ATI driver installed but no 3D

I am new to Linux and I am trying out SUSE 12.1 on my daughters old laptop. I can’t get the 3D driver to work, from what I have read I don’t think I can but I may have misunderstood something while reading all the other posts.

The laptop is based on the ATI RS690 chipset and has an integrated X1250 graphics card. My readings suggest that the last ATI driver that supported my card was 9.3 but 9.3 is not compatible with SUSE 12.1. I have run ATIUPGRADE and it has upgraded to the latest driver (11.12) but that has not improved the situation.

The command hwinfo --gfxcard returns

28: PCI 105.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)
[Created at pci.319]
Unique ID: ul7N.I_WRgrFy2e1
Parent ID: vSkL.Objt6VSItgC
SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:05.0
SysFS BusID: 0000:01:05.0
Hardware Class: graphics card
Model: “ATI Radeon X1200”
Vendor: pci 0x1002 “ATI Technologies Inc”
Device: pci 0x791f “Radeon X1200”
SubVendor: pci 0x107b “Gateway 2000”
SubDevice: pci 0x0185
Memory Range: 0xf8000000-0xfbffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
Memory Range: 0xfc100000-0xfc10ffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
I/O Ports: 0x9400-0x94ff (rw)
Memory Range: 0xfc000000-0xfc0fffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
IRQ: 17 (2 events)
I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3df (rw)
Module Alias: “pci:v00001002d0000791Fsv0000107Bsd00000185bc03sc00i00”
Driver Info #0:
XFree86 v4 Server Module: radeonhd
Driver Info #1:
XFree86 v4 Server Module: radeonhd
3D Support: yes
Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
Attached to: #9 (PCI bridge)

Primary display adapter: #28

Finally in sysinfo: it give Radeonhd as my 2D driver but does not list a 3D driver. When I first installed 12.1 it did list a 3D Driver but now it doesn’t.

I don’t want to play games or anything fancy but being able to watch iPlayer is the goal.

Am I out of luck with this old Laptop or am I missing a key point somewhere?

Thanks All …