Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Taura, Germany
    Posts
    287

    Default Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    Hi,

    I am quite sure that I read something similar already in the forums but I can´t find it anymore. So I would like to post my question... maybe it can be merged to the older one...

    Anyway:

    since a system update some days ago, Firefox has lost its integration into KDE. Means: when I save something from the Internet, it opens the old and ugly Gnome "file save" dialog. The file save dialog of Dolphin is not used anymore and with that, no bookmarks anymore in the sidebar... etc.

    I also searched for options and packages and whatnot for switching the KDE integration back on... no success. Also because I don´t know how they are named.

    Thunderbird in openSUSE 12.1 is also affected by this issue.

    Systems affected: openSUSE 11.4 with KDE 4.6.5 and openSUSE 12.1 with KDE 4.7.2

    versions of Firefox: 10.0.2 in 11.4 and 12.1

    Thunderbird version in 12.1: 10.0.2 also

    So, what can I do? Is there a solution for that?

    Thanks!

    Steffen
    Desk: HP Pavilion, Nvidia GeForce GTX460, Atheros Wlan, openSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.2, Win7
    Lap: Sony Vaio VPCEB3J1E, Intel GMA 3500, Intel Wlan, openSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.2
    Netty: HP Mini 3530, Xubuntu 11.10

  2. #2

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    Hi,

    there are other threads about this here, the general solution seems to be to downgrade tofirefox 9.

    HTH

    Lenwolf

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    It's fixed At least it is in the OBS mozilla repo
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,718

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    It's fixed At least it is in the OBS mozilla repo
    But not for those people who only want to use a stable standard openSUSE with OSS, non-OSS Update and Packman.
    And that is what we are talking about.
    Henk van Velden

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    On 02/26/2012 09:46 PM, hcvv wrote:
    > But not for those people who only want to use a stable standard
    > openSUSE with OSS, non-OSS Update and Packman.


    correct...when the fix was found i suggested [in the factory ml] to roll
    it into update and someone else recommened that be done on 13 Mar along
    with something else (no, i don't remember what--its in the bug i'm too
    lazy to look for now) already scheduled..

    then in the next day or two 10.0.2 came through--without this fix..

    anyway, the problem in this thread is only cosmetic, the 10.0.2 was a
    security patch..

    --
    DD
    What does DistroWatch write about YOU?: http://tinyurl.com/SUSEonDW

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,718

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    I do not quite get what you call cosmetic. When I want to save something from FF I now get a very bewildering thing to do. I get a different window for choosing the place where to store it, but far morw worse, when I click on a directory there, thyat line turns blue, but there is no switching to that directory. I have ether to click on the Save button (which then does not save, but switches to the selected directory) or I have to click again on that line within a short time aftyer the first click. I get a severe ache in my fingers for that primitive behaviour. And it irritates me veryy much.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    On 02/27/2012 10:16 AM, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > I do not quite get what you call cosmetic. When I want to save
    > something from FF I now get a very bewildering thing to do. <snip>


    sorry! i had no idea all of that was going on..

    i got the impression (from Carl, i believe) that my Firefox was using
    "ugly" gth and his (with the fix) was use qt--he didn't mention anything
    else (as you did)..so, to me it _seemed_ only a cosmetic thing..

    review the story here: https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=746591

    where you will find Carl's notes, as well as my suggestion to push it
    into update, and #24 said just put it in with the next security update
    (but that was missed as 10.0.2 came out without it, so i guess the next
    is wait until FF11 on 13 Mar..

    perhaps you need to highlight in the bug the full range of the problem... ??

    or fallback to 9..
    or patch as did Carl..
    or don't open or save anything in ff
    or use Opera, etc

    --
    DD
    What does DistroWatch write about YOU?: http://tinyurl.com/SUSEonDW

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,718

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    I will reread and follow your advice later in the day.

    Especialy the last two ones are interesting

    True is in any case that the "intergration" of FF in KDE is not as good as Konqui's was/is. E.g.:
    . saving a bookmark in Konqui saves it in KDE bookmark list, which I have in my main Kmenu for easy use. Not so for FF, which has it's seperate bookmark list.
    . saving a userid/password in Konqui put it in Kwallet. Integrated in KDE. Not so for FF, which has it's own password mechanism.

    No, it is not allways progress what one experiences.

    (Must I add, that Konqui could be used as the default browser in KDE, but that it has much more isuues in HTTP browsing then FF?)
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    On 02/27/2012 11:36 AM, hcvv wrote:
    > (Must I add, that Konqui could be used as the default browser in KDE,
    > but that it has much more isuues in HTTP browsing then FF?)


    it is my opinion that as a web browser Konqueror leaves a LOT to be
    desired (missing all those cool add-ons, especially Ad Block) but is
    really really fast..

    in fact, i find it FAST but unusable in that it just miss renders so
    many things...

    however, Konqueror remains the best of the best in somethings...like for
    reading a man page...'browsing' on my own hard drive, especially in
    /usr/share/doc/ [but i never read those things as they are all
    confusing, and if i read them it takes away from the excitement of
    experimenting with (for example) loaded guns aimed at my own feet ]

    --
    DD http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat
    What does DistroWatch write about YOU?: http://tinyurl.com/SUSEonDW

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    sri mayapur, west bengal, india
    Posts
    958

    Default Re: Firefox has lost its KDE integration

    On Mon, 27 Feb 2012 17:00:08 +0530, DenverD
    <DenverD@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    > On 02/27/2012 11:36 AM, hcvv wrote:
    >> (Must I add, that Konqui could be used as the default browser in KDE,
    >> but that it has much more isuues in HTTP browsing then FF?)

    >
    > it is my opinion that as a web browser Konqueror leaves a LOT to be
    > desired (missing all those cool add-ons, especially Ad Block) but is
    > really really fast..
    >
    > in fact, i find it FAST but unusable in that it just miss renders so
    > many things...
    >
    > however, Konqueror remains the best of the best in somethings...like for
    > reading a man page...'browsing' on my own hard drive, especially in
    > /usr/share/doc/ [but i never read those things as they are all
    > confusing, and if i read them it takes away from the excitement of
    > experimenting with (for example) loaded guns aimed at my own feet ]
    >



    konqueror does support filter lists. perhaps it's not the same adblock
    plugin that FF uses, but it comes with a bunch of pre-configured lists,
    like "easy <this or that country>", and manual filters can be configured,
    too. available under settings -> web browsing -> AdBlock Filters.

    --
    phani.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •