Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA - California
    Posts
    129

    Default Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    What's up with the Gnome Desktop Panel? When I click to launch it does (apparently) nothing new. I have "extra panel applets" installed as well and get nothing.

    openSUSE 12.1
    Gnome 3.21


    P.S. I've been wondering how to apply a sig here in the forums. Can't figure it out.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,302
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    Quote Originally Posted by KEB64
    What's up with the Gnome Desktop Panel? When I click to launch it does
    (apparently) nothing new. I have "extra panel applets" installed as well
    and get nothing.

    OPENSUSE 12.1
    GNOME 3.21
    -
    P.S. I've been wondering how to apply a sig here in the forums. Can't
    figure it out.-

    Hi
    As an extension? Which one?

    Click on 'Settings' top right when logged in, then on the left column
    under 'My Settings' there is Edit Signature.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.9-desktop
    up 1 day 7:16, 5 users, load average: 0.02, 0.05, 0.10
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 290.10


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA - California
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    In the Main Menu app there's a Panel app under System Tools. The box is unchecked by default. When I put it into my menu (by checking the box) and try using it, I get nothing. I've tried switching to fallback mode to see if it was designed for that scheme and still get no response. It's a mystery to me.

    P.S. I don't know how I ever overlooked the sig setting. I have spend some time on different occasions looking for that. lol. Thanks!

    EDIT: Here is what YaST says about the Panel app. It's installed by default, I just can't figure out how to invoke it.

    "This package contains the GNOME Desktop Panel. The panel is an easy-to-use and functional interface to manage your desktop, start programs, and organize access to your data."
    openSUSE 12.1 + Gnome 3.2.1
    Dell Dimension 2400, Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.20GHz, RAM 2 Gigs
    Intel 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,302
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    Hi
    I don't see this app under system tools, can you grab a screenshot and post it here (select image and set to never expire please)
    SUSE Paste
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA - California
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    I don't see this app under system tools, can you grab a screenshot and post it here (select image and set to never expire please)
    SUSE Paste
    I'm not sure that SUSE Paste worked. Here it is from me...
    openSUSE 12.1 + Gnome 3.2.1
    Dell Dimension 2400, Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.20GHz, RAM 2 Gigs
    Intel 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,302
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    Quote Originally Posted by KEB64
    malcolmlewis;2419876 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > I don't see this app under system tools, can you grab a screenshot and
    > post it here (select image and set to never expire please)
    > 'SUSE Paste' (http://paste.opensuse.org/)


    I'm not sure that SUSE Paste worked. Here it is from me...
    '[image:
    http://i403.photobucket.com/albums/p..._PanelApp.png]'
    (http://tinyurl.com/8ys6u2t)

    Hi
    That's not part of GNOME 3.x but a GNOME 2.x fragment from somewhere...
    it should be set to NoDisplay=true in it's desktop entry
    in /usr/share/applications.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.9-desktop
    up 1 day 8:47, 4 users, load average: 0.25, 0.09, 0.06
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 290.10


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA - California
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    That's not part of GNOME 3.x but a GNOME 2.x fragment from somewhere...
    it should be set to NoDisplay=true in it's desktop entry
    in /usr/share/applications.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 11.4 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.37.6-0.9-desktop
    up 1 day 8:47, 4 users, load average: 0.25, 0.09, 0.06
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - Driver Version: 290.10
    Excellent info. Thank you!
    openSUSE 12.1 + Gnome 3.2.1
    Dell Dimension 2400, Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.20GHz, RAM 2 Gigs
    Intel 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA - California
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    I suppose if one wanted it can be installed as an extension here
    --------> https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/3/bottom-panel/
    openSUSE 12.1 + Gnome 3.2.1
    Dell Dimension 2400, Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.20GHz, RAM 2 Gigs
    Intel 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,302
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    Quote Originally Posted by KEB64 View Post
    I suppose if one wanted it can be installed as an extension here
    --------> https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/3/bottom-panel/
    Hi
    Yes, it provides an additional panel, but can get if front of the notifications one. Try it, it's easy to disable
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  10. #10

    Default Re: Gnome Desktop "Panel"

    Hi Malcolm,
    Are you able to take a screenshot of the Gnome desktop with the panel menu in the right top corner open? I tried with Gnome and Xfce screenshooters and here's what I get with both:



    The rest is all white.
    Graphics card is GeForce 8400 GS with nvidia driver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •