Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Monitor processor cores

  1. #1

    Default Monitor processor cores

    Is there application that monitors the cores in the processor? I have the CPU widget , but it just monitors the whole processor, not the cores separately.

    Cheer!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    On Sun, 26 Feb 2012 21:16:03 +0530, electricFuzz
    <electricFuzz@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > Is there application that monitors the cores in the processor? I have
    > the CPU widget , but it just monitors the whole processor, not the cores
    > separately.
    >


    i'm not sure which "CPU widget" you're refering to -- mainly since you
    don't say which version of openSUSE or KDE you're using.

    i, on openSUSE 12.1 / KDE 4.8, find two widgets that monitor CPU usage:
    "CPU Monitor" and "System Load Viewer." both of these allow me to specify
    which CPU cores i want to monitor, afer right-clicking on the widget and
    choosing the "<widget name> settings" option.

    --
    phani.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    Hi,
    open a terminal and type "gnome-system-monitor". Under the "ressources" tab you'll find what you want. That works also under KDE.

    HTH

    lenwolf

  4. #4

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    phanisvara - I tinkered with the CPU widget. Now I can see load on each core. Thanks!

    lenwolf - Couldn't get it running.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    Am 26.02.2012 17:36, schrieb lenwolf:
    >
    > Hi,
    > open a terminal and type "gnome-system-monitor". Under the
    > "ressources" tab you'll find what you want. That works also under KDE.


    If I run ksysguard in kde I can see for every core a line in the cpu load.

    --
    PC: oS 11.4 (dual boot 12.1) 64 bit | Intel Core i7-2600@3.40GHz | KDE
    4.6.0 | GeForce GT 420 | 16GB Ram
    Eee PC 1201n: oS 11.4 64 bit | Intel Atom 330@1.60GHz | KDE 4.8.0 |
    nVidia ION | 3GB Ram

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    On Sun, 26 Feb 2012 22:58:46 +0530, Martin Helm
    <martin_helm@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    > Am 26.02.2012 17:36, schrieb lenwolf:
    >>
    >> Hi,
    >> open a terminal and type "gnome-system-monitor". Under the
    >> "ressources" tab you'll find what you want. That works also under KDE.

    >
    > If I run ksysguard in kde I can see for every core a line in the cpu
    > load.
    >


    that's there, but ksysguard isn't something i'd want to run all the time
    to monitor my CPU. these widgets don't use hardly any processor power or
    memory, and let me know if something out of the ordinary happens. during
    normal use the bars move around in a certain way, and if one or the other
    process gets stuck, i usually notice that because my "system load monitor"
    looks different.

    then i click on it and a (smaller version of) ksysguard opens, and i can
    see what's eating up my CPU cycles. (doesn't always work though; sometimes
    i neet htop to really find out what's going on.) i really got used to
    having system load monitor, network monitor, and temperature displayed in
    a panel. it's often alered me to hangups that i wouldn't have noticed
    otherwise, because the system remained responsive.

    --
    phani.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,284
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    Quote Originally Posted by phanisvara das
    On Sun, 26 Feb 2012 22:58:46 +0530, Martin Helm
    <martin_helm@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    > Am 26.02.2012 17:36, schrieb lenwolf:
    >>
    >> Hi,
    >> open a terminal and type "gnome-system-monitor". Under the
    >> "ressources" tab you'll find what you want. That works also under
    >> KDE.

    >
    > If I run ksysguard in kde I can see for every core a line in the cpu
    > load.
    >


    that's there, but ksysguard isn't something i'd want to run all the
    time to monitor my CPU. these widgets don't use hardly any processor
    power or memory, and let me know if something out of the ordinary
    happens. during normal use the bars move around in a certain way, and
    if one or the other process gets stuck, i usually notice that because
    my "system load monitor" looks different.

    then i click on it and a (smaller version of) ksysguard opens, and i
    can see what's eating up my CPU cycles. (doesn't always work though;
    sometimes i neet htop to really find out what's going on.) i really got
    used to having system load monitor, network monitor, and temperature
    displayed in a panel. it's often alered me to hangups that i wouldn't
    have noticed otherwise, because the system remained responsive.
    Hi
    Conky along with a lua widget? I built an rpm to run htop on tty12 (See
    my blogs).

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.13-0.27-default
    up 15:35, 2 users, load average: 0.06, 0.03, 0.05
    CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    10,793
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    Although top will print out realtime core usage values,

    I prefer using htop which is an enhanced version of top which also graphically displays the realtime usage of cores. I'll look at Malcom's RPM too, but just htop by itself is OK.

    TS

  9. #9

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    Hi,

    well, what error does it give?

    Lenwolf

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: Monitor processor cores

    On Mon, 27 Feb 2012 13:46:03 +0530, lenwolf
    <lenwolf@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > Hi,
    >
    > well, what error does it give?
    >
    > Lenwolf
    >
    >



    according to my news reader (opera mail) you were replying to my previous
    post, which i'm quoting here:


    > On Sun, 26 Feb 2012 22:58:46 +0530, Martin Helm
    > <martin_helm@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:
    >
    >> Am 26.02.2012 17:36, schrieb lenwolf:
    >>
    >>> Hi,
    >>> open a terminal and type "gnome-system-monitor". Under the
    >>> "ressources" tab you'll find what you want. That works also under KDE.

    >>If I run ksysguard in kde I can see for every core a line in the cpu
    >> load.
    >>

    >
    > that's there, but ksysguard isn't something i'd want to run all the time
    > to monitor my CPU. these widgets don't use hardly any processor power or
    > memory, and let me know if something out of the ordinaryhappens. during
    > normal use the bars move around in a certain way, and if one or the
    > other process gets stuck, i usually notice that because my "system load
    > monitor" looks different.
    >then i click on it and a (smaller version of) ksysguard opens, and i can
    > see what's eating up my CPU cycles. (doesn't always work though;
    > sometimes i neet htop to really find out what's going on.) i reallygot
    > used to having system load monitor, network monitor, and temperature
    > displayed in a panel. it's often alered me to hangups that i wouldn't
    > have noticed otherwise, because the system remained responsive.



    i didn't mention any specific error or such; just that i keep a couple
    widgets running in order to notice when processes get stuck, or something
    else uses more CPU or network bandwidth than they should.


    --
    phani.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •