Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BEIJING,CHINA; SHANGHAI,CHINA
    Posts
    664

    Default kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    Hiya, all,

    This issue lasts for a long time, maybe from openSUSE 11.3, at least on my laptop.

    PHENOMENONS:
    1. If you click to open YaST2 (Administrator Settings or Install Software), it will lag for 5 minutes with a refreshing icon on your task manager bar for about 30 seconds. Then shows a kdesu window to input password. After filling in, the kdesu window freeze there for about 2 minutes, then disappear. After a long time, while you almost forgot you had done those procedures, YaST window turns out. The interval might be as long as 10 to 15 minutes.
    2. So does NetworkManager. You can't modify system connection because at first it'll show you a kdesu window, but after you input password it'll lag to timeout. You also can't save after modifying a system connection ( In a few chances you can survive the first kdesu), because the second kdesu window there will certainly lag long enough to "timeout" system policy.
    TEMPORARY WORKAROUNDS:
    1. For YaST2, I have to be quick enough to click and open TWO YaST2 instances at the same time. while the first lags as it should, the second will be normal. Almost when the second yast2 show you a submenu main window like Install Software, the first kdesu just turns out, then you can close the 1st YaST there.
    2. for NetworkManager, you have to manually delete it under /etc/NetworkManager/system connections using root acco ( you can't delete it in NetworkManagement Plasmoid for the same kdesu reason) and add a same-but-not-system-connection connection.
    I would like to know why this happen, and how can I get out from this. it seems to be a policykit or sudoers thing, anyway it must be a privileges' problem.

    PS: if your normal user is enough password protected, why not YaST implements a Privileges Center which may be placed under Security Center, to enable users decide which system-wide (root) action is guaranteed and away from root password input every time or a long enough period like one month, in a user friendly manner like "open YaST2: on/off", instead of modify /etc/polkit-default-privs.standard or sudoers in a coder-centralized "org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.enable-disable-network: auth-admin" way?

    Marguerite

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    On 02/25/2012 10:56 AM, MargueriteSu wrote:
    > This issue lasts for a long time, maybe from openSUSE 11.3, at least on
    > my laptop.


    i have never seen this problem on my machine, and i never heard of this
    problem before in this forum....so, i must conclude that yours is an
    unusual situation..

    let me say that a different way:

    -if i now click to open it takes exactly (i just timed it) 3 seconds for
    the password prompt to pop to the center of the screen..

    -if i then fill in the root password and click ok, it takes exactly 3.5
    seconds for the YaST Control Center to pop up

    -and if i, in that click to launch Software Management, that pops up in
    3.9 seconds and begins checking my machine and the enabled repos to see
    what is available, and then it was fully functioning and ready for my
    search (in less than 30 seconds) LONG before i finished typing this
    sentence..

    so, the question is how did you system get to be so slow? something is
    VERY wrong with it...

    now, i _think_ i may know what has happened because of the way you asked
    the question....that is, as far as i can tell "kdesu" has no bearing
    whatsoever on how YaST2 functions..

    tell me, in what way are you using kdesu to launch YaST2?

    is it not possible in your desktop environment (btw, which DE are you
    using) to go to the menu, find YaST and just click on it, and in seconds
    see a password prompt?

    and, you say this has been going on since 11.3, please tell us what
    version you are using now..

    oh....i see you are a moderator of one of the other language forums
    (WELCOME, and thank you for your contributions...we are honored to have
    you here)--but, is this problem actually on _your_ machine, or is this a
    question translated for and relayed from another user?

    --
    DD
    What does DistroWatch write about YOU?: http://tinyurl.com/SUSEonDW

  3. #3

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    Looks like something happened with the /home/user partition
    Check the permission of the /home partition
    People who do not break things first will never learn to create anything

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BEIJING,CHINA; SHANGHAI,CHINA
    Posts
    664

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    Hi, DenverD,

    1. It's from _my_ laptop, not a translation. I'm afraid someday some member will ask such a question and I can't just show her the two workarounds above, I have to know something deeper or at least a fix, in one way or another. So I asked it first.

    2. I can understand that kdesu has no relation to YaST2, but as I said, not only YaST2, but also NetworkManagement Plasmoid suffer the same lag, and the lag literally concentrates on kdesu.

    3. I'm using KDE, or there'll be no kdesu...and you can't measure it in "seconds", but in "minutes", it takes at least 3 minutes to prompt.

    4. I'm using 12.1 right now. the lag started from 11.3. but I did reinstall openSUSE 12.1 once on my new 1TB harddisk. 11.3 is on my old disk which has been removed from my laptop three month ago.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BEIJING,CHINA; SHANGHAI,CHINA
    Posts
    664

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    Quote Originally Posted by conram View Post
    Looks like something happened with the /home/user partition
    Check the permission of the /home partition
    Hi, here are my /home permissions

    Code:
    drwxr-xr-x   1 root root    44 11月 17 17:18 home
    Code:
    marguerite@linux:~> ll /home
    總計 4
    drwxr-xr-x 1 marguerite   users 7348  2月 27 07:22 marguerite
    dr-xr-xr-x 1 root root    10 11月 17 20:15 ext2_saved
    drwx------ 1 root root     0  9月  2 03:08 lost+found

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BEIJING,CHINA; SHANGHAI,CHINA
    Posts
    664

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    I always suffer from weird problems. last time it was btrfs. it took me a month to debug out where exactly is the cause. and then 3.2 come out. they fixed it with a whoever-knows-and-whatever-it-does patch.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    On 02/27/2012 12:56 AM, MargueriteSu wrote:
    >
    > Hi, DenverD,


    hi...thanks for your answers...unfortunately, i don't think i can help a
    lot...but, keep reading..


    > 1. .... So I asked it first.


    very smart of you.


    > 2. I can understand that kdesu has no relation to YaST2, but as I said,
    > not only YaST2, but also NetworkManagement Plasmoid suffer the same lag,
    > and the lag literally concentrates on kdesu.


    ok, so is it true then, that _any_ application or utility that you
    launch with kdesu has this lag? like, if you do this what happens:

    -hold down Alt and press F2

    -type in the popup at the top of the window
    Code:
    konsole
    -in that new konsole terminal type [/code]kwrite[/code]

    -and a new KWrite window should pop up on your screen

    -and in the still open terminal window the cursor should be on the next
    line down, which indicates that KWrite is running (if you close the
    terminal KWrite will die, so don't!) is your terminal acting as i have
    described?

    -now close the KWrite window (NOT the konsole terminal window)

    -then in the terminal window you should see that something as clean as this:

    Code:
    denverd@linux-os114:~> kwrite
    denver4d@linux-os114:~>
    or maybe as detailed as something like this:

    Code:
    denverd@linux-os114:~> kwrite
    kwrite(4155)/kdeui (kdelibs) KXMLGUIClient::~KXMLGUIClient: 0x8245c18
    deleted without having been removed from the factory first. This will
    leak standalone popupmenus and could lead to crashes.
    kwrite(4155)/kdeui (kdelibs) KXMLGUIClient::~KXMLGUIClient: 0x81d04fc
    deleted without having been removed from the factory first. This will
    leak standalone popupmenus and could lead to crashes.
    denverd@linux-os114:~>
    whatever you get i want you to use the mouse to copy/paste it back to
    the thread as i did above, using code tags as explained in
    http://goo.gl/i3wnr

    please copy and paste from the beginning of one pompt to the end of the
    last prompt, as i did above..

    then! in the same, still open konsole terminal

    -please type and execute this
    Code:
    kdesu kwrite
    -you should get a GUI popup asking for the root password...do you get that?

    -and, then when you fill in the root password, a new KWrite window pops
    up, right?

    -and, in the terminal you see the cursor below the line where you typed
    'kdesu kwrite', right?

    -*is it minutes of waiting for the KWrite window to pop up?

    -and, if you then close the KWrite window and see something like this

    [/code]
    denverd@linux-os114:~> kdesu kwrite
    denverd@linux-os114:~>
    [/code]

    right? or maybe you have lots of complaints from kdesu or kwrite? if so,
    please copy and paste those back to here...



    > 3. I'm using KDE, or there'll be no kdesu..


    if you have both KDE and Gnome installed, then while running Gnome you
    can use kdesu, and while running KDE you could use gnomesu (to
    accomplish exactly the same task of launching a GUI programs with root
    powers); and if you also have (for example) LXDE installed you could be
    running that and use either kdesu or gnomesu in it..

    so, it was therefore why i asked which DE you were running..



    > 4. I'm using 12.1 right now. the lag started from 11.3.


    the 12.1 you are using now, did you 'upgrade' it from 11.3 or 11.4? or
    did you do a complete new, fresh, format and install of 12.1 without
    keeping any of the old system partitions?

    with your help i _think_ we may get closer to an answer...

    --
    DD http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat http://tinyurl.com/DD-Hardware
    http://tinyurl.com/DD-Software
    What does DistroWatch write about YOU?: http://tinyurl.com/SUSEonDW

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BEIJING,CHINA; SHANGHAI,CHINA
    Posts
    664

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    1. kwrite & kdesu kwrite has no konsole outputs. just lag. kdesu kwrite will lag 2 minutes until password prompt. after password input another 3 minutes lag until kwrite pops up. but they both have no further konsole outputs.

    2. I did a fresh install of openSUSE_12.1. my home is on a separate partition, so as you can see in my earlier reply, my home directory is created on 17th, Nov, 2011, which should be exactly the date I install OS.

    , it sounds weird, aha?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    BEIJING,CHINA; SHANGHAI,CHINA
    Posts
    664

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    OMG, I forgot an important thing: I have fingerprint enabled. I installed and configure it using YaST2. maybe that's the key?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: kdesu issues in YaST2 and NetworkManager.

    On 02/27/2012 02:26 PM, MargueriteSu wrote:
    >
    > OMG, I forgot an important thing: I have fingerprint enabled. I
    > installed and configure it using YaST2. maybe that's the key?




    i have no more answers or help from you until and unless you do as i
    requested earlier like here:

    Code:
    -hold down Alt and press F2
    -type in the popup at the top of the window 
    Code:
    konsole
    -in that new konsole terminal type
    kwrite[/code]
    -and a new KWrite window should pop up on your screen
    -now close the KWrite window (NOT the konsole terminal window)
    -then in the terminal window you should see that something as clean as this:


    denverd@linux-os114:~> kwrite
    denver4d@linux-os114:~>


    whatever you get i want you to use the mouse to copy/paste it back to
    the thread as i did above, using code tags as explained in
    http://goo.gl/i3wnr

    please copy and paste from the beginning of one prompt to the end of the
    last prompt, as i did above.."
    [/code]

    i had a reason for asking for the info i did, in the way i did....but,
    if you don't have the ability or desire to follow my directions, i can
    respect that..

    but, i will not be able to help you more if you refuse that request.

    --
    DD http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat
    What does DistroWatch write about YOU?: http://tinyurl.com/SUSEonDW

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •