Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    867

    Default YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    Is the web package search within the YAST2 software installer broken. Whenever I try to search for a package using the 'search on web' option it comes up with "Search Failed. Remote server returned error code 404". This is in a oS12.1 KDE installation.
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE Tumbleweed
    Dell XPS 13 9360 | openSUSE Leap 42.3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    On 2012-01-18 14:36, suse tpx60s wrote:
    >
    > Is the web package search within the YAST2 software installer broken.
    > Whenever I try to search for a package using the 'search on web' option
    > it comes up with "Search Failed. Remote server returned error code 404".
    > This is in a oS12.1 KDE installation.


    Webpin? Yes, known issue for years.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,396

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    867

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Thanks guys. Henk I was aware of the url, just sometimes it's convenient to be able to do the search from within yast if I'm there installing other stuff too.

    I'll go look for the bug report and add my 2c worth.
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE Tumbleweed
    Dell XPS 13 9360 | openSUSE Leap 42.3

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,396

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    Quote Originally Posted by suse_tpx60s View Post
    Thanks guys. Henk I was aware of the url, just sometimes it's convenient to be able to do the search from within yast if I'm there installing other stuff too.

    I'll go look for the bug report and add my 2c worth.
    I agree that it is frustrating that when you are inYaST, you do not get the working search URL. Must be easy to change by a developer though.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    On 2012-01-18 19:26, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > suse_tpx60s;2431730 Wrote:


    >> I'll go look for the bug report and add my 2c worth.

    > I agree that it is frustrating that when you are inYaST, you do not get
    > the working search URL. Must be easy to change by a developer though.


    The developers are well aware of the problem, but nothing can be done
    because it is a question of resources, human and machine, at the server
    location. They hopped to solve it for 12.1, but it hasn't happened.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,396

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    Quote Originally Posted by robin_listas View Post
    On 2012-01-18 19:26, hcvv wrote:
    >
    > suse_tpx60s;2431730 Wrote:


    >> I'll go look for the bug report and add my 2c worth.

    > I agree that it is frustrating that when you are inYaST, you do not get
    > the working search URL. Must be easy to change by a developer though.


    The developers are well aware of the problem, but nothing can be done
    because it is a question of resources, human and machine, at the server
    location. They hopped to solve it for 12.1, but it hasn't happened.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)
    I fully understand what you say, but an important thing is to unarm this then. I guess that not much resources are needed to simply remove the entry from the menu. Adding it later (if at all) can then take place when resources are available. A frustrated user is much easier a supporter lost then a user that hasn't even seen the functionality.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    On 2012-01-18 21:46, hcvv wrote:

    > I fully understand what you say, but an important thing is to unarm
    > this then. I guess that not much resources are needed to simply remove
    > the entry from the menu. Adding it later (if at all) can then take place
    > when resources are available. A frustrated user is much easier a
    > supporter lost then a user that hasn't even seen the functionality.


    Perhaps.

    This was suggested in the factory mail list and rejected by the people
    responsible, perhaps they overestimated the time needed to get those
    resources - and don't ask me, I don't know for certain what it is they need
    -. I think that they said that webpin was so successful that the server on
    which it depend could not cope. Or perhaps it can't cope because the OBS
    was too successful, ie, too big.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  9. #9

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    Carlos E. R. wrote:
    > On 2012-01-18 21:46, hcvv wrote:
    >
    >> I fully understand what you say, but an important thing is to unarm
    >> this then. I guess that not much resources are needed to simply remove
    >> the entry from the menu. Adding it later (if at all) can then take place
    >> when resources are available. A frustrated user is much easier a
    >> supporter lost then a user that hasn't even seen the functionality.

    >
    > Perhaps.
    >
    > This was suggested in the factory mail list and rejected by the people
    > responsible, perhaps they overestimated the time needed to get those
    > resources - and don't ask me, I don't know for certain what it is they need
    > -. I think that they said that webpin was so successful that the server on
    > which it depend could not cope. Or perhaps it can't cope because the OBS
    > was too successful, ie, too big.


    I think Henk is right. I don't see how completely removing the option
    from the menu can possibly overload the server?

    A more user-friendly option would be to leave the menu entry in place
    but change its action to be simply popping up a dialog box that displays
    the correct URL to use for a web search. (e.g.
    <http://software.opensuse.org/121/en>) That just avoids a user going to
    the forum and asking the same question as all the other users. (apart
    from the ones who just give up in frustration).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: YAST2 - package search on the web not working

    On 2012-01-19 11:29, Dave Howorth wrote:

    > I think Henk is right. I don't see how completely removing the option
    > from the menu can possibly overload the server?


    No, making it work overloads the server.

    The YaST module was not removed for 12.1 because they hoped to make it
    work. Now it is too late, it can not be removed. You can not remove
    software from the DVD once released.

    > A more user-friendly option would be to leave the menu entry in place
    > but change its action to be simply popping up a dialog box that displays
    > the correct URL to use for a web search. (e.g.


    That is not the correct url for webpin... it is a different service.

    Or we are talking of a different thing. I'm talking about the webpin yast
    module, or software search. There is also a "webpin" program. Also there is
    a link on the server, that doesn't work
    (http://packages.opensuse-community.org/).

    > That just avoids a user going to
    > the forum and asking the same question as all the other users. (apart
    > from the ones who just give up in frustration).


    You may open a Bugzilla. Maybe it already exists and will be closed as
    duplicate.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •