Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: defects in the chromium

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    88

    Default defects in the chromium

    defects in chromium
    error appears in the tab at the continual emergence of new tabs
    I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling twice and with the same results, i haw a screen shut if someone is interested.
    what can I do about it.

    Code:
    Name        : chromium
    Version     : 19.0.1046.0
    Release     : 1.9.1
    Architecture: x86_64
    Install Date: man 05 mar 2012 17:06:37 CET
    Group       : Productivity/Networking/Web/Browsers
    Size        : 95438152
    License     : BSD-3-Clause and LGPL-2.1+
    Signature   : RSA/SHA256, man 05 mar 2012 10:28:40 CET, Key ID b88b2fd43dbdc284
    Source RPM  : chromium-19.0.1046.0-1.9.1.src.rpm
    Build Date  : tir 28 feb 2012 20:23:01 CET
    Build Host  : build32
    Relocations : (not relocatable)
    Packager    : http://bugs.opensuse.org
    Vendor      : openSUSE
    URL         : http://code.google.com/p/chromium/
    Summary     : Google's opens source browser project

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    A screenshot may be helpful. Could you describe your error with more detail? What exactly happens? Does chromium give you an error, or does this behaviour just happen without an error displayed? Try running chromium in a terminal window and see what messages are output to the terminal, that might give a good clue?

    Andrew

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    error appears when I activate the chromium to the last page I started up with chromium continues to start a new tab, the page is creat a dropbox account.

    terminal starts chromium browser but with the same error from the terminal comes this error message.

    Code:
    :~> chromium
    [3692:3701:229111145:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(430)] Failed to call method: org.freedesktop.systemd1.LoadFailed: Unit dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service failed to load: No such file or directory. See system logs and 'systemctl status dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service' for details.
    [3692:3704:232173644:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(430)] Failed to call method: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.kde.kwalletd was not provided by any .service files
    [3692:3704:232173668:ERROR:native_backend_kwallet_x.cc(171)] Error contacting kwalletd (isEnabled)
    [3692:3704:232174103:ERROR:object_proxy.cc(430)] Failed to call method: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.kde.klauncher was not provided by any .service files
    [3692:3704:232174118:ERROR:native_backend_kwallet_x.cc(139)] Error contacting klauncher to start kwalletd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    how do I post the screen image, I do not have a url

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    obviously I have a url

    Code:
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ajptm14wdqvx9cc/uTvF2oNy7N

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    Am 06.03.2012 16:36, schrieb hhbuur:
    >
    > how do I post the screen image, I do not have a url
    >

    http://susepaste.org/
    select image as type instead of code.


    --
    PC: oS 11.4 x86_64 | Intel Core i7-2600@3.40GHz | 16GB | KDE 4.6.0 |
    GeForce GT 420
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 12.1 x86_64 | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | 3GB | KDE 4.8.0
    | nVidia ION
    eCAFE 800: oS 12.1 i586 | AMD Geode LX 800@500MHz | 512MB | KDE 3.5.10 |
    xf86-video-geode

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    Do you have any extensions installed that might be causing this problem? Try disabling all your extensions see if the same still happens.

    From what you pasted from terminal, it looks like chromium is looking for kde stuff, but from your screenshot it looks like you are using gnome. Have you got "chromium-desktop-kde" installed instead of "chromium-desktop-gnome"? Just a thought.

    Andrew

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    denmark
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    problem is solved, but I do not understand why
    I have done the following uninstalled everything with chromium via YaST, and there after whit the terminal

    Code:
    : ~> Sudo yum clean all
     root's password:
     Loaded plugins: tmprepo
     Cleanup of all
    
    
     Nothing to do.
    
    
     : ~> Sudo Zypper in chromium
     Loading repository data ...
     Reading installed packages ...
     Resolves package dependencies ...
    
     The following NEW packages will be installed:
       chromium chromium-suid-helper
    
     The following package is recommended, but will not be installed:
       chromium-desktop-gnome
    
     2 new packages are installed.
     Total download size: 25.7 MiB. After the operation, additional 91.0 MiB
     be used.
     Will you continue? [y / n /?] (j): j
     Loading package chromium-suid-helper-19.0.1046.0-1.9.1.x86_64 (1/2), 36.0 KiB (19.0 KiB unpacked)
     Loading: chromium-suid-helper-19.0.1046.0-1.9.1.x86_64.rpm [executed]
     Loading package chromium-19.0.1046.0-1.9.1.x86_64 (2/2), 25.7 MiB (91.0 MiB unpacked)
     Loading: chromium-19.0.1046.0-1.9.1.x86_64.rpm [done (1.1 MiB / s)]
     Installs: chromium-suid-helper-19.0.1046.0-1.9.1 [executed]
     Additional rpm output:
     setting / usr / lib / chrome_sandbox two root: root the 4755th (wrong permissions 0755)
    
    
     Installs: chromium-19.0.1046.0-1.9.1 [executed]
    and then installed the chromium and chromium-gnome-desktop. after installation problem was the same, so I followed up on additions and then the problem disappeared.

    ? from the installation log is root necessary for chromium. and is the permissions rights

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    Quote Originally Posted by hhbuur View Post

    ? from the installation log is root necessary for chromium. and is the permissions rights
    It is not necessary for you to run chromium as root. The permissions were changed from 0755 to 4755. The "0" at the beginning means that when the file is run it inherits the permissions of the person who ran it. With a "4" at the beginning, when the file is run it inherits the permissions of the owner (in this case root), not the person who ran it. I am guessing this is because root permissions are needed to change anything in the sandbox, given its location in the system, a normal user would be denied write access.

    Glad it is solved, now you have to work out which extension was causing the problem!

    Thanks,
    Andrew

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,109
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: defects in the chromium

    Remember that Chromium is the "not completely stable" open source project upon which Google then builds Chrome.

    Also, a FYI...
    I recently (within the past month) discovered that Google <finally> fixed their Chrome builds, so if anyone wants the <super stable> version of this browser, IMO you should head over to the Google Chrome page and install that instead of Chromium.

    I had the most recent version of Chrome (17.0.963.46) installed on openSUSE 11.3 and am now running it on openSUSE 12.1.

    TS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •