Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    44

    Default Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    Hi all and merry Christmas !!

    Today, I turned my computer on (it' been off for 1 week) and suddenly, yast was unable to connect to the internet.
    Strange : Proxy is set to NO PROXY, KDE network manager works fine (both WiFi & Ethernet), Firefox connects to the Web, KMail too... :-/
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:26:9E:AE:61:F9  
              inet adr:192.168.1.5  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Masque:255.255.255.0
              adr inet6: fe80::226:9eff:feae:61f9/64 Scope:Lien
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:14684 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:11362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000 
              RX bytes:12088553 (11.5 Mb)  TX bytes:1919942 (1.8 Mb)
              Interruption:17 
    
    lo        Link encap:Boucle locale  
              inet adr:127.0.0.1  Masque:255.0.0.0
              adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:732 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:732 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 lg file transmission:0 
              RX bytes:58689 (57.3 Kb)  TX bytes:58689 (57.3 Kb)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 90:4C:E5:85:36:22  
              adr inet6: fe80::924c:e5ff:fe85:3622/64 Scope:Lien
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:50279 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:34658 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000 
              RX bytes:66805420 (63.7 Mb)  TX bytes:4211276 (4.0 Mb)
    curl & wget work great for both user & superuser...
    Amarok fetches lyrics on the Web without an issue and so does Plasma to fetch new plasmoids...

    I erased the whole list of repos, logged out & back in, got to yast, added the community repos... and tada ! yast worked and told me the repos that were available. So I check the ones I want and clicked "add"... and get an error :
    Failed to add repo "xxx"
    blablabla...TIMED OUT...
    What should I do ?
    OpenSUSE 12.1, x86_64, KDE 4.7.2, never added any non official repos.
    Thanks !
    OpenSUSE 11.4 & 12.1(not used a lot) x86_64, Intel Core i3, Acer 8942G, ATI Radeon HD5850 (1GB)
    KDE 4.7.4, kernel 3.1.6 & 3.1.0 desktop

    "Our life is the immortals' death"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    On 12/26/2011 10:36 AM, Moviuro wrote:
    > What should I do ?


    a week? (maybe you let it rest too long

    try adding only the four recommended in the paragraph beginning with
    "IMPORTANT" in this post: http://tinyurl.com/33qc9vu

    and see how that goes..

    then, if that works then read that paragraph again before you add other
    repos..

    --
    DD http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobiles" of operating systems!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    Well, it failed...

    Yast does not connect to the internet
    OpenSUSE 11.4 & 12.1(not used a lot) x86_64, Intel Core i3, Acer 8942G, ATI Radeon HD5850 (1GB)
    KDE 4.7.4, kernel 3.1.6 & 3.1.0 desktop

    "Our life is the immortals' death"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    On 2011-12-26 15:36, Moviuro wrote:
    >
    > Well, it failed...
    >
    > Yast does not connect to the internet


    Look into the Yast logs to find the exact error.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    On 12/26/2011 10:36 AM, Moviuro wrote:
    >
    > What should I do ?


    tell you the truth, i don't yet know what the problem is, but i _might_
    know more if you do these commands in a terminal, and return the output
    to here

    Code:
    /usr/sbin/traceroute software.opensuse.org
    su -
    zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ packman
    zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ oss
    zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ non-oss
    zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ update
    zypper ref
    zypper lr -d
    copy/paste the in/output back to this thread using the instructions
    here: http://goo.gl/i3wnr

    --
    DD http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobiles" of operating systems!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,378

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    Quote Originally Posted by Moviuro View Post
    Hi all and merry Christmas !!

    Today, I turned my computer on (it' been off for 1 week) and suddenly, yast was unable to connect to the internet.
    Strange : Proxy is set to NO PROXY, KDE network manager works fine (both WiFi & Ethernet), Firefox connects to the Web, KMail too... :-/
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:26:9E:AE:61:F9  
              inet adr:192.168.1.5  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Masque:255.255.255.0
              adr inet6: fe80::226:9eff:feae:61f9/64 Scope:Lien
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:14684 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:11362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000 
              RX bytes:12088553 (11.5 Mb)  TX bytes:1919942 (1.8 Mb)
              Interruption:17 
    
    lo        Link encap:Boucle locale  
              inet adr:127.0.0.1  Masque:255.0.0.0
              adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:732 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:732 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 lg file transmission:0 
              RX bytes:58689 (57.3 Kb)  TX bytes:58689 (57.3 Kb)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 90:4C:E5:85:36:22  
              adr inet6: fe80::924c:e5ff:fe85:3622/64 Scope:Lien
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:50279 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:34658 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000 
              RX bytes:66805420 (63.7 Mb)  TX bytes:4211276 (4.0 Mb)
    curl & wget work great for both user & superuser...
    Amarok fetches lyrics on the Web without an issue and so does Plasma to fetch new plasmoids...

    I erased the whole list of repos, logged out & back in, got to yast, added the community repos... and tada ! yast worked and told me the repos that were available. So I check the ones I want and clicked "add"... and get an error :


    What should I do ?
    OpenSUSE 12.1, x86_64, KDE 4.7.2, never added any non official repos.
    Thanks !
    When you add a bunch at the same time and then get the error, you will never now which one is the culprit. Thus add them one by one until you got stuck.

    BTW, I guess you mean YaST Software Management and not YaST in general. And also, when the standard repos are working, then YaST has no problemss going to the Internet, where do you think those repos are?
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    Look into the Yast logs to find the exact error.
    Where are these logs ...? sorry, noob question...

    Code:
    [moviuro@naboo:~]$ /usr/sbin/traceroute software.opensuse.org
    traceroute to software.opensuse.org (195.135.221.150), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets using UDP
     1  gav28-1-88-177-116-29.fbx.proxad.net (88.177.116.29)  2.028 ms   2.683 ms   2.814 ms
     2  88.177.116.254 (88.177.116.254)  41.480 ms   41.764 ms   41.290 ms
     3  213.228.36.254 (213.228.36.254)  42.528 ms   42.028 ms   41.574 ms
     4  bzn-crs16-1-be1105.intf.routers.proxad.net (212.27.56.197)  42.900 ms   42.414 ms   41.894 ms
     5  th2-crs16-1-be2000.intf.routers.proxad.net (212.27.57.209)  42.843 ms   42.312 ms   41.869 ms
     6  strasbourg-crs16-1-be2000.intf.routers.proxad.net (212.27.50.10)  46.828 ms   46.659 ms   46.458 ms
     7  francfort-6k-1-po100.intf.routers.proxad.net (212.27.56.30)  50.050 ms   49.459 ms   49.163 ms
     8  amsterdam-6k-1-po100.intf.routers.proxad.net (212.27.56.38)  84.058 ms *   82.434 ms
     9  AMS-2.nl.lambdanet.net (195.69.144.212)  73.917 ms   72.836 ms   72.300 ms
    10  DUS-1-pos011.de.lambdanet.net (82.197.128.29)  61.916 ms   77.427 ms   76.947 ms
    11  FRA-3-eth200.de.lambdanet.net (217.71.96.114)  63.790 ms   63.600 ms   63.428 ms
    12  NUE-2-eth210.de.lambdanet.net (217.71.96.162)  66.515 ms   66.011 ms   65.633 ms
    13  * * *
    14  GW-SUSE-NEFkom.241.nefkom.de (212.114.146.241)  66.100 ms   67.238 ms   66.721 ms
    15  * * *
    16  * * *
    17  * * *
    18  * * *
    19  * * *
    20  * * *
    21  * * *
    22  * * *
    23  * * *
    24  * * *
    25  * * *
    26  * * *
    27  * * *
    28  * * *
    29  * * *
    30  * * *
    Code:
    naboo:~ # zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ packman
    Adding repository 'packman' [done]
    Repository 'packman' successfully added
    Enabled: Yes
    Autorefresh: Yes
    GPG check: Yes
    URI: http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/
    
    naboo:~ # zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ oss
    Adding repository 'oss' [done]
    Repository 'oss' successfully added
    Enabled: Yes
    Autorefresh: Yes
    GPG check: Yes
    URI: http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/
    
    naboo:~ # zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ non-oss
    Adding repository 'non-oss' [done]
    Repository 'non-oss' successfully added
    Enabled: Yes
    Autorefresh: Yes
    GPG check: Yes
    URI: http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/
    
    naboo:~ # zypper ar -f http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/ update
    Adding repository 'update' [done]
    Repository 'update' successfully added
    Enabled: Yes
    Autorefresh: Yes
    GPG check: Yes
    URI: http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/
    (Were you aware you gave the same URL 4 times ?...)
    Code:
    naboo:~ # zypper ref                                                                                                                   
    Retrieving repository 'non-oss' metadata [\]
    Timeout exceeded when accessing 'http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/repodata/repomd.xml'.                                      
                                                                                                                                           
    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i] (r): 
    Trying again...
    Timeout exceeded when accessing 'http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/repodata/repomd.xml'.                                      
                                                                                                                                           
    Abort, retry, ignore? [a/r/i] (r): 
    Trying again...
                                                                                                                                           
    ^C^C                                                                                                                                   
    OK OK! Exiting immediately...
    Code:
    naboo:~ # zypper lr -d
    # | Alias             | Name              | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type   | URI                                                     | Service
    --+-------------------+-------------------+---------+---------+----------+--------+---------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1 | google-talkplugin | google-talkplugin | No      | No      |   99     | rpm-md | http://dl.google.com/linux/talkplugin/rpm/stable/x86_64 |        
    2 | non-oss           | non-oss           | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | NONE   | http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/             |        
    3 | oss               | oss               | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | NONE   | http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/             |        
    4 | packman           | packman           | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | NONE   | http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/             |        
    5 | update            | update            | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | NONE   | http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_12.1/             |
    The official repos did not work using YaST Software manager. How to test if YaST can access internet ?
    OpenSUSE 11.4 & 12.1(not used a lot) x86_64, Intel Core i3, Acer 8942G, ATI Radeon HD5850 (1GB)
    KDE 4.7.4, kernel 3.1.6 & 3.1.0 desktop

    "Our life is the immortals' death"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    On 2011-12-26 16:36, hcvv wrote:
    > When you add a bunch at the same time and then get the error, you will
    > never now which one is the culprit. Thus add them one by one until you
    > got stuck.


    It would show in the log.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4 x86_64 "Celadon" at Telcontar)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,378

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    1) It is not YaST that "can access the Internet. When you system can, YaST will use that. And when you can e.g. work with thtse forums from that system, your system can access the Internet.

    2) your zypper lr -d shows a lot of rubbish. The OSS, non-OSS and Update repos should NOT have a Packman URL. And of course having four (4) URLs the same is not helping. Look at mine:
    Code:
    henk@boven:~> zypper lr -d
    #  | Alias                            | Naam                             | Ingeschakeld | Vernieuwen | Prioriteit | Type   | URI                                                                       | Service                             
    ---+----------------------------------+----------------------------------+--------------+------------+------------+--------+---------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------                             
     2 | Updates-for-openSUSE-11.4-11.4-0 | Updates for openSUSE 11.4 11.4-0 | Ja           | Ja         |   99       | rpm-md | http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.4/                                 |                                     
     6 | packman.inode.at-suse            | Packman Repository               | Ja           | Ja         |   99       | rpm-md | http://packman.inode.at/suse/openSUSE_11.4/                               |                                     
     7 | repo-debug                       | openSUSE-11.4-Debug              | Nee          | Ja         |   99       | NONE   | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/distribution/11.4/repo/oss/            |                                     
     8 | repo-debug-update                | openSUSE-11.4-Update-Debug       | Nee          | Ja         |   99       | NONE   | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/update/11.4/                           |                                     
     9 | repo-non-oss                     | openSUSE-11.4-Non-Oss            | Ja           | Ja         |   99       | yast2  | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.4/repo/non-oss/              |                                     
    10 | repo-oss                         | openSUSE-11.4-Oss                | Ja           | Ja         |   99       | yast2  | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.4/repo/oss/                  |                                     
    11 | repo-source                      | openSUSE-11.4-Source             | Nee          | Ja         |   99       | NONE   | http://download.opensuse.org/source/distribution/11.4/repo/oss/           |                                     
    henk@boven:~>
    I removed extra repos I have from this list so you can see the standard ones. Hence the numbering does not run 1,2,3, ...

    But important is that you see what the URIs at the end look like. That is completely different from what you have. I do not know what you did to bork thhis completely.

    In any case a completely destroyed list of repos does not point to an Intenet access problem at all.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: Yast often fails to connect to the internet

    DenverD's fault. I'll start over again
    OpenSUSE 11.4 & 12.1(not used a lot) x86_64, Intel Core i3, Acer 8942G, ATI Radeon HD5850 (1GB)
    KDE 4.7.4, kernel 3.1.6 & 3.1.0 desktop

    "Our life is the immortals' death"

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •