and then debug rtl8187. I'll add that to my TODO list.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •