Thread: In OPENSUSE 11.4, Ark can extract all the contents in tree structure?

Default In OPENSUSE 11.4, Ark can extract all the contents in tree structure?

Hi,
    I download a tar.gz file. I try extract the content and burn it to a DVD ROM. I am new to command line input. Ark in KDE 4 can show the content in tar.gz, but it only extract the root files and folders, not the sub folder below. Ark cannot do that?

Thanks.

Blog Entries

Smile Re: In OPENSUSE 11.4, Ark can extract all the contents in tree structure?

Quote Originally Posted by freerjw View Post
    Hi,
    I download a tar.gz file. I try extract the content and burn it to a DVD ROM. I am new to command line input. Ark in KDE 4 can show the content in tar.gz, but it only extract the root files and folders, not the sub folder below. Ark cannot do that?

Thanks.
    How to open or Untar a "tar.gz" file in Linux or Unix Terminal session (Alt-F2: Type in Konsole & press <enter> in KDE):

The following tutorial assumes the name of your file is yourfile.tar.gz Replace with your actual filename.

From the terminal, change to the directory where yourfile.tar.gz has been downloaded.
    Type tar -zxvf yourfile.tar.gz to extract the file to the current directory.

You can specify a different directory to extract to using -C parameter and a path to the directory as follows:

Example: tar -C /myfolder -zxvf yourfile.tar.gz

Here are some links on using ark: ark(1): KDE archiving tool - Linux man page and ark (1) - Linux Man Page

Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

Its James again from Austin, Texas

Default Re: In OPENSUSE 11.4, Ark can extract all the contents in tree structure?

Am 11.01.2012 00:36, schrieb freerjw:
    >
    > Hi,
    > I download a tar.gz file. I try extract the content and burn it to a
    > DVD ROM. I am new to command line input. Ark in KDE 4 can show the