Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Use Google chrome as root

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    33

    Default Use Google chrome as root

    How to use google chrome/chromium as root in suse 11.4
    Google chrome 18 rpm package installed using rpm -ivh
    working fine in user account. but needed to use in root anyhow.

    giving the error msg create new --user-data-dir

  2. #2

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    Quote Originally Posted by luk4abinash View Post
    How to use google chrome/chromium as root in suse 11.4
    Google chrome 18 rpm package installed using rpm -ivh
    working fine in user account. but needed to use in root anyhow.
    No. It can not be that you *need* to use a web browser as root. chromium doesn't allow it. That's right.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    Why would you want to do that? Especially with a web browser?
    Günter

    Desk: Leap 42.2, KDE 5, Intel i3, 8Gb, Kingston 64Gb SSD, 2 SATA.
    Lap: Thinkpad T430, Tumbleweed, Intel i5, 8Gb, SSD.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    Its a desktop and i want to test my php pages in chromium also. only testing with mozilla doesnot workout. how to do it? if anyone knew it pls reply.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    Its a desktop with pentim 4 processor i386 and 2GB of ram and suse 11.4 kde version is installed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    in ubuntu 11.10 i have tried as root. after some modifications it worked out. but not happening in suse

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,020

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    The proper way to do that is to install a web server. Google or forum search for LAMP or Apache.
    Günter

    Desk: Leap 42.2, KDE 5, Intel i3, 8Gb, Kingston 64Gb SSD, 2 SATA.
    Lap: Thinkpad T430, Tumbleweed, Intel i5, 8Gb, SSD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    On 12/29/2011 01:16 PM, luk4abinash wrote:
    >
    > in ubuntu 11.10 i have tried as root. after some modifications it worked
    > out. but not happening in suse



    wait a second: do NOT use any browser as root ever. what are you trying
    to do when you "test my php pages"

    you should not be testing your php pages in a root powered firefox,
    opera, konqueror, chromium or any other!!

    what are you trying to test that can not be done with a browser launched
    by a normal user..

    describe exactly what you are trying to test which _requires_ a root
    powered browser, please.

    --
    DD http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobiles" of operating systems!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    U r really irritating dude. sorry for the words. i am asking one thing and u r mentioning another thing. if u dont know then pass the thread to other.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Use Google chrome as root

    if u r replying or not. i am going to do it any how. and this is open source and i know the risk of using a browser as root

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •