Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

  1. #1

    Unhappy Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

    Hello there,

    I'm trying to clone a git repo. over HTTPS and the clone silently fails.
    When tail/grep-ing /var/log/messages, it shows the following message :
    Code:
    kernel: [  920.475364] git-remote-http[4244]: segfault at 7fd3076978c0 ip 00007fd30767ee94 sp 00007fff73985ce0 error 7 in libcrypto.so.1.0.0[7fd3075be000+189000]
    A friend of mine suggested to disable SSL verification (with GIT_SSL_NO_VERIFY = true) but with no success.

    I tried to clone repositories from other sources : GitHub, Gitorious or private servers, same error.

    Here are my package versions, all from OpenSUSE 12.1 main repo. :
    Git : 1.7.7-3.1.4
    libopenssl : 1.0.0e-34.1.2

    on OpenSUSE 12.1 x86_64

    Any idea about the way to solve this ?

    Thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

    Quote Originally Posted by willmore View Post
    Hello there,

    I'm trying to clone a git repo. over HTTPS and the clone silently fails.
    When tail/grep-ing /var/log/messages, it shows the following message :
    Code:
    kernel: [  920.475364] git-remote-http[4244]: segfault at 7fd3076978c0 ip 00007fd30767ee94 sp 00007fff73985ce0 error 7 in libcrypto.so.1.0.0[7fd3075be000+189000]
    A friend of mine suggested to disable SSL verification (with GIT_SSL_NO_VERIFY = true) but with no success.

    I tried to clone repositories from other sources : GitHub, Gitorious or private servers, same error.

    Here are my package versions, all from OpenSUSE 12.1 main repo. :
    Git : 1.7.7-3.1.4
    libopenssl : 1.0.0e-34.1.2

    on OpenSUSE 12.1 x86_64

    Any idea about the way to solve this ?

    Thanks for your help
    So that I might understand why you need to use https, as I understand the problem you have, why are you trying to do this for? I found one reference that might be helpful here: Pro Git - Smart HTTP Transport

    I also have used git in order to download and create kernel tarball files from the kernel.org site. Here is the bash script that I wrote:

    S.G.T.B. - SuSE Git Kernel Tarball Creator - Version 1.78 - Blogs - openSUSE Forums

    The files that it creates are for use with this script:

    S.A.K.C. - SUSE Automated Kernel Compiler - Version 2.50 - Blogs - openSUSE Forums

    Anyway, any more info on the problem you are having could be helpful.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3

    Default Re: Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

    Hello,
    thanks for your answer .

    The reason I'm trying to use HTTPS to clone a git repo is that I'm testing the new Zend PHP cloud : Develop, Deploy and Manage PHP Applications in the Cloud
    They provide you with a Git Repository access that can be used for deploying / tracking your application's source code, but this repo is only reachable through HTTPS (it seems that git:// access are not planned for now).

    When I first tried to clone I thought « Ok I must have those SSL verification error or http buffer-size error reported in the FAQ » but then, looking at the FAQ and getSatisfaction threads for PHPCloud and testing different configurations, I saw that my problem wasn't related to PHPcloud at all (that was confirmed as soon as I tried to clone a repo from another provider, for example GitHub or Gitorious).


    I'm still digging to find a way to pinpoint what causes the segfault.
    For now I'm using SFTP to deploy my code to the application container and a local git repo for revisions.

    If you have any « diagnostic procedure » that I could use / follow to find where the problem is, I'll take it.

    thanks for your help.

    Regards.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Köln
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

    I am having the same problem. My client has only a git repository accessible via https (with authentication) so I can't simply use a different protocol.

    When I try to git clone https://git.example.com/git/repo , I get the message:

    Cloning into repo...

    but nothing is created and I get the following in /var/log/messages:

    Code:
    kernel: [47684.132077] git-remote-http[24021]: segfault at 7f4e912d29d0 ip 00007f4e912b9ee4 sp 00007fff8ac4f350 error 7 in libcrypto.so.1.0.0[7f4e911f9000+18a000]
    I tried with 'reliable' repositories (e.g. https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux...alds/linux.git) with the same result.

    openssl-1.0.0k-34.20.1.x86_64
    git-core-1.7.7-3.4.1.x86_64
    openSUSE 12.1

    I would be happy to provide more info if I knew where to get them.

    Thanks

    P.S. I know this thread is over a year old, but after I got the latest git update a few days back my hopes got up...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    25,547

    Default Re: Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

    On 2013-03-05 00:26, savedario wrote:

    > but nothing is created and I get the following in /var/log/messages:
    >
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > kernel: [47684.132077] git-remote-http[24021]: segfault at 7f4e912d29d0 ip 00007f4e912b9ee4 sp 00007fff8ac4f350 error 7 in libcrypto.so.1.0.0[7f4e911f9000+18a000]
    > --------------------


    Ha, it crashed, segfaulted. You can report in bugzilla, but don't up
    your hopes, 12.1 is near its end of life.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.4, with Evergreen, x86_64 "Celadon" (Minas Tirith))

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    10,805
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

    Wilmore
    You need to post the command you used so we can verify you executed the proper command

    Savedario
    When you post the command you executed, you should place in [CODE] tags.
    The public repo link you posted failed for me, your repo URI is likely incorrect.
    Also, reviving ancient threads is usually not a good idea. You may believe your error is related but that's not usually the case and in any case may mean someone like myself may attempt to answer both of your situations.

    Both of you, need to know
    - If you are cloning from a private or established Public repo.
    - If you have tried a public repo, the exact repo.
    - If this is the first time or have you cloned successfully before.

    Also, be aware that git clone requires a fairly reliable network connection. If your clone attempt starts but is interrupted, special steps are required to attempt resuming, but the result can be problematic. IMO the OS version and how current is very unlikely irrelevant to running git.

    TSU

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Köln
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Unable to git-clone over HTTPS : error/segfault

    Thanks for answering.

    I will pay more attention to the tagging of commands.

    During my research I bumped into:

    https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jd...rsion-1-86-53/

    I used the first URL listed there just to try and I stopped the cloning after 15 mins because I did not really need millions of objects
    I have been able to clone several times with commands like:
    Code:
    git clone --branch master http://git.drupal.org/project/finder.git
    Also, cloning with the git:// protocol causes no problems.

    See the test above about reliability of the connection... and... I did list the relevant packages currently installed on my machine.

    @robin_listas
    Then I will wait 3 days, get the latest/greatest release, install and test again...

    Quote Originally Posted by tsu2 View Post
    Savedario
    When you post the command you executed, you should place in [CODE] tags.
    The public repo link you posted failed for me, your repo URI is likely incorrect.
    Also, reviving ancient threads is usually not a good idea. You may believe your error is related but that's not usually the case and in any case may mean someone like myself may attempt to answer both of your situations.

    Both of you, need to know
    - If you are cloning from a private or established Public repo.
    - If you have tried a public repo, the exact repo.
    - If this is the first time or have you cloned successfully before.

    Also, be aware that git clone requires a fairly reliable network connection. If your clone attempt starts but is interrupted, special steps are required to attempt resuming, but the result can be problematic. IMO the OS version and how current is very unlikely irrelevant to running git.

    TSU

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •